We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable Stay - Clean & Good Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorint An der Messe Basel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dorint An der Messe Basel
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Tasmania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay - Clean & Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here for 5 days in a double room and it's a comfortable stay. The room is clean with modern & minimalist decor. The staff are friendly and professional. The hotel is not in the city center but only 5-10 mins away by the tram (no.14). The tram stop is just around the corner (2 mins walk). They gave us tram pass which can be used for the whole stay. The hotel is very closed to Messe Convention Center (around 5 mins walk).

We got the street view room which apparently it's the basic type so there is no a/c (which we don't need in October anyway), minibar, or hot water kettle. Wifi is Sfr 15 per day (from noon to noon). The hotel overcharged us a few times on the Wifi but they promptly removed the overcharge. Their Wifi is not working 100% though. Their server occasionally block some sites temporarily and it'd take 1-2 mins before the sites can be loaded again. Overall it was a good experience at Dorint Hotel Basel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblycanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    170
    62
    14
    6
See reviews for
36
91
18
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt am Main
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I stay a lot in this hotel on my business trips. This is just a good, average hotel. The staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. You will get a free ticket for the tram - this is very nice. Rooms are small but comfortable. Bathroom small, most of them equipped with a shower. Sometimes I find long, black hair in the bathroom... There is no fridge in the romm, this is what I don't like. Wi-fi free in every room. Breakfest is average and it is not cheap... For one - two nights it is ok. Ah! One more thing! Close to this hotel is a very good Musical Theatre of Basel!

Room Tip: not to the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BastiBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Greece
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Nice room, very good breakfast, good location. The total experience is great

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanouil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoevelaken, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Staff was OK. Room was OK. But maybe someone can explain this to me...

1 red wine.....

21 CHF!!! or 21 EURO's say 16 dollars! For a red wine!

I think it's absurd!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at Dorint Hotel for 3 nights with a prepaid voucher from our travel agent 2nd day after being out all day we arrived back at our room 10 30 pm to find our pass card would not work returned to desk to be told our credit card could not be actioned and we were locked out of the room gave our credit card to receptionist who tried to zip zap it young man at desk old her to put in other way as it had a chip worked find paid 18 Franks to have room released to us if we did not have prepaid voucher we would have walked out of the Hotel. The arrogance of this hotel is beyond belief why could they not put a message on the phone we are talking 18 Franks all Hotel have charge back to room settled as you leave. They could not care less about there guests there was nothing wrong with our credit card they made us feel like criminals cannot believe arrogance of this hotel. Spoke to manager next morning found her attitude to be one of dont care felt as though i was a trouble would not stay there again
Happy Europe traveller only bad expierience after 9 Hotels

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatstay-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#9 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint An der Messe Basel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint An der Messe Basel

Property: Dorint An der Messe Basel
Address: Schoenaustrasse 10, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly Novotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Basel
#22 Business Hotel in Basel
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,301 - ₹ 31,304
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorint An der Messe Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dorint An der Messe Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Hotel An Der Messe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing