We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and unforgettable Umbria holiday accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Petroia
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We were looking for a special place to stay while touring the fabulous region of Umbria. Advice led us to Petroia. Everything was perfect. The rooms were spacious and well equipped. The decor was in keeping with the Middle Ages surroundings. We loved the breakfast, and dinner was served outside at this time of year by candlelight which was a treat. The chef is very creative, we enjoyed trying all the menu selections each night. We were especially touched by the attentiveness of the owner to every guest. It really made us feel at home. In August, Umbria is very hot in the middle of the day, so we took advantage of the delightful pool and kept cool until later in the afternoon to start our sightseeing. Most major attractings of the region are within a short drive. We'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but they do have deluxe rooms we didn't try. Newly renovated rooms will offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanLipin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

Everything at the Castello di Petroia was perfect: the setting, our hotel room, the breakfast room (with a view of the Umbrian hills), the dining room (with the candles), the swimming pool, the smell of the trees surrounding the castello, the castello in itself.... The staff was always helpful, welcoming and very nice; and both dinner and breakfast were extremely good. The location is perfect to discover Assisi, Gubbio, Todi, Perugia, etc. All wonderfully preserved cities, full of magnificent buildings and churches. It was recommended by a friend - and in turn -we have already started recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie_Larmanjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Perfect location for a special anniversary if you love Italy. The people running the hotel couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Restaurant serves great food and wine at a very reasonable cost. Breakfast gives a good selection to suit most tastes.
Access road a bit rough and hotel is isolated so be prepared to spend the evenings there rather than go out. We visited Gubbio, Assisi and Montone (wonderful places) which are not far away and easily accessible by car. Returned to hotel each day at about 4.30, spent an hour or so at the pool then got ready for an evening at 'our' castle.
We were there for 4 nights and are looking forward to a return visit in the future.
Superb.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just back from 4 wonderful days at this hotel. Everything about this place is magical but the setting probably has to be the trump card. Lying by the pool amongst the olive trees gazing out over the Umbrian hills you feel like you are dreaming.

We stayed in the duchess suite which I would highly recommend. Large bed, lots of space and a shower that would probably fit 6 people. It was 40 degrees when we were there but even with the windows open at night it was beautifully quiet.

Breakfast was incredible. My husband and I love our food so enjoyed tucking into all the fresh fruit and home made cakes. The view from the breakfast room reminded me of EM Forster's ROOM with a view. Truly stunning. Get to breakfast early to make sure you get one of the 2 tables with the view.

We chose to spend our honeymoon here and we have no regrets. Only reason I gave it 4 stars is that the dinner service was a little slow and we felt the food was a bit too expensive. There was only one waiter so when the restaurant was busy he had too much to do. However he was a delightful man, as are all the staff. We met Lucia Lucia and Leonardo and they have to be the nicest reception staff I have ever met on my world travels.

You must go and stay here. You will not regret it.

While there defo drive to Gubbio and take the birdcage style cable car up the mountain. It's an experience you will never forget.

Room Tip: Duchess suite a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shania941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Castello di Petroia is a delightful place to stay and dine in the Perugia area. It is very well located for visiting the area. We stayed there for 2 nights at the end of March; and took day trips out to Assisi, Gubbio, Todi, Orvieto, Cortona and other locations. As other reviewers have commented, it is a magical place. Despite our visit being in the off season, they were fully staffed at the front desk and in the dining room. The 2 evening meals that we ate in the dining room during our stay were the best 2 in our 3 week trip to Italy and Switzerland. The staff (Lucia, Lucia, and Paulo ) and owner Carlo Sagrini went out of their way to make us feel welcome and ensure that our stay enjoyable. They helped us considerably by doing some online research and then calling and negotiating in Italian (which we couldn't do) to make reservations for our next destination. Every aspect of our stay was first class at very attractive room rate and menu prices. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for visitors to Umbria.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flexecutives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gubbio
13.8 km away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
18.4 km away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
871 reviews
13.4 km away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 24 in Gubbio
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 km away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
11.2 km away
Hotel Villa Montegranelli
13.4 km away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 24 in Gubbio
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Petroia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Petroia

Address: Localita Petroia, 06020, Gubbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gubbio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gubbio
Price Range: ₹ 12,839 - ₹ 19,936 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Petroia 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway through the ancient road that links Gubbio to Perugia, stands on the horizon the severe and majestic Petroia Castle. A path through woods and meadows leads to a huge gate, beyond which Petroia opens in all its beauty.The origins of the Castle of Petroia are to be found between the IX and X century, on the 7th June 1422 was born in Petroia Federico da Montefeltro, the most famous Duke of Urbino. The Castle of Petroia is composed of medieval buildings enclosed within the Castle's walls. The three buildings that make up the Castle welcome guests in spacious rooms: The ancient and authentic rooms are carefully furnished to create an elegant setting and a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castello di Petroia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Petroia Gubbio, Umbria, Italy
Castello Di Petroia Hotel Gubbio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing