We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Sharon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We loved our 2 night visit to Perugia and this hotel was perfect for us. Clean, spacious, ok breakfast. The escalators which take you to the main part of the city were a real treat when we visited because there were local vendors set up there selling delicious wine, cheese and handcrafted Italian goods. The fresh fruit juices were the best! We also walked into the city right from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelertoday48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    508
    143
    32
    10
See reviews for
272
620
68
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed in Perugia at this hotel for two nights, June 28 and 29, and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is extremely well located -- on a bus line from the train station, and at the foot of the escalators which take you through the rock and into the main part of the city. The people at the desk are outstandingly friendly --- a shout out to Concetta, who is just a delight, always warm and helpful. The breakfasts are to die for --- all the meats, cheeses, fruits, pastries, and breads you could possibly want. The A/C worked wonderfully, and the hotel was clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: The higher floors on the north side of the hotel offer the best rooms with good views of the plaza b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoTravelBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This hotel literally straddles the bus station at the foot of the escalators into the historic centre of town, which makes it an ideal location to use as a base for exploring. Rooms are pleasant but the air conditioning is set very high; after complaining to reception we were able to set ours to 17' which we suspect was in truth about 22', but it did make our nights much more comfortable. Included breakfasts were good, though the single coffee machine wasn't really up to the task, and there was little fruit on offer. Oddly, the catering side of the operation appears to have been subcontracted, meaning that meals and drinks etc cannot be billed back to your room. This has the potential to cause embarrassment as payment is expected on the spot. In-room internet was free using a password provided by reception.

Room Tip: Reception CAN alter your air conditioning remotely - let them know if it's not right for you
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank littlefmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Spa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We have just spent a week at this hotel. The room was a little small but all the facilities were there and the bed, while firm allowed a good night's sleep. The standard of cleanliness was high and the hotel staff were pleasant and helpful, many speaking enough English. The air conditioning was poor - could not set it below 21c and seemed not to deliver cold air a lot of the time. There was no wifi in the bedrooms but it was available and free in the public areas. There was a large breakfast room and all the available items were kept topped up. Coffee was not the usual Italian quality. It is very well located near the escalators for exploring the old town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a week in May 2012 and enjoyed my stay. On registering I was offered a room with a balcony. This offered my a nice view of the city and out into the surrounding country (when it was not raining that is). My room was well appointed and comfortable as well as being clean. Breakfast was always very good, with a range of typically Italian food and decent coffee. Service in the hotel was excellent and I found the staff to be very helpful. Add in wi-fi in the rooms and everything would be just perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, and not facing south/west as the sun on that side of the hotel can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.3 km away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
2.5 km away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#3 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#18 of 66 in Perugia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
7.6 km away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
5.5 km away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangallo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangallo Palace Hotel

Property: Sangallo Palace Hotel
Address: Via Luigi Masi 9, 06121, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Perugia
#2 Business Hotel in Perugia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,071 - ₹ 10,205
Hotel Class:4 star — Sangallo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel in the center of it all! Our beautifully renovated Sangallo Palace Hotel is located in the historical centre of Perugia a short stroll from the fascinating and historic Rocca Paolina Fortress. Visit the monuments and tourist attractions of the city centre on foot; relax in the covered swimming pool and use the fully equipped gym that the hotel offers you; enjoy the genuine Umbrian cuisine in our well known Restaurant "Il Sangallo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sangallo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sangallo Palace
Sangallo Palace Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing