We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
116
224
75
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
224
75
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business hotel musical theatre exhibition centre public transport business trip main city train station priced hotel minute walk number tram twin beds nice hotel free city free tickets stayed here for nights rooms are clean old town
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

The Dorint An der Messe Basel is a very good hotel. The rooms are excellent, the restaurant and bar are very pleasant, and the food is really good. The staff are first class: pleasant, polite, knowledgeable and helpful. It's good value for money, which is quite something, given how expensive Switzerland is. Unfortunately, the district in which the hotel is located is horrid. It's not inconvenient, ten minutes on one of Basel's excellent trams gets you to the centre of this lovely city. But step outside the hotel for a breath of fresh air or for a stroll after dinner and you see what an unpleasant district this is. I couldn't recommend the hotel, for this reason alone.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gillian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia K, Leiter Front Office at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Gillian O
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and for your wonderful rating - which is a pleasure to read. Thank you also for your outstanding compliment to our staff; we will gladly forward your kind words to each of our team members.
Our location near the city centre is convenient in terms of reaching the old town - however, the direct neighbourhood is marked by apartmenthouses and belongs to the smaller part of Basel - this part of the city shows a big cultural diversity.
We hope that we may soon welcome you again.
Best regards from Basel
Your Hotel Dorint an der Messe Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Found this online on bookings.com. Upgraded to a “comfort” level room to get AC. Rooms are small compared to USA standards, but well appointed and quiet (for a good night’s sleep) From desk staff said “restaurants within easy walk” did not find anything but bars.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ChefMarkChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia K, Leiter Front Office at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear ChefMarkChristopher
Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Basel and for having taken the time to rate us.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time at our hotel.
Best regards from Basel
Your Hotel Dorint an der Messe Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

A nice hotel with air con at your choice. (Comfort room, not standard room) generally clean, yet, I saw 3 cockroaches the second night, I just hope none of them climbed to my suitcase.
Beware of the season that u stay in this hotel, I went in Aug, the week with no market or exhibition ard. So far away from city centre then but the room will be relatively cheaper.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank chocolatec2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia K, Leiter Front Office at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Chocolatec2017
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for having time to rate us also here on TripAdvisor.
We would like to point out, that we frequently check all our rooms in terms of vermits. During these checks no problems with vermits were discovered. However, in these hot days it sometimes can happen that small insects (which look smiliar to cockroaches but are smaller and harmless) come into the rooms through openened windows in the evening hours.
We hope that you overall enjoyed your time.
Best regards from Basel
Your Hotel Dorint an der Messe Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We had a standard apartment for two nights and absolutely loved it. The airco was amazing on a 32 degree day. The room was spacious, with a fold-out sofa bed and a large main bed. The bed and linen were comfortable and clean.

Bathroom was also spacious and modern. The kitchenette was tiny but perfect for preparing breakfast and a picnic, though the pans provided were too small for dinner for two. No bother, Basel has the most affordable restaurants I’ve seen in Switzerland. Not cheap by any means, but you don’t feel quite so terrible about spending money here.

The location is about a fifteen-minute walk from the Rhine, along the Messe and through the vibrant Caraplatz. Or you can take a tram to Marktplatz in about seven minutes. The best part is that the Basel city card provided by the hotel offers free transit.

There was one negative: the WiFi was patchy and slow. It didn’t work by the bed at all. As I’m on holiday, I can live with that but it would be tough if you’re here on business.

All in all, definitely recommended.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia K, Leiter Front Office at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Eric
Thank you for your wonderful rating and your nice comments on our hotel. We are pleased that you liked the apartment and that you benefitted from all equipment in this room. We are glad that you also liked our location near the city centre and well reachable both by public transportation and by walk.
Your feedback regarding the WIFI helps us to improve our services - however, we are already planning improvements on the quality of our WIFI network.
We hope that we may again count you among our guests.
Best regards from Basel
Your Hotel Dorint an der Messe Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Booked into the Hotel for the Basel Tattoo. A standard room was supplied which did not have aircon. Basel gets very hot and an aircon would really have helped. Reception did offer to supply a fan. Breakfast is great. Gets a bit repetitive when staying for 2 weeks. All in all a pretty good experience.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank MarkCampbellinSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia K, Leiter Front Office at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Mark
Thank you for having the time to rate us here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you overall enjoyed staying with us. Our standard rooms are indeed equipped with an ecological cooling system with a central regulation, whereas our comfort rooms do have air condition, which can be regulated individually.
We hope that we can welcome you again during the next Basel Tattoo in 2019.
Best regards from Basel
Your Hotel Dorint an der Messe Basel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews