We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Basel
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Basel
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“location”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

very ideally located in the city with fantastic connections through local transport

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subbaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    297
    97
    25
    19
See reviews for
76
178
45
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Very kind reception + great city info. City public transport card for the whole of the stay was provided for free!
Nice room and great amenities.
Loads to choose from for breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lappari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Basel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to publish your comment about your stay at Radisson Blu Hotel Basel. We are very pleased to read your positiv comments about our staff as well as you liked your room and the amenities. We will forward your feedback to our assistants to let them know about your poitive feedback.

Your feedback is really appreciated. Please contact us if there is anything else we can do for you to make your next stay even better. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Stefanie Benkert
Front Office Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here one night whilst waiting to board a river cruise the next day. Nice hotel, friendly very helpful staff. The room was very nice with everything you would need. Did not care for the glass bathroom door! It was frosted in the middle but even so to see other peoples feet along the bottom was not a comfortable feeling. Also the door did not close tight but stood a little proud! Maybe others would not mind it.

Also the lights in reception and the breakfast room are a migraine sufferers(which I am) nightmare. Around reception they have a band of fluorescent orange and in the restaurant/breakfast room they have a band of flurescent blue. I survived reception but not the breakfast room. My husband said breakfast choice was very good and he ate well. I glimpsed it and it looked good

The hotel was right next to the old town which is perfect. You could not beat the location. As I say it was very nice if you do not suffer from migraine, just a warning.

We arrived in Basel on a Friday evening around seven. By the time we went out to eat the place was buzzing, They were also having a heat wave. We looked around at the restaurants which were all full and everywhere was really noisy, also looking at the menu's, very expensive. We thought 'are we going to pay lots of money grappling for a table sitting in the heat and noise in order to eat'?

We decided to do what someone else on here did. We went to the local Co- op supermarket bought salads and cold meat some beer. Lots of swiss were doing the same and having a picnic in the square. They don't seem to have the same rules about having a drink in the open as we do. All was well behaved and it was really nice. However we took ours back to the hotel room in the air conditioning Around 16 swiss francs as opposed to well over a hundred!

I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appenzell, Switzerland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

I am very disappointed with this hotel. First, I want to point at some generally problematic features and then, I will give you specific feedback to my stay.

. Rooms are too small for a 4 star hotel. In my room I had to move the bed in order to sit at the working desk
. The working desk is not really a desk, but a fold- out of the wall, this makes the workspace too small and the light, which is in the wall interferes with a laptop screen.
. There is no separation from the shower to the toilet, so, showering means putting the whole toilet under water.
. There is no place to stow a bag. Bags have to be stwied on the floor, there are no other areas to " put one's things" on.

Specific to my stay
. The fold out desk was broken
. Water temperature was not constant
. Check in took over 10 minutes, although I booked on the internet. The check in employee did not know how to print the guest form or to charge the room key
. Check out took over 5 minutes, the employee does not know how to handle a complain and could not operate the credit card machine.

In sum, the worst Radisson hotel I ever visited.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supermajo, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Basel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you indeed for your comments on your stay; we sincerely appologize for your negative experience in our hotel. We consider critics as very helpful, as they support us in constantly improving our services.
Yes, a few of our guestrooms are of a size which is untypical for a first class hotel. Our building has a 50 years old history, and by renovating it a couple of years ago we decided not to reduce the number of rooms in order to cover the demand as good as possible. Due to this, our architect had brought up the solution with open bathrooms and foldable desks.
The broken or not working installations, as you describe it have of course been repaired.
Kindly also refer to the lots of very positive comments we receive from our guests.
We would be very glad to welcome you again at our property in order to proove our real performance.
Yours very sincerely,
Felix W. Hauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Radisson Blu, Basel is an excellent base for a visit to Basel. It is well located directly across from a tram stop that will take you to all the central areas of town, and also easy to get to from the airport. The rooms are impeccably clean and well laid out, although the bathroom is quite small. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly.The gym is well equiped but very hot and busy at peak times.
Little touches make the difference: free slippers, a welcome plate of superb chocolates, a small 'tapas' bowl of antipasti with drinks ordered in the bar. The onsite restaurant is also excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekkerJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Vorstädte
The Passage
The Passage
#9 of 51 in Basel
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 51 in Basel
847 reviews
Hotel Basel
#7 of 51 in Basel
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Basel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Basel

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Basel
Address: Steinentorstrasse 25, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Vorstädte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Basel
#14 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#16 Business Hotel in Basel
#17 Family Hotel in Basel
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,526 - ₹ 35,174
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Six-story Hotel located downtown, near theater, banking & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Basel Hotel Basel
Radisson Basel
Basel Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing