We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castello di Monterone
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here after four days at a luxury hotel in Milan, and I was just hoping that my husband would like it. The drive is on winding, narrow roads outside of the city center and a car is essential. When you pull up to the hotel, which overlooks the city, the view of the Umbrian countryside is just breathtaking. The young workers in the office are very friendly and helpful and showed us to our room. The rooms are sparsely decorated, but contain all modern amenities. We had a basic room, the Angiolo, which was right outside the door to the kitchen. This could be a problem for someone who goes to sleep early, as it can get noisy in there. There is a nice pool area with lounge chairs. We thought we would eat at Il Postale, the one star Michelin restaurant, but the menu did not appeal to me so we ate at the main restaurant which is outside, overlooking the hillside. The food was very good here and fairly inexpensive, so we ate here both nights. The breakfast selection was small but consisted of eggs and bacon and wonderful pastries, along with the usual fruit, cheese, yougurt, cereal and was delicious and more than adequate. Everything was very fresh, the breads and pastries were warm and wonderful. We had a great stay at this hotel but I would recommend asking for a room on the second floor as there are no carpets to muffle the noise from the people above.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanibelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Sanibelle 1,
thank you very much for loving our hospitality!
Your detailed review is something precious for us, because it is the scale through which we continue doing our job. The castle is such a breathtaking place thanks to its special and lucky location - in the middle of the countryside but just a few kilometres from the town - and we do our best to let people appreciate its ancient-but-fascinating character. Thanks for discovering our place, we strongly hope that you felt like home, so we also wish in your return, one day.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Castello di Monterone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 277 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

Perfect from start to finish. Breakfast excellent, room romantic, cozy, well appointed, beautiful bathroom etc (we had the Etrusco room).
Only moments from Perugia by car, with wonderful views, great pool area, charming and on the list for a return visit for sure!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Benjamin S,
reading your words has been simply great. Thanks a lot for the fantastic review about your experience at Castello di Monterone.
Thanks for having been "catched" by the castle's beauty, for loving the location and our services.
We cannot wait for your next visit, because every return is a double gift that our guests sometimes make to us. We strongly hope that it will happen soon.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stopped at this hotel for 4 nights as part of a summer vacation. Although finding the place is a challenge even with a GPS, the location on a hillside with great views is stunning. The rooms are simple but excellent, and as befits a converted "castle" like this. Hotel is no more than 5min drive from Perugia and a great base to explore Umbria.
No real complaints, other than a minor gripe about the Michelin-starred restaurant. It only has half a dozen tables and evidently has a reputation as there were locals there. The food was inventive, but some items just did not work for us (a cod dish for example was extremely salty), so a slight disappointment.
Overall, though, I would highly recommend this hotel for the location and ambiance alone.

Room Tip: Take a GPS to help find the place!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Follies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Follies,
thanks for your beautiful review. We are so happy that you have been impressed by the charming of the castle. We believe it is a place where to live an unusual experience: relaxing, nature and cultural-oriented, given that the castle is situated in the green countryside just outside the town of Perugia and also it is well connected to the main attractions of Umbria.
In any case, thanks for discovering our place. We strongly hope you will gift us with another visit in the future.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We only stayed for one night in this hotel and it was the best of our Italy-roundtrip !
The reception was perfect , the interior decoration was amazing , the room ideal match in this story , the scenery in the restaurant is like a postcard and the breakfast was the best I had in years ( in a hotel ) . Certainly a place to come back to . Worth every Euro .

Room Tip: There is a room with a small terrace and vieuw on Perugia.......
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hans t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear hans t,
being "the best of your trip" is something that we cannot forget and a simple "thank you" seems to be so little against the big gift you have made us with your words!
We have loved your good impression about food, location, reception...they are the key elements of our hospitality, that wants to be simple but true. We would like you to keep the promise to come back, we hope it will be soon.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gregory D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CastMont, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perugia
8.0 km away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
716 reviews
2.6 km away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,179 reviews
19.2 km away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
875 reviews
18.4 km away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
547 reviews
2.5 km away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 65 in Perugia
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Monterone? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monterone

Address: Strada di Montevile 3, 06126, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
#1 Family Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: ₹ 10,437 - ₹ 29,240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Monterone 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Castle, Castello di Monterone offers its guests 18 unique and enchanting rooms, each designed in a manner that respects and preserves the atmosphere of the Castle. Blending the past with the future, each room includes: en-suite bathrooms (some with jacuzzi tubs), international television channels, broadband internet access, mini-fridge, air conditioning and safe deposit box. Castello di Monterone has two restaurantsThe gourmet restaurant il Postale (1 star Michelin) showcases both traditional Umbrian dishes as well as contemporary, innovative cuisineThe restaurant Il Gradale’s commitment to local freshness is apparent in its seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Castello di Monterone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Monterone Hotel Perugia
Castello Di Monterone Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing