We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good hotel, got a free upgrade!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bildungszentrum 21

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bildungszentrum 21
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good hotel, got a free upgrade!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

The restaurant is a bit out of town, but it has good connections with the rest of the town. It is a bit hidden, but the location is quiet and nice. When we arrived we got offered a free upgrade, since they were completely full. The room was huge and comfortable. In the morning it was a bit difficult to find the breakfast, because it is in another building. Food was good though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamukwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    107
    19
    14
    4
See reviews for
32
46
18
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berne
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The hotel is in its own grounds and a few hundred metres beyond the Spalentor (bus 30 or 33, tram 3). It is an interesting building, with the lower floors used as a training and conference centre for the Evangelical Mission, and the upper floors used as a hotel, and managed by City Partner Hotels. As such, it is very professional and very pleasant. The rooms are spacious - perhaps too spacious, for the walls could be interpreted as ultra-modern or ultra-spartan. The beds are comfortable, though a bit on the low side, and it would have been good to have had the option of a second pillow. Each floor has a communal lounge with tea-making facilties and a computer and printer (WLAN is free too, and works well). Breakfast is in the Garden Restaurant - in an annexe, but an experience to be enjoyed - for this it would rank 5 stars. The staff are helpful and friendly, and the whole gives an impression of the modern grafted on to the traditional - generally successfully.

Room Tip: The 5th (attic) floor is reached up a flight of stairs - other floors are easier to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HectorFromBerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here on a work trip, a little further from the SBB than I'd wanted, but actually only 10 mins on bus number 30. Very quiet place, think it's part of a church conference centre, but everyone always moans that you can always hear the trams in the hotels in Basel, and this place was much quieter.

Breakfast was nice, but not overly fancy, and my room had a full kitchen area, akthough I didn't use it. My room looked out onto some gardens.

Would recommend this place, especially if you need some peace and quiet. Oh, and free wifi too. Happy days!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Demers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

There is a big old bilding, which gives the opportunity to enjoy the atmosphere of the old town and peace if you dont mind ringing of church bells. The room was small but fairly enough for a one person. I have to stay in Basel sometimes and this hotel is now my favorite.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed there for two nights and it was very nice. The location is just outside of the old part of the town (5 minutes walk) and the place is easily accessible by car or public transportation. The room we had was large and had little but tasteful decoration. Very calm place and thus excellent to get some sleep. Breakfast is served (well, self service buffet) in an annex building and is quite rich (several kind of breads, juices, fruits,...). Only downside was that it is not clear who is bussing the tables (the waiters or the guests) which makes that the used dishes are laying around longer than necessary. But this is just a minor nuisance. Watch out: the chocolate bars are not for free but charged to the room!

Nice points: The hotel gives to each guest a card that allows for free use of the public transportation in Basel. Also wifi access in the rooms is free of charge (and works). Staff is helpful and friendly. Cars can be parked on site for CHF 12 a day.
Negative point: Amenities in the bathroom were very basic and not refilled.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roswell_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Hotel Rochat
Hotel Rochat
#19 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#10 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#13 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bildungszentrum 21? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bildungszentrum 21

Property: Hotel Bildungszentrum 21
Address: Missionsstrasse 21, Basel 4055, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,788 - ₹ 30,916
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bildungszentrum 21 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1890s could be a strict era for children, and this is when a certain missionary family child, the future writer and Nobel laureate, Hermann Hesse, roamed our park. We imagine it was prohibited for young children to snack on the grapes and berries in the park at the time. But it seems equally likely that young Hermann ignored the restrictions. He already had a well-earned reputation as a rebel. So, if during autumn in our park a red-cheeked apple smiles at you, give in to its innocent seduction, just as Hermann would! And during the rest of the year we will lead you into further modest temptations because we are enthusiastic about our park and want to share this with all our guests. During the warm seasons we invite the ice cream man into our park, and when it is cold the roast chestnut vendor, so you can indulge in these little treats too. And if, as has happened with many other guests, attending one of our events gives you food or refreshment ideas for your next reception or barbecue, please come see us. In our park, a thousand and one such dreams can come true. PS: Throughout our park, no chemical insecticides or herbicides are used. Instead, all the fruit is grown using only certified organic cultivation methods and substances. And if you rest for a while on one of our cosy park benches, you will share your time with many birds and butterflies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bildungszentrum 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing