We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
140
64
21
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
64
21
5
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful stay. The owner was so nice. The breakfast was perfect and the location is the best fir exploring beautiful Assisi. I recommend it to anyone wanting to come to Assisi. I wish we could have stayed even longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is a lovely hotel in the historic heart of Assisi easy walking distance to everything. Our host Vincenzo was kind and helpful. He arranged our reservations at the nearby restaurant run by his daughter. The food there was excellent and elegantly prepared. Our room at Lieto Soggiorno was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faroutman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My best friend and I booked hotel Alexander in Assisi last year via booking.com and a few days before our arrival we got a call from booking.com informing us that the hotel was overbooked and we can choose any other hotel we want in the same star and they will book for us at no additional cost even if the hotel we choose was more expensive. We did not want to spend our holiday checking emails and communicating with booking.com so we decided to thank them and book ourselves. We searched a few hotels and decided to Lietto Soggiorno (despite it being 2 stars) because of the great reviews we read.

We did not regret it. The hotel is a gem in Assisi. Very small but feels like home. The owner and probably his relative/daughter are running the hotel themselves. They are very friendly and make you feel like you've been invited to spend a holiday at a relative's place.

The location is excellent, St. Francesco Basilica is at the end of the street upwards (8 min walk) and Santa Clara is at the end of the street downwards! The hotel is central to all other attractions and little shops in the city. Breakfast is delicious and the owner sits and serves guests himself.
The double room was small but cozy and we did not have any problems placing our 2 suitcases in it. The bathroom is also small but you have a shower, toilet and sink. I dont remember if there was a bidet.

The only negative thing I found in the hotel was the lack of air condition in the rooms. If you go in the summer, it is quite hot and uncomfortable.

We are going to Assisi again end of October and I am booking in Lietto Soggiorno since the weather will not be hot any more!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salmamassoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This place is exactly what you would think of a Bed & Breakfast in Italy. The lay out of the property was unique and we really enjoyed the owner. He knew it was our honeymoon so he surprised us with some snacks and champagne. The location is in the middle of the city and a great spot to start from each day. We traveled during a very hot time throughout Italy so we made sure to get the room with A/C. Coming to a B&B like this is the true way to experience Italy so you need to be open minded about differences from a hotel in the US vs. a B&B run by a local in the heart of a medieval village. Over all Assisi was a highlight of our trip and this B&B is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel is in a perfect spot for exploring Assisi, as it is near the main piazza and since Assisi is entirely on a hill, it is half-way down to the basilica, and half-way up to other churches and sites at the east side. The "suite" is great - large and well-equipped, except for that quirky shower. Just be sure to use the bathroom for everything else first, then have at it with the shower! We were in Assisi during a heat wave so used the shower a lot...and there is no air conditioning in the room, but we got some relief (not enough during the day) from a fan. Assisi is like a pizza oven; the stone buildings and streets absorb the heat all day, then radiate it out at night!
The breakfast was not extensive - the only fruit was a basket of apples. But we weren't hungry anyways because of the heat. The service was fine, and we were brought a tray with cold drinks when we checked in.
One glitch: when we went to check out, we were told the credit card machine wasn't working. We'll never know why (or if), and it could have been a problem since we were heading to the train station. The lesson is to always carry enough euros to settle your bill in cash if necessary...

Room Tip: Ask for the "suite"!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophiagoestoItaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews