We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
41
74
38
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
74
38
9
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We ate at the restaurant and it was the worst in 8 weeks of travelling through Europe. We went there because of the menu in the window. We didn't realise that we were the only table not part of a german tour group so were interrupted by the group leader. The veal we ordered was certainly not veal and was inedible. It was lucky that we had ordered french fries as that is all that we ate. They queried the not eaten meals and my husband then ordered chicken which was a much improved meal. I went home hungry but was even more disappointed when the menu stated 'no coperto' and still charged it. The rude waitress spoke loudly to her colleague about our unhappiness not realising that my husband had a reasonable understanding of Italian from spending most summer vacations here as a child. Keep away from this restaurant. I think they cater for tour groups which will never return.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank RelleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

The location of this family hotel is quite convenient, very close to Santa Clara church and 15 to minutes walk to San Francisco Basilica. There are several Alimentari around were it is possible to buy nice bread, cheese, ham, wine etc... We had dinner one night and the service was great!

The room was clean and spacious, not so much natural light and ventilation though, but it was ok. Breakfast could be a bit better (more fresh fruits instead of artificial juice for instance)

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor, not ground floor
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Natalia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

good localization, close to Church of Santa Chiara, close to the shopping stores. Close to restaurants and including, they have their own restaurant . the room are ok , but the bed is not so good. the matress is kind of hard.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Hotel Sole was located conveniently to such important sites as St. Clare, St. Francis Bassilica and many shops and restaurants. Also to piazzas where events took place.

Rooms were modest but clean, and well maintained. Breakfast included with room rate was plentiful.

Criticism for us was the seeming indifference of staff. Front desk seemed unoccupied often. And the staff in the breakfast room seemed to pay little attention to guests.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bartley H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

The hotel is on a great picturesque street and an easy 3/4 mile walk to the Duomo and a block from the Church of St. Clair. The rooms are very forgettable but comfortable (except for the pillows). A/C in room was very needed in August. The staff are kind. Parking is not close by - it is a hike up the hill to the public parking (12 euro for 24 hours)

Room Tip: Parking is not close by. Street noise is high on lower floors
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews