We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. THis is not a hotel. It is more a youth hostel than anything else. No 24 hour reception. Very shady people hanging around the place most of the time. I have stayed at youth hostels which were better than this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floydanubhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    32
    29
    5
    7
See reviews for
4
16
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

It is very important to understand that this property is not a hotel. We arrived on a Saturday morning to find the front door locked. There was a notice on the door providing a phone number to get a code to enter the building. We did not have a phone but eventually we did gain entry to the building and to our room.

They had sent us an email confirming our reservation but, incredibly, they did not mention the fact that the building would be locked nor did they provide us with the entry codes. If they had done this it would have made things much easier for us but unfortunately they are either incompetant or uncaring.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sluffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Basel hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

My husband got a job in Basel and so we used these apartments (although you cannot really call them that), as a temporary measure until we found an apartment.

The rooms are basic and quite small. In the time we were there, they cleaned our room just the once and I had to take our trash down and do our own recycling; which isn't something you really welcome when you are new to a city. Incidentally, you can take your recycling to supermarkets like Denners, Coops and Migros.

The beds are typically Swiss and seem hard if you're used to a nice, soft mattress. There is a shower room/wc and there is coffee making machine, but we took a travel kettle. There was no room to actually prepare any food, with the only available surface taken up with the kettle, etc., so ultimately, you end up with crumbs everywhere, the smell of rubbish, which after a few days definitely got on my nerves!

There is a restaurant downstairs, which we didn't use so cannot comment on that. There is a supermarket round the corner and just to your left out of the apartments, there is a little shop that does the basics and also fresh rolls, etc.

There is a laundry in the basement. If I remember correctly, there was no charge to use it.

You can purchase wi fi internet from reception

The reception staff were polite.

It is quite expensive in Basel to eat out and I don't think you get the best value for money by eating in a restaurant. 20CHF for pasta with a tomato sauce is fairly typical. If you're new to Switzerland, you will even find places like McDonalds and Burger King more expensive and it isn't the cheap option you may have come to expect. The supermarkets do fresh bread, cheese, fruit, pasties, hot cooked chicken, salads, etc. This probably offers you the best value and on a nice day, you can sit by the river, or in one of the numerous parks and have a picnic. You can find some cheap, takeaway pizza places as well, where you will pay approximately 10CHF.

Getting around the city is really easy on the Trams and the reception should give you a tourist card that allows you free travel on the trams. Avoid using taxis, they are unnecessary and very expensive; it explains why there are so many taxis sitting around unoccupied.

If you are coming to Basel from the Euro Airport, come out through the Swiss side, not the French and get the green bus, No. 50 that stops outside. You will see directions in the airport for the bus. This bus goes right to the SBB Railway Station with trams that will take you in all directions. The bus is frequent, approx every 15 mins so there really is no need to take a taxi. To get to Gundeli Apartments, you need to go out the back entrance and head for Telplatz and turn right down one of the side roads. It is only a couple of stops on the tram but I am sorry, I don't remember what tram it was. It is approximately a 15 min walk.

As well as visiting places in the city; there are countless museums, parks, pretty streets, etc., it is definitely worthwhile exploring places further afield and easy places worth a day trip to, are Colmar, Strasbourg, Freiburg. You can get trains from SBB. Lorach in Germany is a small, quite pleasant town and very easy to get to from Basel by taking tram 8 to Kleinhuningen and then a bus 6 or 16 right into Lorach.

On hot, sunny days and the summers here are really lovely, definitely head for a swim in the river. It's great to cool off in it's cold waters! I get the tram 2 to Wettsteinplatz, walk through the little park there and there down by the river are a few river beaches and seating areas. There are also showers to wash away river water after your swim.

The best thing about these apartments is that they centrally located and cheap in comparison to many of the hotels in Basel, but I wouldn't want to stay more than a few days because they are quite cramped.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicksibubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

I had stayed in Gundeli-park as a temporary measure before I could find better serviced accomodations and I would recommend this place as stop-over only.
If you are in Basel for a couple of days, this is a decent place to stay.
It is cheaper than other options and provides a restful and good enough atmosphere.
There is no room service nor is the concierge service available after working hours (Monday to Friday 7am - 6pm). Checkouts need to be specified a couple of days earlier.. no spur of the moment decisions.
The room is large enough and clean when you first walk in. However, the cleaning happens only when you leave or if you pay for it.. which means you need to be prepared to see the room at the same state in the evening as you left it.. everyday.
No cooking facilities or restaurant is available either.

The biggest point in its favour is its location near the city centre. The railway station, the Markets and shopping streets are near as 2-3 tram stops which makes travelling around very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sanju_Chacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

Standard of the room is ok, but there's no aircondition. That's not the worst part. They only clean up the room once a week! I stayed there for a month and I was living on crumbles! There"s no free internet access, and the one you have to pay for is on a wire (I had to change them twice cos they were broken). Reception is open only till 5pm so If you need anything after you have to wait till the morning. And it's closed on the weekends!!!! Also cleaning is very bad. They clean once a week but not properly, just change the sheets and towels, no moping the floor and all. Horrible! And service is really bad, not helpful, not nice. Have never been to worst hotel ever!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Hotel Balegra
#40 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#17 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Alban
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#42 of 51 in Basel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#32 of 51 in Basel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel

Property: Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel
Address: J. J. Balmer-Strasse 1 | 4053 Basel, Basel 4053, Switzerland (Formerly Appartementhaus Gundeli-Park)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,958 - ₹ 18,594
Hotel Class:3 star — Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
APALIVING offers near the center of Basel a pleasant, quiet living for the best value for money. In a few minutes by bus or tram you are at the train station SBB (2 minutes), in the city center (6 minutes), at the fair (9 minutes) or at the St. Jakob stadium (7 minutes). The stations are two minutes’ walk away from the hotel.180 rooms in two categories are available. Laundry facilities and WIFI access are free of charge. An ironing station can be used during reception opening hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appartementhaus Gundeli-Park Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing