We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable Umbrian experience”

Let's cook in Umbria
Ranked #1 of 17 Food & Drink in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Culinary adventures in Italy: cooking classes, winery tours, truffle hunting and very popular cooking vacation programs that include accommodations and excursions to remote villages throughout Umbria and Tuscany.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A memorable Umbrian experience”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

As part of our Italy food tour, I stayed at "La Volpe e L'uva" with a group of 8 of my dearest family and friends from July 25th to 29th. Raffaela was very helpful from the get go. Even when I was arranging this trip with her months before, she gave me plenty of advice on what to do and where to go during our stay. She was very patient with us because we changed the headcount multiple times. The group grew from 6 to 9 during planning. She has a fantastic website that's full of useful information. Not to mention all the recipes that gave us a preview of what's to come. Sure enough, our experience there was nothing short of extraordinary. It was a cute rustic farm house sitting on the hills outside of Perugia. Raffaela's family house is right next to the guest house, which has a number of apartments to accommodate multiple groups of visitors. The view from my apartment was fantastic. It looks out to the swimming pool down below, and the neat looking vineyards on the hills ahead. There was a fig tree right outside of our windows as well. All this was so refreshing considering we all came from big cities. During our stay, Raffaela brought in cooking instructor Stefania to teach us how to cook Umbrian dishes. We had 3 days of such cooking lessons. Each day we cooked a 4-course meal which typically consisted of some type of handmade pasta, a vegetable dish, a meat dish, and a dessert. All of it was so much fun to make. And on the first day, we ate on a picnic bench outside because the weather was so pleasant. We had some rain after the first day, so we ate inside the house. But the food was equally delicious. Raffaela gave us her table Cianti that her family made from their own vineyard. We ate, drank, and laughed so much during our stay. Everyone in my group is still talking about it with their friends and family today. Raffa, you're the best hostess and I'd recommend your place to anyone who wants to truly experience Italy, particularly Umbria. Grazie per tutto!!!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Wavehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    14
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, authentic, memorable”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My sister and I so very much enjoyed our experieince with Rafaella and Stephania in their Umbrian farmhouse. We learned how to make fresh pasta, pork roast with grapes and tiramisu. It was fun, entertaining and educational. it was a wonderful way to spend a day in Italy with my sister. Rafaella has a beautiful home and Stephania is a wonderful cook. Both showed us thier italian hospitality. We highly recommend this experieince to anyone wishing to cook for a day and spend thier time in the Umbrian contryside.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Trishdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food, wine, views and lots of laughs. What else can you ask for?”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I went with my partner at the end of May/beginning June. I booked this trip half a year ago so we were looking forward to it for quite some time. We dedicided to go the full experience with a 6 day course- this included 4 cooking workshops, 2 site seeing tours and 2 hikes.

Any doubts about the quantity of cooking classes we signed up for was gone after the first day. Stefania is a wonderful teacher, we enjoyed all of her recipes and tips. The classes were relatively small, ranging from 3 to 5 participants in total. The daytrips were well organised with a pick up and drop off at the farm (Assisi and Orvieto) the hikes were also worth while as it is such a beautiful area!

Raffaella's farm is well maintained and cosy, surrounded by an amazing Italian lanscape. It was sad to leave after our week of learning and relaxing. Would definitelly go back.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyGrl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warburton, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great course, not to be missed if you want a fun, informative Italian cookery experience”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We just spent 3 fabulous months in Italy, and one of the stand-out highlights was our 4-night stay at La Volpe e l'uva for the "Let's Cook Umbria" cooking course.

We were made very welcome by Raffa, our hostess and Stefania, our cooking teacher. We learnt authentic Italian cookery in a great atmosphere of fun. More than just a cookery course, we learnt about combinations and the building of great menus, using the freshest of ingredients.

We also attended other courses while in Italy and while they were good, this experience had that little extra! This was definitely down to Raffa and Stefania themselves, who went out of their way to look after us.

The 4-course meal every was a great event, in a lovely setting, complete with great views of the surrounding countryside. The meal was presented with the good wine of the property. This, of course, necessitated a siesta later in the afternoon after our hard day's work in the kitchen!

We look forward to a return visit ... maybe at grape harvest time!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Warbychix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A fantastic afternoon of leaning to cook the Umbrian Way”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This cooking event was held at the Villa where we were staying, not at Raffa's property. It was a really good afternoon and evening event. Raffa and Stefania were great guides to us and we were all able to get involved in the preparation of a 3 course meal.
The food was delicious.
A great thing to do for an afternoon in Umbria.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank mrthom1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Let's cook in Umbria also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Cannara, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Let's cook in Umbria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing