We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to downtown, peace and comfort”
Review of Hotel Balade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Balade
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2012

If you want to visit the nice city of Basel, I suggest to stay in Balade Hotel. I stayed with my wife and daughter: very clean, large and confortable rooms, ten minutes walking to the city center or in 3-4 minutes by city train (free ticket for all the period connected with payment of hotel room), very peaceful for a good sleep without noise although is located near the red- light district of the town (absolutely no problem). Price is very honest and services too, with nice people at reception desk. Why spend too much CHF in the center hotels?

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stefano n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomegroup, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Mr. Stefano, thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Balade and for the beautiful headline. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the room. Our employees will very much appreciate your comments. It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon again. With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed a couple of nights. A last minute booking. Staff on reception very friendly. Rooms very clean and well presented. Paid 80 Euro per night and got a FREE 2 day travel pass - wish I new this when I made the booking as had just paid for a travel pass!! For some reason our room did not have curtains - just a net curtain - so be careful when you get out of the shower.

Hotel does seem to be in the centre of the prostitute 'district' of Basel - but the area is very nice so don't be put off - don't bother them and I am sure they will not bother you. Do be aware that hotel does not have a 24 reception. You are made aware of this when you make the booking. Would I stay again - yes - it is excellent value for Basel.

Room Tip: Ask about the travel pass when you make the booking - all the rooms are much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomegroup, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Thank you very much for writing down your impressions.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We will adapt the free travel pass information on all channels as soon as possible, to make sure that there will be no more misunderstandings, we apologize for that.
Referring to the curtain nuisance, unfortunately the curtains have been purified at this moment, normally there naturally are curtains.
We appreciate you as our guest and are looking forward welcoming you again in hotel Balade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed for about 10 mins at this hotel in Basel.

The room i got, didn't have curtains, on the basis that the room could be seen by other buildings, chose not to stay.

reception did try, but had no other rooms so checked out.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank alanatabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomegroup, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for writing down your impressions regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, we would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.
Additionally we have to rectify for our prospective guests that we offered you another room in our partner hotel and you enjoyed even an upgrade naturally without any surcharge.
Unfortunately the curtains have been purified at this moment.
Hopefully you have been satisfied with this solution and we are looking forward welcoming you again in one of our hotels in Basel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

stayed for 1 night - clean, friendly place. Location is okay- its not near the station but can be reached via tram. Receptionist was very nice and helpful. The restaurant is very popular so it did get noisy at night. But other than that it was nice.

Room Tip: not above the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for your comment on T/A!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Global-Magellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beat G, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#11 of 52 in Basel
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel Merian am Rhein
Hotel Merian am Rhein
#40 of 52 in Basel
329 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#30 of 52 in Basel
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balade? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balade

Address: Klingental 8, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: ₹ 6,415 - ₹ 11,839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balade 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 3 minute walk from the center of Basel, this hotel offers rooms with private bathroom, safe, cable TV, free Wi-Fi internet , free mineral water and free Baby crib. The conference Centre is a 10-minute walk from Hotel Balade.Basel's Train Station and the EuroAirport are easily accessible via public transportation. The reservation confirmation is valid for the use of public transport (2nd class) from EuroAirport or from the Basel rail stations (zones 10 and 13/EuroAirport) to the hotel on the day of arrival (2.)(V)(Spez). The riverbank of the Rhine and the tram station Rheingasse are a 2-minute walk away. Numerous stores, restaurants as well as many nightclubs and lively bars are located in the Kleinbasel historic quarter. Balade Hotel's bar is an inviting place to relax and sip your favorite drink in the evening. Opening hours Reception Monday to Friday: 06:00 am to 10:00 pm Saturday: 07:00 am to 10:00 pm Sunday: 07:00 am to 04:00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Balade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing