We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel in a very convenient location”
Review of Hotel du Commerce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Commerce
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small hotel in a very convenient location”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

First thing I noticed about this hotel was their staff is very fast and helpful.A friend of mine decided to come with me to Basel and because of the conference that we were attending all the rooms were fully booked. I was desperate and send them an email. Unexpectedly they answered within an hour and they agreed to put an extra bed in my tiny room. They charged a very reasonable price for the extra bed and breakfast for the extra person. Although room was very small, every inch was designed to use efficiently. When we arrived in our room a small box of chocolate was waiting for us on our pillows. Room was clean and bathroom was spacious compared to the rooms size. The hotel offered free internet and breakfast was included. Although breakfast buffet was limited, everything they offered was good quality and delicious.
It is very close to the conference center and also few minutes walk from the tram stop. It takes around 10-15 min to go to main train station. There are shops and restaurants closeby to the hotel and there is a mini market just around the corner.
I think they offered a very good service to us and definetely recommend it to others who are not willing to spend a fortune for a hotel room in Basel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fulya_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    50
    42
    6
    5
See reviews for
8
15
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I was there only for one night and I was very surprised by the low fare. My single room was very modern, the bed was a quality one, and the breakfast was much more than excellent. Most rooms are facing on the street and the tramway can be a bit noisy for some. Only one negative point: there was only one very small bathtowel and no towel at all on the bathroom floor. I will recommand this hotel. From the airport, take the bus no 50 to Central railway station and then the tramway no 2 till Messeplatz (max. 30 min alltogether). The hotel is less than 2 minutes from here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubendorf, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The hotel is nearby to the conference center (Messe Basel) and is primarily targeted at attendees thereof. But it is conveniently located if you're a tourist visiting basel.

As a hotel guest, you get a free Mobility-Card to ride buses and trams throughout the city. Most places of interest are easily reachable by tram from the hotel.

The room itself was basic but clean, but you can hear some noise from the outside. Breakfast was ok.

Staff was friendly, but check-out took a while because there were numerous people checking out at the same time.

Would stay in this hotel again without question.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The room: small, with a single bed, but clean and complete, good bathroom, hot water, safe, couch, desk. And affordable.
At the reception several languages were spoken. The elevator is extremely slow, but staying on the second floor I didn't really need it. Breakfast buffet didn't have the default scrambled eggs and bacon, it was more local oriented. The soft boiled eggs were just right. If you're staying in the front of the hotel, there is a tram track right in front of you. Didn't bother me though, I guess they stop riding somewhere during the evening.
I enjoyed my stay, even though I spent minimal time at the hotel room. The location is good: with the free public transit pass you're in the city center in no time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpeakFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I stayed for a couple of nights in August 2011 at the hotel. For 65 swiss francs, I had one of the business singles room, including breakfast and free internet.

The hotel is close to the German railway station, and 6 or 7 minutes by tram from the main Swiss station, or a 15 minute walk.

I'm sure most of the guests are those attending events at the nearby conference centre, but it is fine for other visitors to the city too. The River is a short walk away. Given that all hotel guests in Basel get a "Mobility Card" for use on the buses and trams, everything is accessible. Particularly so, when there are five or six tram lines within a couple of minutes of the hotel's front desk.

A very enjoyable stay and one I'd repeat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
0.3 km away
Rheinfelderhof Hotel Restaurant
0.7 km away
Hotel Restaurant Resslirytti
0.4 km away
Aparthotel Adagio Basel City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Dorint An der Messe Basel
0.2 km away
Pullman Basel Europe Hotel
0.7 km away
Hotel Wettstein
Hotel Wettstein
#29 of 51 in Basel
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Commerce

Property: Hotel du Commerce
Address: Riehenring 91, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,448 - ₹ 18,819
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Commerce 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing