We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Basel City(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$ 142
US$ 128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 180
US$ 136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Airport Hotel Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$ 128
US$ 118
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Spalentor Basel(Basel)
US$ 134
US$ 122
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aparthotel Adagio Basel City(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
US$ 97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Dorint An der Messe Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$ 108
US$ 94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Victoria(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$ 128
US$ 110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ibis Basel Bahnhof(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$ 104
US$ 96
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Generation YMCA Hostel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$ 101
US$ 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
GAIA Hotel(Basel)
US$ 176
US$ 161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
410
161
18
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
161
18
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busold townminute walkwelcome drinkoverlooking the gardenlounge areacontinental buffetfree wifimain roadrecommend this hotelgreat showerby footnice hotelpublic transportcomfortable roomthe hotel staffstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Instead of putting a chocolate on your pillow, it would be better to place some ear plugs there! The hotel is centrally located and if you had plenty to drink before, arrive late andleave early, I guess, it will work. But it is impossible to keep a window open as it faces the busiest street in Basel. There area couple of (dearer) rooms towards the back but they are pretty scarce.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyPierrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

Dear Steinenschanze guest!

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

We do use the feedback of our guests to try to improve our service and infrastructure, as far as it is possible. For us, even a negative review is always better than no review at all!

As you mentioned, we also offer rooms facing the quiet garden, normally for a small extra fee. Of course, as far as possible (depending on the occupancy), we offer at the check-in also free upgrades to the garden side.

As many guests, like to sleep with open windows, we are already looking for the viability of implanting an air conditioning system for all rooms, but it still will take some time until that happens.

We hope you could still enjoy your experience at our hotel and would be more than happy to have you again upon our guests on your next visit to Basel.

Kind regards,

Michaela-Maria Nazarek
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The rather drab exterior hides a little gem of a hotel. Once inside the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful; our rooms although very small were very functional. It was the little things that made a difference though such as the garden courtyard where we sat one afternoon with a drink, the free bus tickets handed out, and the bottle of water kindly given to us as we left to continue our journey. It is close enough to the main railway station and a restaurant area but if walking is too much, the bus works well. So the location is just fine.

Room Tip: Back rooms overlooking the courtyard would be optimal but our front rooms were fine.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Dear Steinenschanze guest!

Thank you very much for your kind review. We as hotel always use any kind of feedback to improve the quality of our service.

We are fully aware, that some of our rooms are smaller than the "standard" in other countries or categories. That is why we match this "disadvantage" with the best service possible and those little things you mentioned (free drinks, free Wireless-LAN Internet, different pillows choice and of course our relaxing garden).

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel on your next trip to Basel.

Kind regards,

Michaela-Maria Nazarek
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Check-in was very good with extremely friendly people. The rooms are nice and modern (recently refurbished?) with flatscreen TV's (which couldn't be watched from the bed in our first room). After staying one night in the noisy front room the staff moved us to a quiet room. This only had a (smaller than) Queen bed. We can't sleep on such a small bed and housekeeping immediately got us an extra bed and helped us where they could. Good job!!
Good:
- Nice rooms (bathrooms are less 'updated' than the rest of the rooms)
- Staff: has done a remarkable job to make us happy (5 stars!)
- Prices are Ok
- Downtown/shops/restaurants: 5 minute walk
- Breakfast is good

Less good:
- Rooms at the front of the hotel are NOISY because of a major road. There's no air conditioning so you have to open your window which is impossible.

There is a $$ parking garage right across the hotel. You also get a pass to use the downtown public transport which is nice for a city tour.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Rember to get a room facing the garding as there construction work at the front of the hotel.
But a very nice and welcomming hotel, good size room and comfy beds. Small bathroom, but thats ok. Good value for money.
The breakfast is standard and the service wasnt great the 2 days we vere there. Bread was lacking although we ask for more, but when their boss turned up, they quickly turn the service volume up.....................
Free coffee, tea and wine facilities. Try the Swiss white wine, its not a Riesling, but its a good wine.
All in alle a good hotel and one we would stay at again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Very cozy hotel with really spacious rooms. I got luck and got a room with a HUGE balcony overseeing the back building! But enjoying great weather at the time. Modern furniture and very basic service. Not great food, restaurant and breakfast. The service is fine to good and the staff are welcoming and friendly. Good location across the street from a bus stop and w/in walking distance to the main station. Also very close and w/in walking distance to the center of the city. Good pick, not great though.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FahadDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews