We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (946)
Filter reviews
946 results
Traveller rating
425
375
93
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
375
93
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convention center business hotel concierge staff pillow menu the congress nice hotel room service tram stop old town hotel is located perfect stay breakfast buffet across the river river cruise easy access business trip public transportation
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 946 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Great place to stay - close to the Badischer Bahnhhof (railroad station) and center of town - close by the Rhine river. Super friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Small, but nice Spa and fitness area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with swissotel.com
Thank steinermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear steinermatt

Thank you very much for your feedback and your recommendation!

We very much appreciate your friendly comments and we are glad that you were satisfied from our hotel facilities, our central location and our dedicated staff as well.
It´s also wonderful that we could offer you a healthy and powerful start into the new day with our vitality breakfast buffet and a sporty timeout at our Pürovel. Thank you very much for this praise and motivation!

Further we hope that you spent a pleasant time in Basel an that you used the opportunity to have a little walk along the Rhine river.

Thank you once again for your kind review and we would be glad to welcome you back again soon.

Until then, we wish you the best of success and an enjoyable time.

With best regards from Basel
Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Very nice and spacious room. Outstanding free breakfast. However a/c in room totally inadequate. Two comments to front desk resulted in assurances for improvement but nothing changed. Opened window at night to get cooler air but very loud boisterous bar patrons across street along with major late night construction sounds (jackhammers!) went on for hours. Location very good.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with swissotel.com
Thank seymourchatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear seymourchatter

At first we want to thank you for your visit and for your important feedback.

We are delighted to read that you appreciated the size of your room and our extensive breakfast buffet. Fabulous, that you could start the new day well nourished.

On the other hand we are very sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay. Please accept our deepest apologies for these issues. We can fully understand that this was not a pleasant experience and we regret what happend. Please rest assured, that this is not our standard and we prevet future occurrence.

Nonetheless, we hope that you spent a pleasant time in Basel and that you collected positive memories from the impressive city.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we would appreciate if you give us a second chance to convince you completely of us.

In the meantime we wish you all the best and are always open for suggestions from your side.

With best regards from Basel
Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Great week as always. Great work by the venue catering team. Meeting rooms were good this time - had issues with heating/cooling in the past. Not so this time. Polite friendly staff; great location. Thanks!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with swissotel.com
Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Murray R

Thank you very much for visiting us again and for sharing your positive feedback with us.

We are glad that you spent a great week in Basel and that you had an excellent meeting room and catering experience. Our entire team also appreciates your words regarding our friendly and polite service. Sincere thanks for this compliment!

As a whole, we hope that your meeting was successful and that you had the opportunity to have a rest in the cozy old town.

Thank you once again for your motivating feedback and we are looking forward to see you soon again in Basel.

In the meantime we wish you most of success and all the best!

With best regards
Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We stayed one night after a Viking Cruise and used points. The staff greeted us warmly and were helpful and courteous. Room service was quick and deliciously prepared. They accommodated my special requests without hesitation. There is a spa and fitness center, but unfortunately we had to cancel our massage due to my head cold. The room was large and 4star level. The hotel is across from an expo center at Messeplatz and therefore a popular area for public transport. Basel as a tourist site can be seen in 1-2 days, but it is a business center foremost. I would recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with swissotel.com
Thank joannewright53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear joannewright53

Thank you very much for your visit and for your recommendation.

We are glad that you had an excellent stay with us. Especially that you appreciated the responsiveness of our colleagues and our room service offers is delightful to read.
Of course, we will share your compliments with our entire team. This is a huge reward and a motivation at the same time. Thank you very much!

Further we hope that you had a fantastic river cruise and an enjoyable time in Basel. Hopefully you visited the famous sights in the historical old town. There is a lot to see and to explore and we are sure that you made many new experiences.

Once again, we would like to thank you for the trust you have placed in us and we are already looking forward to your next visit!
Until then we wish you all the best and a pleasant time.

With best regards from Basel
Brigitte Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on business and found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable. Europecar also has an office in the building which made it convenient for renting a vehicle.
Staff were also very professional and helpful

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Like_2_TravelCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Le_Plaza, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Le Plaza Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Like_2_TravelCalgary

Thank you very much for your visit and your marvellous feedback.
We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was comfortable and that you appreciated our hotel facilities. Especially your kind comments regarding our helpful and professional team are a huge motivation for all our colleagues. We set a high value on your satisfaction and of course, we will share your words with our entire team.

Further we are delighted to read that the Europcar car rental was convenient for your business stay. We hope that you can look back over a successful time here in Basel.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Until then, we wish you all the best and a pleasant time!

With best regards from Basel
Brigitte Fritz
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews