We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky but comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Funky but comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at Gio with an Italian group that was celebrating a 40+year reunion. Despite the numbers the hotel handled the situation very well...with a meal for 100 on the main night and lunches as bookends. The hotel has two wings...one dedicated to jazz music and the other to wine.
Rooms we clean and well maintained. The decorations were unusual being all Jazz orientation. Wallpaper, fixed radio, curtains, and figurines are all reflective of jazz music and jazz musicians. Quite unusual to say the least...but it grows on you. We also learned that Hotel Gio is the home of the annual jazz festival held in the autumn...which then made sense.
A little out of the main part of the old town...so a strong walk...or taxi is required to visit the piazza etc....
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Not overpriced so good value.
Ps...one more item worth mentioning. Each room had it's own massage chair...having driven from Rome this was a great but very welcome surprise.

Room Tip: Both sides of hotel have busy roads....we were on the highway side...but the noise was not an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    512
    163
    50
    12
See reviews for
149
527
33
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel is situated a bit far from the historical center of Perugia. Rooms are big but decoration is not very nice. Bedding is good but not great, choose rooms at the back of the hotel if you want to avoid the gaz station view in the front of the hotel. A Pool on the hotel roof is certainly nice but it was unfortunately closed in may... Fitness center with 2 bikes and running machine is available. Breakfast is poor without any choice. I'll not go back there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fguitteny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
862 reviews
221 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 818 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent 1 night here in April '12 in order to vist the sites of Perugia.

What we didn't realise is that this is almost 2 hotels - the Wine and the Jazz in different buildings connected by underground corridor.... We stayed in the Wine.

Reception were very helpfull, spoke brilliant English and the whole booking in experience was pleasant. The room was large, comfortable and decked out in a very tastefull"wine" theme - in fact the whole of this part of the Hotel is - a very in interesting (in a good way) decor.

Breakfast was very good - usual Itallian breakfast fayre ~ Cheeses, Hams, Serials, tarts, bread and the like. Large dining room, good service and plenty of choice.

Its a 20 min walk into the middle of the City - all uphill so not a quick saunter but certainly a possibiliy (But possibly not more than once.....). There is lots of car parking space at both the wine and the jazz.

The only 2 slight drawbacks...... we bought a bottle of local wine in town, brought it back but it was corked SO we asked for a corkscrew......in hotel "wine".... but they didn't have one ! More an ammusement than a real pain. However the internet is free but only with a ticketted code system. When the time elapsed by the next morning reception won't give the new code over the phone.... bit of an embuggerance trasing downstairs for a bit of paper.

But overall a very comfortable, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Having read some less than enthusiastic reports about this hotel, I made my booking here with some trepidation. Contrary to expectations, the hotel was easy to find and adequately sign-posted. Sure it's on a hill, but what a pleasant stroll down or back, with so many interesting shops and builings along the way. And it's quirky layout adds to the charm, My room was comfortable by any standards, the bed firm, linen crisp and fresh, the staff pleasant. Bathrooms were comfortable and well appointed. Having forgotten to pack shampoo, I was forced to use (oh horrors) a hotel shampoo, and found it to be of great quality. At check-in, the male front office staffer was Italian charm personified, and a second reception taffer, a young lady this time, was professional, friendly and extremely informed about the city and the environs. I certainly wasnt aware of any intrusive traffic noises. Admittedly I was here on business, but even the conferencing facilities were top-notch, with bery attentive banquetting staff on stand-by. However, I've extended to do justice to the surroundings. I certainly have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wanting to explore Umbria. It's a nice comfortable central base, and a very pleasant hotel to come home to after a day of exploring Umbria!

Room Tip: I stayed in the newer section, the Jazz section, and rate it very highly. The older section, the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mokum1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here off-season, and enjoyed a sumptuous buffet breakfast (by European standards), and a nice room with small dining area and jetted bathtub. It is located about 1 mile up the hill from the train station, a healthy walk, but convenient to the bus lines, groceries and a nice neighboring cafe. The off-season rates were key to the great value we found. During or near the Jazz Festival in July, this hotel is buzzing and the rates are very high. However, it is close to Assisi, and located in the lower town. Makes for a nice 2-3 day sojourn.

Room Tip: Visit during late fall or early spring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtlusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
1.1 km away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
1.6 km away
Etruscan Chocohotel
Etruscan Chocohotel
#10 of 66 in Perugia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
3.4 km away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#6 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
4.9 km away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
5.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area

Property: Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area
Address: Via Ruggero d'Andreotto 19, 06124, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,450 - ₹ 7,853
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel giò wine e jazz area is a hotel divided into two theme areas, dedicated to jazz and wine. The hotel is in the city centre of perugia, 1 km far away from the railway station, and 200 mt from the minimetrò station. You reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by minimetrò.From hotel giò you can reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by car or in 20 minutes on foot. In the hotel jazz lovers will find a music store and an auditorium with jazz concerts in different dates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gio Hotel Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing