We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel in centre of Assisi - very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Pallotta Assisi
Ranked #12 of 141 Assisi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel in centre of Assisi - very good value”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The hotel is very central. We had a car but the hotel has some private parking spots a 5 minute walk away. You can drive near to the hotel in Piazza San Rufino, drop off your bags and then drive with one of the hotel staff to the car park. This arrangment worked well and was cheap at 5 euro/day. The room was good but hot in summer. The staff were very friendly. The free tea/coffee/water at tea-time from the breakfast room was a nice touch. We also ate in their restaurant (in the main square nearby) which was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrRedRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    94
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
90
139
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

First, location is ideal. Pallotta is 1 short block from the central square. It's reasonably quiet and close to bus and taxi stops.
Service is very good. Best to call ahead before you arrive though as it's not a 24 hour desk and there's not always someone here for check in.
When you arrive you receive a little pack of goodies - 2 bus passes, a free ticket to the town's 2 museums and the Rocca, an audio guide of the town to use during your stay, and a large book on the history and art of Assisi, to enjoy in your room while here . It's a lovely touch.
Bottled water is free and the breakfast room is a available for self made tea and coffee, and stocked with biscuits.
This is a very safe location. The whole town is safe, but Pallotta is close to the square so it's a nice short walk back to the room from most restaurants and bars. I stayed out until 1am last night and the walk back was tranquil and lovely.
Things to be prepare for: there is a flight of stone stairs to climb to get to the hotel from the road. Not too arduous, but it's best to be prepared.
No lift, but with only 2 floors it's not a big deal.
Breakfast is sparse - croissants and cakes mostly, with some tinned fruit, meanand cheese. They will make you a good coffee but if you're a real breakfast person you should be aware it's not a filling breakfast and you might need to factor in an early lunch or morning tea.
Rooms are a reasonable size (bigger than you get in the cities!) but the bathrooms are ... Rustic. No shower curtain, just a shower head in the corner near the toilet, meaning everything gets wet during a shower. Shower heads (at least the one in my room) are old and not in great working order. It's like showering under a hose, rather than a spray. No hair dryer. And the towel aren't towels but more like cloth (although they work brilliantly).
Also air con didn't work, but the portable fan does. Still, in 40C heat some cool air would have been wonderful.

Overall I still think it's q great little hotel in a great location with friendly service. If you're prepared for a rather basic room, you'll have a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali-May-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed for one night at La Pallotta at the beginning of June and would readily recommend staying at this hotel.

Our first floor room was neat and tidy with plenty of room to store our belongings. It faced the street but noise was never an issue. The bathroom was a generous size however there was no curtain or screen around the shower which meant that the bathroom facilities got soaked by the first person using the shower but there were extra hand towels that could be used to dry things off. We also encountered linen towels rather than the toweling ones we’re used to. Surprisingly, they were quite absorbent.

On the top floor there was a closed in small sitting room which gave views of the rooftops and countryside. If we had have been staying longer than one night it would have been a pleasant room in which to sit in and relax.

Breakfast was provided and there was plenty to choose from. It was also tasty! During our stay we could also help ourselves to the tea/coffee making facilities in this room.

Our host Stefano was very helpful and provided us with a map and information about Assisi plus an audio tour of the town and an Assisi card. He also gave us tickets so that we could catch the bus to the train station on our departure day.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time in Assisi and would recommend a stay at La Pallotta.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank four_maccas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I and my wife stayed at the Hotel Pallotta for two nights during our honeymoon. One of the hotel's owners came and greeted us as we walked down from the bus station and led us to the hotel to check in. We were given an Assisi "welcome package" including four free bus tickets, the "Assisi Card" - a discount program that many of the town's restaurants take part in, an audioguide, and a paper guidebook. The hotel is in the heart of downtown Assisi and is within walking distance of any of the town's attractions, including the town's main piazza, restaurants and bars.

The room we were provided was very clean with nice artwork and a very "old-world" feel. The bathroom was very cramped and we were surprised to find that the shower did not have a dedicated "stall" but instead was simply part of the bathroom with the water draining into the floor. This was fine for the two of us, but for a larger family things could have gotten interesting since the entire bathroom was wet at the end of our showers. This sort of thing is somewhat common in older hotels with limited floor space so we didn't hold it against them, but large groups or elderly travelers who like "creature comforts" should take note and request a room with a dedicated shower if available.

As several other reviewers noted, the location of the hotel and placement of the rooms means that it is NOISY at night from both birds and bar patrons. Light sleepers should either pack earplugs, sleep with the windows closed, or seek alternate accommodations. Stone echos, the whole town is made of it, and even a whisper in the street below carries into the rooms.

Breakfasts were excellent, with a very wide assortment of baked goods including some fantastic fruit tarts, croissants, cookies and breads The staff made espresso drinks to order, and complementary bottled water was available "to go."

We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant one of the evenings of our stay. I had the pigeon, and my wife had the spinach and ricotta ravioli; both meals were excellent. Hotel guests receive 10% off the bill.

Overall, I would absolutely recommend the Hotel Pallotta to travelers who are willing to deal with a few minor annoyances for a great location and excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for dedicated shower! All rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skybolt_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Stefano met us at the car, showed us where the hotel was (tucked away, no car access), and helped get us checked in (he seemed to be the only one who spoke English). The room was smaller than most but we weren't there to be in the room. Street noise traveled and the town was fairly loud most of the night. Took a toll on the sleeping (not the hotel's fault). The restaurant is not connected (short walk) but the food was excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms face a street and noise was loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50bdaycelebrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#4 of 71 in Assisi
451 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
724 reviews
0.4 km away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#5 of 71 in Assisi
555 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#26 of 71 in Assisi
303 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Pallotta Assisi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Pallotta Assisi

Property: Hotel Restaurant Pallotta Assisi
Address: Via San Rufino 6, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,065 - ₹ 5,678
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant Pallotta Assisi 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...in a medieval house in the heart of the city. A comfortable, welcoming room, the windows stretching up to the roofs of the old houses... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Pallotta Assisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing