We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Fine Dining”

Da Roberto Ristorante
Ranked #29 of 773 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 45
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in a side street 2-3 minutes walk from the Basel train station. Da Roberto is an insider's tip - we look forward to sseing you soon.
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Delicious food and wine and refined service, Very expensive. Two salads, 1 order of Cannelloni, 1 order of Aktuell, one bottle of water and 2 dl. of Chianti came to a total of almost 87 francs.

1  Thank AttitudeofGratitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Da Roberto Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear AttitudeofGratitude
Thank you very much for your positive review. For over 40 years we do indeed strive hard to provide high quality Italian food to our guests. Upon your next visit we highly recommend trying a dish from our monthly special menu; we hope to welcome you back at the Da Roberto quite soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2017

This was our second visit, and again we appreciated that Da Roberto is just a few steps away from the train station. We were warmly welcomed, even though it was very early for lunch (11:45, I think). They stowed our baggage and seated us at a comfortable table near the buffet bar. The buffet antipasti was perfect for both my husband and me, as we have small appetites. The selection was good and filling -- tomatoes stuffed with ricotta, grilled vegetables, vegetable fritters, slices of pizza, grilled chunks of chicken and vegetables (shish kebab), a delicious polenta & cheese biscuit (so it seemed. I have no idea what it is called), stuffed artichoke hearts, and on and on. We had half a bottle of an Italian white wine. Expresso came with a delicious almond biscuit. Friendly staff, good food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frenchtwinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Da Roberto Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Frenchtwinkie
Thank you very much for your positive and detailed review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our antipasti buffet. For over 40 years we do indeed strive hard to provide an authentic Italian experience to our guests with friendly service and high quality food prepared with love and enthusiasm.
If you have the chance to visit us in the evening, we highly recommend trying a dish from our monthly specialities. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Nice place, well decorated, close to the railway station. Typical Italian food, typical Swiss prices. Attentive staff, quick service.

Thank 245olegv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Da Roberto Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear 245olegv
Thank you very much for your positive and informative review; you summarise in a few words all the important features of the Da Roberto. For over 40 years we do indeed strive hard to offer a great authentic Italian experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again quite soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Nice place to eat real Italian food.
The surrounding is a bit weird, close to the railway station and the typical "businesses" you usually find in the neighborhood of a railway station...
But once you are inside, you forget about it.
We experienced a warm welcome and a friendly service.
The food was excellent.

Thank Dirk_205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Da Roberto Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear Dirk_205
Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor – your comments are strongly appreciated! For over 40 years we endeavour to provide friendly and professional service as well as high quality Italian food to our guests. We would be pleased to welcome you back at the Da Roberto quite soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

I called to book a table and it was told me that it was fully booked but I could get a seat at the bar. However, when we arrived, we were immediately given a table. Good service and unexpected quality food (I had fish!) completed by a good Italian wine. Thank you for a good evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Da Roberto Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear Dania S
A big thank you for your positive feedback – your words are very much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you were completely satisfied with your evening at the Da Roberto since we strive hard to provide a great Italian experience to our guests. For your next visit we highly recommend trying a dish from our monthly specialities. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Roberto Ristorante also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Da Roberto Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing