We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Fortuna(Perugia)
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 135
US$ 82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 234
US$ 228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astor Hotel(Perugia)
US$ 66
US$ 64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Etruscan Chocohotel(Perugia)(Great Value!)
US$ 100
US$ 72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo Dei Conti Resort(Boschetto Vecchio)
US$ 309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 99
US$ 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 168
US$ 143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Perusia(Perugia)(Great Value!)
US$ 352
US$ 131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 76
US$ 71
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,636)
Filter reviews
1,636 results
Traveller rating
818
604
165
38
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
818
604
165
38
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busold townrocca paolinahard bedsescalator ridemodern hotelshort walkconvenient locationitalian hotelsexcellent locationgood sizeeasy accessreception stafftour groupla tavernacity centrebreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 1,636 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed in Perugia at this hotel for two nights, June 28 and 29, and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is extremely well located -- on a bus line from the train station, and at the foot of the escalators which take you through the rock and into the main part of the city. The people at the desk are outstandingly friendly --- a shout out to Concetta, who is just a delight, always warm and helpful. The breakfasts are to die for --- all the meats, cheeses, fruits, pastries, and breads you could possibly want. The A/C worked wonderfully, and the hotel was clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: The higher floors on the north side of the hotel offer the best rooms with good views of the plaza below. I had Room 510, which was excellent!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoTravelBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This hotel literally straddles the bus station at the foot of the escalators into the historic centre of town, which makes it an ideal location to use as a base for exploring. Rooms are pleasant but the air conditioning is set very high; after complaining to reception we were able to set ours to 17' which we suspect was in truth about 22', but it did make our nights much more comfortable. Included breakfasts were good, though the single coffee machine wasn't really up to the task, and there was little fruit on offer. Oddly, the catering side of the operation appears to have been subcontracted, meaning that meals and drinks etc cannot be billed back to your room. This has the potential to cause embarrassment as payment is expected on the spot. In-room internet was free using a password provided by reception.

Room Tip: Reception CAN alter your air conditioning remotely - let them know if it's not right for you
Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank littlefmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We have just spent a week at this hotel. The room was a little small but all the facilities were there and the bed, while firm allowed a good night's sleep. The standard of cleanliness was high and the hotel staff were pleasant and helpful, many speaking enough English. The air conditioning was poor - could not set it below 21c and seemed not to deliver cold air a lot of the time. There was no wifi in the bedrooms but it was available and free in the public areas. There was a large breakfast room and all the available items were kept topped up. Coffee was not the usual Italian quality. It is very well located near the escalators for exploring the old town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a week in May 2012 and enjoyed my stay. On registering I was offered a room with a balcony. This offered my a nice view of the city and out into the surrounding country (when it was not raining that is). My room was well appointed and comfortable as well as being clean. Breakfast was always very good, with a range of typically Italian food and decent coffee. Service in the hotel was excellent and I found the staff to be very helpful. Add in wi-fi in the rooms and everything would be just perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, and not facing south/west as the sun on that side of the hotel can be quite strong.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We have just returned from 5 night stay in Sangallo Palace. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.
Its plus points are the staff in particular Umberto on reception was very helpful and recommended some great restaurants. Any issues we had like pillows, AC, safe locked open and number of hangers were fixed within minutes. The location is great just a few minutes up the escalators to the city centre. The rooms were large and our friends even had a room with a bath and balcony. I think the secret is to ask for a bath then you get a balcony too. It wasn't a problem to us as we used the hotel terrace if we had any time to sit and read. The buffet breakfast is good and well planned but it would have been nice to have some fresh fruit other than apples and kiwi fruit. The rooms are very clean and the bed linen seemed to be changed every day which is always a plus point for us. The rooms were well sound insulated. We had a room overlooking Via Marconi but never heard a sound from outside.
The minor complaints were:
- NO WIFI in the room. There is wifi in the main lobby but is a bit of a drag to have to leave the room every time you want access to the web. The hotel must change this soon as it is a major need for most travellers and tourists.
- Car Parking is a quite expensive at 15 Euros a day hence it cost us £60 for our 5 day stay. I understand why the price is so high as the car park is very small and so it is supply and demand which fixes the price.
- the air con is limited compared to many other hotels. It did cool the room but only just. It didn't seem to be able to be set lower than 21c. Maybe this one of their Eco activities. One day it wasn't working and Umberto did something at the reception desk to reboot it and it started working immediately. Maybe the reception controls the level of cooling you can use.

Overall a good hotel with a couple of issues which didn't spoil our visit.

Room Tip: I am guessing this but if you want a balcony ask for a room with a bath tub. It also has a shower over the bath.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews