We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for 1 night stay before cruise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect for 1 night stay before cruise!”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Really happy with our stay at this hotel in early November. Lovely reception staff (especially Eva who helped us with directions to the boat dock). A bonus was the free public transport in Basel if staying at hotels. It's very central, within walking distance from the train station and also the centre. Reasonably priced - 2 triple rooms for 460CHF plus tax and we would definitely consider it if we were passing through Basel again. Was also lovely to sit outside at 4pm and have a complementary drink and nibbles - there were rugs for our knees and I imagine in the warmer months it would be a perfect place to relax at the end of the day.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hann9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the service of our staff. It is very important for us, to provide the best service we can to our guests.
Our central location is one of the many reasons, why guests choose to spend their days in Basel at the Steinenschanze Stadthotel.
Kind regards,

Michaela-Maria Nazarek
Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    130
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
68
168
41
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Instead of putting a chocolate on your pillow, it would be better to place some ear plugs there! The hotel is centrally located and if you had plenty to drink before, arrive late andleave early, I guess, it will work. But it is impossible to keep a window open as it faces the busiest street in Basel. There area couple of (dearer) rooms towards the back but they are pretty scarce.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyPierrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Dear Steinenschanze guest!

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

We do use the feedback of our guests to try to improve our service and infrastructure, as far as it is possible. For us, even a negative review is always better than no review at all!

As you mentioned, we also offer rooms facing the quiet garden, normally for a small extra fee. Of course, as far as possible (depending on the occupancy), we offer at the check-in also free upgrades to the garden side.

As many guests, like to sleep with open windows, we are already looking for the viability of implanting an air conditioning system for all rooms, but it still will take some time until that happens.

We hope you could still enjoy your experience at our hotel and would be more than happy to have you again upon our guests on your next visit to Basel.

Kind regards,

Michaela-Maria Nazarek
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The rather drab exterior hides a little gem of a hotel. Once inside the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful; our rooms although very small were very functional. It was the little things that made a difference though such as the garden courtyard where we sat one afternoon with a drink, the free bus tickets handed out, and the bottle of water kindly given to us as we left to continue our journey. It is close enough to the main railway station and a restaurant area but if walking is too much, the bus works well. So the location is just fine.

Room Tip: Back rooms overlooking the courtyard would be optimal but our front rooms were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear Steinenschanze guest!

Thank you very much for your kind review. We as hotel always use any kind of feedback to improve the quality of our service.

We are fully aware, that some of our rooms are smaller than the "standard" in other countries or categories. That is why we match this "disadvantage" with the best service possible and those little things you mentioned (free drinks, free Wireless-LAN Internet, different pillows choice and of course our relaxing garden).

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel on your next trip to Basel.

Kind regards,

Michaela-Maria Nazarek
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Check-in was very good with extremely friendly people. The rooms are nice and modern (recently refurbished?) with flatscreen TV's (which couldn't be watched from the bed in our first room). After staying one night in the noisy front room the staff moved us to a quiet room. This only had a (smaller than) Queen bed. We can't sleep on such a small bed and housekeeping immediately got us an extra bed and helped us where they could. Good job!!
Good:
- Nice rooms (bathrooms are less 'updated' than the rest of the rooms)
- Staff: has done a remarkable job to make us happy (5 stars!)
- Prices are Ok
- Downtown/shops/restaurants: 5 minute walk
- Breakfast is good

Less good:
- Rooms at the front of the hotel are NOISY because of a major road. There's no air conditioning so you have to open your window which is impossible.

There is a $$ parking garage right across the hotel. You also get a pass to use the downtown public transport which is nice for a city tour.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
519 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Rember to get a room facing the garding as there construction work at the front of the hotel.
But a very nice and welcomming hotel, good size room and comfy beds. Small bathroom, but thats ok. Good value for money.
The breakfast is standard and the service wasnt great the 2 days we vere there. Bread was lacking although we ask for more, but when their boss turned up, they quickly turn the service volume up.....................
Free coffee, tea and wine facilities. Try the Swiss white wine, its not a Riesling, but its a good wine.
All in alle a good hotel and one we would stay at again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
941 reviews
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 51 in Basel
502 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 51 in Basel
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steinenschanze Stadthotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steinenschanze Stadthotel

Property: Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Address: Steinengraben 69, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel Steinenschanze)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Vorstädte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Basel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#9 Business Hotel in Basel
#16 Family Hotel in Basel
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,327 - ₹ 16,388
Hotel Class:3 star — Steinenschanze Stadthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steinenschanze Stadthotel has everything you want from a modern and comfortable hotel: Ideally located in the center of Basel, near the old town and near the University of Basel, the museums and the most important institutions. Very easy access to the convention center and the Messe Basel: 9 minutes by car or 14 minutes by tram. Very good access to Airport Basel: 12 minutes by car or 30 minutes by bus. Contemporary urban design, friendly and bright Gstfreundlicher, likeable service, rich breakfast buffet with lactose and gluten-free, vegan offer. Free Wi-Fi. Not much indicated from the outside out: in this haven of peace and relaxation in the middle of the city. Here in the garden you can have breakfast in warm weather and take your aperitif to be. Or simply cuddle up with a good book on one of the comfortable garden chairs and listen to the whispering leaves. Give yourself a break from everyday life. In Steinenschanze Stadthotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Steinenschanze Stadthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Basel
Minotel Basel
Basel Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing