We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveller rating
421
371
93
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
371
93
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centerbusiness hotelconcierge staffpillow menuthe congressnice hotelroom servicetram stopold townhotel is locatedperfect staybreakfast buffetacross the riverriver cruiseeasy accessbusiness trippublic transportation
Filter
Updating list...
511 - 516 of 938 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2010

This is a nice hotel, we stayed for one night and LOVED the beds, so incredibly comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and a good standard. The location is not the most romantic part of town, very close to the Trade Fair, but the trams are directly opposite to take you all over Basel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPassionate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Working in Basel for 4 months I spent 3 days almost every week in the Swissotel, our set company hotel. Over that time, the Swissotel provided a consistently solid service, with very helpful staff, clean though slightly dated rooms, decent fitness suite, nice downstairs restaurant and a very convenient location.

I would recommend it to other business travellers. For leisure, though, there are other hotels with a lot more soul - I'd recommend the gloriously grand and old-fashioned Trois Rois for those with deep pockets, and the quirky and cool (but noisy) Krafft for everyone else!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliie_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

When I stayed there, I was really annoyed by the other clients of the hotel receiving prostitutes in their rooms.
I personally prefer to stay at better hotels, even at a higher price.

Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
2  Thank Peluzica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

This isn't a luxurious 5-star hotel, but if you get a good rate you won't go far wrong. It does have a corporate feel and the rooms are a little tired, but the location is reasonably central, the staff are friendly and attentive and it has all the facilities you expect and need.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padd1ngton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Just came back from a week-end in Le Plaza and I have to say that it's definetively not a 5* hotel.
Rooms are spacious but very simple, uninspiring and not luxurious at all.The furniture does not fit together, there are yellow and green chairs, no paintings on the wall and a very old TV. You feel like being in a 3* Mercure Hotel, but not like 5* Swissotel.
The beds are much too soft and you will have back pain after sleeping in it.
Service of concierge was excellent and location is a good starting point to explore Basel.
Parking is with 37 CHF per night very expensive.
The breakfast is much worse than in other Swissotels, not as much choice and unmotivated staff.
Being in some Swissotels I can truly say that this is the worst of all and I can not recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick_Bateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews