We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
505
82
17
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
82
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairy taletower roomcastle groundstruffle huntwatch towercastle staycentury towertwo nightsawesome staywine tourmodern travellerumbrian countrysidelarge bathroombreakfast roomspiral staircaseamazing hotelwent above and beyond
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 606 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Everything at the Castello di Petroia was perfect: the setting, our hotel room, the breakfast room (with a view of the Umbrian hills), the dining room (with the candles), the swimming pool, the smell of the trees surrounding the castello, the castello in itself.... The staff was always helpful, welcoming and very nice; and both dinner and breakfast were extremely good. The location is perfect to discover Assisi, Gubbio, Todi, Perugia, etc. All wonderfully preserved cities, full of magnificent buildings and churches. It was recommended by a friend - and in turn -we have already started recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie_Larmanjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Perfect location for a special anniversary if you love Italy. The people running the hotel couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Restaurant serves great food and wine at a very reasonable cost. Breakfast gives a good selection to suit most tastes.
Access road a bit rough and hotel is isolated so be prepared to spend the evenings there rather than go out. We visited Gubbio, Assisi and Montone (wonderful places) which are not far away and easily accessible by car. Returned to hotel each day at about 4.30, spent an hour or so at the pool then got ready for an evening at 'our' castle.
We were there for 4 nights and are looking forward to a return visit in the future.
Superb.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just back from 4 wonderful days at this hotel. Everything about this place is magical but the setting probably has to be the trump card. Lying by the pool amongst the olive trees gazing out over the Umbrian hills you feel like you are dreaming.

We stayed in the duchess suite which I would highly recommend. Large bed, lots of space and a shower that would probably fit 6 people. It was 40 degrees when we were there but even with the windows open at night it was beautifully quiet.

Breakfast was incredible. My husband and I love our food so enjoyed tucking into all the fresh fruit and home made cakes. The view from the breakfast room reminded me of EM Forster's ROOM with a view. Truly stunning. Get to breakfast early to make sure you get one of the 2 tables with the view.

We chose to spend our honeymoon here and we have no regrets. Only reason I gave it 4 stars is that the dinner service was a little slow and we felt the food was a bit too expensive. There was only one waiter so when the restaurant was busy he had too much to do. However he was a delightful man, as are all the staff. We met Lucia Lucia and Leonardo and they have to be the nicest reception staff I have ever met on my world travels.

You must go and stay here. You will not regret it.

While there defo drive to Gubbio and take the birdcage style cable car up the mountain. It's an experience you will never forget.

Room Tip: Duchess suite a winner.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shania941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Castello di Petroia is a delightful place to stay and dine in the Perugia area. It is very well located for visiting the area. We stayed there for 2 nights at the end of March; and took day trips out to Assisi, Gubbio, Todi, Orvieto, Cortona and other locations. As other reviewers have commented, it is a magical place. Despite our visit being in the off season, they were fully staffed at the front desk and in the dining room. The 2 evening meals that we ate in the dining room during our stay were the best 2 in our 3 week trip to Italy and Switzerland. The staff (Lucia, Lucia, and Paulo ) and owner Carlo Sagrini went out of their way to make us feel welcome and ensure that our stay enjoyable. They helped us considerably by doing some online research and then calling and negotiating in Italian (which we couldn't do) to make reservations for our next destination. Every aspect of our stay was first class at very attractive room rate and menu prices. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for visitors to Umbria.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flexecutives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at the Castello. We stayed for 10 days and it is truly a magical place, the trees were just turning colour, the mist was just hovering in the mornings and you could just imagine yourself in a fairytale castle.
The receptionists, Leonardo, Lucia and Virginia are really helpful and speak excellent English and we would like to thank them all for their hints and tips as to where to go and what to see. The Castello is situated quite centrally for many city's inc. Gubbio, Perugia, Assisi, Spello, Largo Trasimeno and not forgetting the beautiful mountains. Whilst there don't miss out on going for a walk, the fields, lanes and countryside are so pretty.
We would like also to thank Dr Carlos Sagrini for showing us around and wish him luck with his future restorations.
Breakfast is served in an amazing dining room with 12th century fireplaces and the cake and pastries are quite delicious. Also Fidelma (I hope this is spelt correctly) makes a great cappuccino and helped us improve our Italian.
Thank you one and all for making our holiday so special

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to explore
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLJEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews