We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
506
81
17
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
81
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fairy tale tower room castle grounds truffle hunt watch tower castle stay century tower awesome stay wine tour modern traveller two nights umbrian countryside large bathroom breakfast room spiral staircase amazing hotel went above and beyond
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 606 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2017

The Castello is located near Gubbio in a quiet location high up a mountain road. We spend 2 nights in the Scoiattolo Room which has a queen bed with sitting area and a loft with sofa bed and large bathroom. We are a family of four and this room fit us very comfortably. Lucia went above and beyond from her help early on in booking just the right room to all of her help throughout our stay. We had a very fun truffle hunt with Stella the truffle dog. The walk through the woods was majestic. We dined two nights at the Castello and the food was outstanding as was our server who recommended perfect dishes and very good local wine. Breakfast was plentiful and exploring the castle grounds was picturesque. Nearby Gubbio is a small medieval town well worth an afternoon visit before returning to the castle. Our next stop was Rome and the drive was about 2 hours.

Room Tip: We chose our room based on size to accommodate as well as the beautiful architecture.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

We can't put into words how lovely this castle stay was! The property is amazing - serene, peaceful, amazing. The history and ambience is without parallel and the staff was so welcoming. We truly felt like we had the whole place to ourselves for days, although help was only steps away if needed. Our children loved he chess and swimming and it was a great place to spend a few days either exploring the Umbrian countryside or just relaxing after busy days in Venice, Rome, and Florence. We will be back!
So many thanks to Carlo and his staff!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank ggsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Just go. Epic, fantastic, romantic, picturesque, just really cool place to stay, great staff, delicious food, absurdly cool rooms and oh yeah its actually a castle. And you park in the stables before retiring to the castle keep. Well worth the money.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JamesBelgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and we really enjoyed every minute. The staff was helpfull with our luggage, questions about the area, explanations about the walkingtrails and arranged a wine tour for us.

When we had dinner on our first evening we decided to eat everyday at the restaurant in the castle. Price-quality ratio was more than good.
The waiter was very friendly and recommended the best (and affordable) wines with the dishes. Every dish was a very pleasant experience! Wow, what a good cook..

Also the area around the castle is very quiet, perfect for walking/running/relaxing or just swimming in the big pool with an astonishing view.

The rooms are just as they should be in an 11th century castle. Not very big, but comfortable and clean. The only minus is that it is a little bit noisy when you are in a room near to the stairs.
We defineatly would recommend this hotel/experience to everyone who loves nature and good (very good) food.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Juudj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

We stayed in the Tower Room for 3 nights. It felt so authentic and as close to a fairy tale as I can imagine in real life. The stairs can be a little tricky but I think it just added to the charm. The view from this castle is breathtaking. In the morning, there are misty mountains as far as the eye can see and in the evening, the stars light up the sky. Imagine having coffee or tea on your private rooftop terrace.

In addition to the room, the ladies at the front provide incredible, genuine service. They went out of their way daily to make sure we had everything we could want, from letting us get breakfast early to showing us the walking/hiking trails. We also talked to the sweetest gentleman, who turned out to be the owner. No pretension at all!

Combine the authenticity, the luxury, great service and affordable price.... that's one amazing hotel.

Room Tip: If you are generally fit, the Tower Room is a great experience!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BARNETTL1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews