We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food! ”

Ristorante di Porta Tessenaca
Reserve with
Ristorante di Porta Tessenaca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 136 Restaurants in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 23 - US$ 44
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Ristorante di Porta Tessenaca, in the heart of the ancient city of Gubbio, offers a setting perfectly in line with the external environment: typically medieval, with a variety of dishes for all tastes very well presented, where his majesty the truffle is the undisputed master.
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We visited the Ristorante di Porta Tessenaca for lunch during our visit to Gubbio (which by the way is beautiful!). They were very accommodating for our 11 month old daughter and they have a limited children’s menu and high chairs. We sat outside where they have limited tables as it was lunchtime but the restaurant downstairs was absolutely stunning inside - a must see. Everything is very reasonably priced and absolutely delicious. We were brought some tasters on the house before our appetisers which were delicious. The appetisers were great, of note to mention the zucchini flowers and the mushroom pie. The pasta we had was absolutely delicious including local truffle and wild boar. My husband had one of the best steaks he has ever had for his main course. The waitress was very attentive, very good English and great recommendations. Would definitely return if we were in Gubbio again.

Thank Abi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilegio M, Direttore generale at Ristorante di Porta Tessenaca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you very much,we are waiting for you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I recently visited Gubbio for an overnight and we had dinner at Porta Tessenaca. Like the title says, it was the best meal we had while vacationing in Italy. The restaurant itself was beautifully decorated while retaining its medieval atmosphere. The service was excellent and the food absolutely delicious. The ravioli in butter sauce with freshly shaved black truffles has me salivating just thinking about it right now. Special mention is the breadsticks they put out in the center of the table. At first you may think they are decorative straws but they are in fact the most addictively tasty thin breadsticks. Everything from the appetizer to dessert was perfect and all very reasonably priced for the quality of food. If you are in the neighborhood, definitely stop in for dinner.

Thank ubny99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilegio M, Direttore at Ristorante di Porta Tessenaca, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

The decor is amazing and the food amazing. Service is friendly and helpful. For that extra special occasion a great place to go.

Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

My uncle died at age 83, in early March, 2018. His son, his granddaughter, I and my spouse took my uncle's 85 yo spouse to Gubbio for a vacation during the final week of March, because her father was born there. The first night we went to Tessenaca, and Ali (the world's best waitress) was so welcoming. Several of us speak some Italian, and she was very accommodating to our awkwardly-expressed wishes. The black truffled pastas (gnocchi, ravioli, etc) were all loaded with thin slices of the most aromatic black truffles. The same was true for a fluffy striaccaggia (a soufflé style egg based delight). The restaurant's main dining room is part of a 12th century building, and the bare stone walls are so thick, that it provides a 15th century dining feel. No phone signals penetrate, so you won't be disturbed!

My elderly aunt mentioned that her Gubbio relatives used to make a passatelle soup. This comment brought the chef, who promised to create such a soup for us the next evening. So of course, we returned, and the soup was (according to my aunt) authentic. Again, Ali's service was impeccable.

The wine list is extensive and Italo-centric, with many local wines available. We dined there 3/4 nights we stayed in Gubbio. Simply the best!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wadeb722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilegio M, Direttore at Ristorante di Porta Tessenaca, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

I thank you with all my heart for your good thoughts and we await you with open braces...many greetings from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We stopped in for lunch. The stone interior, lighting and décor is quite inviting and comforting. The service was very good and our waiter spoke English to help us with the menu. They have a great selection of wine as well as traditional and creative Italian dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 358dons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Privilegio M, Direttore at Ristorante di Porta Tessenaca, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018
Google Translation

grazie mille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante di Porta Tessenaca also viewed

Gubbio, Province of Perugia
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
 
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
 
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante di Porta Tessenaca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing