We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food I've ever had. Ever.”

Hostaria Terra Chiama
Reserve with
Hostaria Terra Chiama is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 256 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 28
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We have visited this place two years running, and they have never failed to impress. The food is always delicious, and the service is always very friendly and helpful. Even my rather unpredictable daughter described the food as being "exquisite". :D It has a lovely atmosphere and interior as well, with lots of art books to flip through. They also sell local oil and wine, which make nice gifties for home. The staff, when it comes to these purchases, are very knowledgable and will ensure you pick the right item for the person you have in mind.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MorganLewisKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch after driving from Rome on a recommendation from the owner of the apartment. We were on a tight schedule and had only an hour to feed eight people. The owner said he would try and was very attentive to us even though he had other tables. The salad was bright, colorful, delicious with many varieties of vegetables and he added a local bacon at my request. The flavors popped in my mouth. My youngest daughter enjoyed her chicken and the others enjoyed their meal. A great local restaurant with fresh food and friendly owners.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Doghirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We liked the look of the menu and thought we should try it. A cold platter to share of meats and cheeses was served with pieces of bread like thicker softer pitta bread, taste. The Trebiano white wine was also good but the three cooked course a little disappointing. The waitress was cheery and efficient. The chicken was fried before adding tomatoes based sauce and still tasted dry. The rabbit was covered in crumb like kentucky fry but a bit nicer, set on salad leaves. The rabbit was also rather dry. The fungi pasta just a bit tasteless and we've tried a few fungi pasta on this trip, all much better, and indeed cheaper. All edible but not worth the star rating some have given it. Perhaps it is a bit pot luck as one reviewer suggested. There's better and more consistent to be had.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terra C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hostaria Terra Chiama, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear customers,
thank you for your timely write-up, which gives us the opportunity to clarify some things that seem basic to us.
Defining the chicken as "fried" before adding tomato sauce, it seems to be too insulting to the tradition of Italian cuisine that we promote: the chicken is first prepared in herbal sauce and seasonings to cook it best before adding tomato paste and mixing it.
The same applies to the rabbit, which undergoes a first cooking in the herb and seasoning pan, and then, at the time of ordering, is prepared with grated bread and egg to bake in the oven, thus avoiding the heavy frying oil.
Labeling the rabbit like the Kentucky fried meat made us smile, considering the care we put into preparing our dishes and it seems to us that we are the furthest thing from a fast food you can imagine.
You were the first customer to criticize these two dishes that, in their preparation, have a long and well-finished procedure.
When you define tasteless our fresh egg tagliatelle with porcini mushrooms and compare them with others, even cheaper, that you have tasted on the road, you might want to know that the porcino mushroom, whose scientific name is "boletus edulis", is one of the most delicious existing mushrooms, it has high costs, especially in this period of drought and hot climate; it is difficult to find it fresh and at a good price. We respect the tradition of Umbra cuisine, which is a simple kind of cuisine, designed to exalt each raw materials in the dish; for example, we do not add cream, seasoning creams or butter .
There are not many restaurants where you can appreciate this subtlety, and if you really want to make a comparison, you should first know what's in the dish. This is also true for many other products, such as the truffle, mentioned by you in other reviews as excellent: if you knew how that dish is cooked in some restaurants, you might change your mind.
We apologize, however, for failing to communicate such important things. You have come to dinner when the restaurant was full and sometimes it is not easy to devote the greatest care to the tables and give any explanation required. Anyway, around here, return empty dishes without having the common courtesy to make the same comments done in this write-up, is a sign that the dish has been appreciated.

Thank you,
Greetings
Hostaria Terra Chiama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Its been 2 weeks since our vacation and we are still talking about how great the food was in this small unpretentious restaurant. The owner -chef introduced himself to us, we had excellent personal service and the most exquisite, fresh and creative meal. I had truffle pasta that was a dream, the best ever! There is not a view of the valley, but the food more than makes up for it. We would go back tonight if we could.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank DocRam49092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Nice restaurant,very clean,lovely waitress and the menu looks great.I had a pasta dish with truffle flakes and my wife had a salad.The dish I had was a bit bland where the salad my wife chose was very good.Overall a mixed experience in a place that should have offered more.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stevemacBelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hostaria Terra Chiama also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Hostaria Terra Chiama? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing