We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in Basel”
Review of ibis Basel Bahnhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Basel Bahnhof
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Basel is wonderful. We stayed in this fine city for three days. All of them were spent at the Ibis Basel Bahnhopf. The service was excellent.The hotel clerks were helpful and friendly. As it is about 5 minutes away from the main train station, it is suitably located. It's also close to a park, a zoo, and about a 15 minute walk to the Rhine. The breakfast was good, but isn't included in the hotel price. The room was clean however, the bathroom fan didn't work, one of the lights wouldn't come on and they couldn't separate our beds. An odd thing was the window blinds. They unfurled and furled automatically and seemed to serve no purpose. All in all, they offered a great stay for the price they were charging.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 341 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

How could you not have internet complimentary in your stay!! Best part of this hotel is location (Basel is not that big anyway) and reasonable price. Rooms are clean, beds are comfy...food you dont have to worry much...every other restaurant is at walkable distance. Overall 7/10 :)

Room Tip: Dont take room facing main road (tram line)...noise issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sparijat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We were very happy with this hotel we just wanted an overnight reasonably priced hotel near the main station as we were catching a night train direct to Prague. This hotel did not disappoint. Great value as we all know how expensive switzerland can be. The rooms were very adequate fairly good size nice shower and bed with air con and double glazed windows so no noise at all. They give you a pass so you can get the trams for free, this was great as their is a tram stop outside the door and an easy ride direct to basel (which is a lovely city). They let us keep our bags their until we needed to catch the train. We caught the tram back and then wheeled our bags to the station. A very pleasant stay and hotel.

Room Tip: All good rooms as they have double glazed windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROAMING9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Well located just over a bridge from railway station with tram stop adjacent to hotel. Room large with plenty of hanging, storage space, good TV (English - CNN, BBC Entertainment), good bathroom. Comfy bed and pillows. Aircon/opening window. Breakfast way exceeded expectations of previous Ibises stayed in. Yes this is a "no frills" hotel but I was very impressed. Price high but competitive with extortionate costs elsewhere in Basel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surrey361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This Hotel is within easy walking distance of the main railway station and there is a tram stop right outside to connect to the cities excellent tram system.

The rooms are very nice, with comfortable beds and a very nice shower room. There is also airconditioning which was a bonus during my stay. There is free internet access.

The staff are very helpful e.g. providing local information plus printing boarding cards.

The restaurant/bar are basic but buffet breakfast is OK

I have stayed here 3 times on business trips and will always use this Hotel in Basel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRUDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#30 of 52 in Basel
258 reviews
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#33 of 52 in Basel
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Alban
Novotel Basel City
Novotel Basel City
#20 of 52 in Basel
362 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Basel Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Basel Bahnhof

Address: Margarethenstrasse 33 - 35, Basel 4053, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Basel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#14 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range: ₹ 6,063 - ₹ 10,147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Basel Bahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Basel Bahnhof is located right next to the main train station in Basel and is 15 minutes from Basel's EuroAirport. The city center and the zoo are just a few minutes' walk or a short tram ride away. Our hotel with 112 rooms is fully non smoking. Enjoy our friendly 24/7 reception, our generous buffet breakfast, 24/7 bar service, free wifi and webcorner, luggage room and an indoor car park (12 spaces for an extra charge)are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Basel Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Basel Bahnhof Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing