We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think threadbare red carpet, Tandoori restaurant fumes and a strip club in the basement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Spalenbrunnen
Ranked #15 of 27 Basel B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 March 2010

I was forced to stay in this hotel because of the Basel watch and jewelry fare and was charged the princely sum of 350CHF for a room in what could easily be a rent-by-the hour establishment. It is such a shame because it is in a nice location with an attractive facade. The public areas of the interior were grimey and seriously outdated as were the rooms that included the ubiquitous threadbare red carpet. The in-house tandoori restaurant fumes invade your closets and suitcase contents. I only saw the "Memory" cabaret in the basement in the morning (semi naked pictures of dancers escaped my attention the night before).The manager, was literally puffing cigarette smoke in my face as I entered the buidling. The rooms are not well soundproofed an a lot of noise can be heard coming out of each room Positives were nice feather pillows and reasonable quality bed linen and the trendy shops/No. 3 tram right outside. But seriously - if this is the only hotel left in Basel, take the train to another town!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VIANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2008

I stayed a night at Spalenbrunnen because it was on the inexpensive side of hotels in Basel. That was still more expensive than my luxury room in Venice, but that's Switz. for you!

Admittedly when I first came into the hotel, I was a little nervous. There is no "traditional" front desk (like in many cheap hotels, it's an office.) The worn hallway carpets and early 1970's room furniture had me crossing my fingers.

But the room was exceptionally clean, and comfortable if not cheery.

The bathtub was a shock - enormous (double length) and also spic and span.

I slept well, with the cathedral bells providing an hourly "snooze alarm" in the morning.

Make no mistake - it's a budget hotel, so don't expect the Hyatt. But as budget hotels go, it was very good. I'd go back if I were ever in Basel again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justgottaseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

This is the kind of hotel I should love. Personally run, middle of town, sensibly priced. So what went wrong?

The hotel is in a quiet part of the old town, but it is where the trams go past within inches of the bedrooms, and where the street sweeping trucks congregate throughout the night rather than returning to their depots. Whilst this is not the fault of the hotel, the drunken night porter (I arrived late) and other matters are.

The rooms are adequately, but cheaply furnished. Nothing matched and all looked like it was the result of an afternoon scavenging second hand furniture stores. Towels were frayed and not all clean (but more than ample quantity). The room was stiflingly hot, whilst the few working lightbulbs made the room dim. The TV remote lacked batteries. I never did work out and don't need to know, why and how dirty fingermarks were in the middle of the ceiling. The duvet is several sizes smaller than the bed.

The minibar (which I never use) did not have everything listed on the pricesheet - in particular, it lacked alcohol.

Other staff were fine. There is an Indian restaurant as part of the hotel and they remained open for me when I arrived hungry - although the meal itself was eminently forgettable. Nothing wrong, just bland and incipid: not what one expects from an Indian restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mozart21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2007

The location is very good, just a few steps und you are at the old part of the town with little streets and interesting shops. If your feet are to tired you can use the Tramway, the station is located nearby.
There is a nightclub in the Hotel - but don´t worry, the only thing you notice is the advertising outside (and you can see much more nakedness on every news-stand). No problem with noise, vistors etc. etc.
The room was really spacius, clean and everything ok. The buffet-breakfast had enough variety.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmaschulze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Allez ailleurs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#5 of 52 in Basel
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#10 of 52 in Basel
639 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Hotel Euler
#15 of 52 in Basel
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spalenbrunnen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spalenbrunnen

Address: Schuetzenmattstrasse 2, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Vorstädte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Basel
Price Range: ₹ 6,217 - ₹ 17,328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spalenbrunnen 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Spalenbrunnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spalenbrunnen Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing