We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location.”
Review of Hotel City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City Inn
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value, great location.”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Great hotel for the price in Basel. Amenities weren't the best but you are in the Hotel Euler so the staff is good. Didn't like that I didn't have full access to the elevators. Rooms were small but new and stylish. Clean. Great location next to the train.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbobsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    107
    41
    16
    7
See reviews for
26
81
35
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
247 reviews
244 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel is connected (and managed I think) by Hotel Euler as they share the front desk and the restaurant. The place is a labyrinth of hallways and stairs that don't all connect especially when you get to the back where the CityInn rooms are. You know you have made it as the walls go from traditional to lime green (and all the rooms are lime green as is much of the furniture). I was there with some colleagues that had decent sized rooms - I skipped that and spent that extra 20 CHF on breakfast so my room was a bit tight but was really only in there to sleep so not a huge issue.

The hotel does not have a fitness center but can get you a discount for a local one down the street (though it is still the magic price of 25+ CHF). They do have free wifi which was quite nice though the network was different in the lobby vs. upstairs so I was often resetting that on my iPhone. The staff were generally friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Room (552) was very spacious and clean. The shower was the best we have ever had in any hotel anywhere. Our relatives who live in Switzerland were concerned as they had read poor reviews, but we cannot understand why as everything was exceptional. The location is great because it is very close to the railway station as well as a central hub for the tram system. Free Wi-Fi and public transport tickets were a plus. Also, preferred the rooms of this hotel as we were not bothered by any tram, train or street noises (we were visiting for Fasnacht). I did not mind the lack of view because we weren't there to look out our hotel room window--we were there to participate in the carnival and it wasn't as though the buildings were that close to each other so there was plenty of light and could see that the sun was out. In addition, the staff were very friendly and courteous. I really cannot say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YankintheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Recommended to me by a colleague as the hotel is convenient for where we conduct our business. Very green, but lovely showers, clean rooms and breakfast is served at the Euler, also lovely and from where you access the City Inn. Think they only charge less and rate this lower as it looks out on to the back of buildings (at least, my room did). Free wi-fi too which is great!!
Comfy bed, pillows and duvet and had ability to control radiators and air con too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The stock photo didn't do my room justice. It was very, very green, It was also very comfortable once I found it. The building is a maze: from reception (at "Hotel Euler") I had to negotiate a corridor, a room, another corridor, a lift, a corridor and two flights of stairs. And another corridor. Location is great, a couple of minutes walk from the station where the bus from the airport stops (cost CHF 4). I got a good deal via Hotels.com and I would stay there again. Free ticket for public transport a great touch, the free wifi is useless.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_McL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Hotel Euler
#15 of 51 in Basel
235 reviews
Metropol Hotel Basel
#24 of 51 in Basel
231 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Alban
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#42 of 51 in Basel
49 reviews
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#18 of 51 in Basel
870 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#22 of 51 in Basel
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Inn

Property: Hotel City Inn
Address: Centralbahnplatz 14, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Vorstädte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,710 - ₹ 12,881
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Inn is a stylish boutique hotel, totally renovated in 2011, in a contemporary art decor. This 3 star hotel is located adjacent to the Hotel Euler, a traditional 4 star hotel; they both belong to the Manz Family. The City Inn has 30 non-smooking rooms, 8 of which are deluxe. Some rooms include separate living areas and a terrace. We kindly advise that not all of the rooms do have an elevator access. All services offered to the Hotel Euler guests are also available to the City Inn guests, for instance free WIFI internet access, Video on Demand TV and breakfast buffet. A Starbucks coffee shop, located at the entrance of the building, completes the food and beverage choice.If you are looking to spend a nice weekend with your girlfriend or if you are on a business trip, the City Inn in Basel is the perfect hotel in the right location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Hotel City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing