We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice people, hot room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lieto Soggiorno
Ranked #33 of 141 Assisi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel is in a perfect spot for exploring Assisi, as it is near the main piazza and since Assisi is entirely on a hill, it is half-way down to the basilica, and half-way up to other churches and sites at the east side. The "suite" is great - large and well-equipped, except for that quirky shower. Just be sure to use the bathroom for everything else first, then have at it with the shower! We were in Assisi during a heat wave so used the shower a lot...and there is no air conditioning in the room, but we got some relief (not enough during the day) from a fan. Assisi is like a pizza oven; the stone buildings and streets absorb the heat all day, then radiate it out at night!
The breakfast was not extensive - the only fruit was a basket of apples. But we weren't hungry anyways because of the heat. The service was fine, and we were brought a tray with cold drinks when we checked in.
One glitch: when we went to check out, we were told the credit card machine wasn't working. We'll never know why (or if), and it could have been a problem since we were heading to the train station. The lesson is to always carry enough euros to settle your bill in cash if necessary...

Room Tip: Ask for the "suite"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophiagoestoItaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had an amazing stay at the hotel. Vincenzo is absolutely the sweetest man we met in Italy. We got into Assisi very late on the night of our check-in (close to midnight) and he waiting up for us with a warm greeting. He upgraded our room to his charming suite to celebrate our honeymoon, and made sure everything was perfect for us. The room was beautiful and large, the breakfast was filling and tasty. We even ate at his daughter's restaurant a few blocks a way and had a delicious dinner there as well. We love the Hotel Lieto Soggiorno, Vincenzo, and Assisi!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite which is very large and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed at this lovely small hotel in November. Vincenzo, the owner, was very warm and welcoming. He speaks a little English and I speak very little Italian, but we communicated just fine none the less! He helped us unload our luggage and then rode with us to the parking lot a couple of minutes away. Assisi is not easy to navigate by car, so it was a relief to have him accompany us instead of just giving directions. On our walk back to the hotel he suggested a couple of restaurants and wine bars we passed along the way. We had our choice of two rooms when we arrived, both were small but very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The room we chose also had a daybed so we had a place to put our luggage, etc. The shower in the bathroom was small, but typical for Italy. We were served a satisfying breakfast each morning by Vincenzo. Assisi is a beautiful little town and the hotel is very centrally located. I highly recommend a visit to Assisi and a stay at the very lovely Hotel Lieto Soggiorno.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We were not driving, but traveling by train, so we had no concerns with parking. We arrived to a warm greeting, after which we were informed that we had a choice between a two room suite or the honeymoon suite with the arch over the bed. We chose the latter, and it was impressively comfortable. We were then brought complimentary water for all three in our party. Breakfast was personal with a good assortment of items. Being in the center of Assisi it was a bit of a walk from the bus stop, but well worth every step. We encountered some extraordinary difficulties with our reservations at our next destination after Assisi, and the Vincenzos when out of their way to try to help us resolve those concerns by making phone calls and other contacts on our behalf. We will without question be staying with the Vincenzos when we return to Assisi.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJfromRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

My college-aged son and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while on a 10 day road trip. The owner Vincenzo, his wife, and their darling little dachshund Carlotta, couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly. We had a nice room with twin beds and a lovely large bath with an enclosed shower. Breakfast was large and plentiful in comparison to the usual continental fare with meats and cheeses. The hotel is conveniently located in town and we had two lovely dinners at restaurants recommended by Vincenzo. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFgal_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#16 of 70 in Assisi
172 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Properzio
Hotel Properzio
#29 of 70 in Assisi
188 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 70 in Assisi
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#8 of 70 in Assisi
756 reviews
0.5 km away
La Rocca Hotel
La Rocca Hotel
#20 of 70 in Assisi
242 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#26 of 70 in Assisi
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lieto Soggiorno? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lieto Soggiorno

Address: Via Arnaldo Fortini 26, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range: ₹ 4,053 - ₹ 5,889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lieto Soggiorno 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical center near San Francesco cathedral and Santa Chiara church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lieto Soggiorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing