We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet Comfortable and Ideally Situated”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Siena, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
David T
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet Comfortable and Ideally Situated”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is set back from the road on a bumpy little track. There isn't much around it. If you keep really quiet and still, wildlife wanders through the garden in the evening including a family of wild boar, deer and lizards. There is also a firefly display when it gets dark.
The air conditioning is a great addition. We were the first to benefit from it and I can imagine the nights would have been rather sticky without it. The property manager Andrea was really helpful and speaks excellent English.
We had great weather and were able to sit in the sun and eat our meals outside on the very pleasant patio.
There are plenty of places to eat nearby. The gelateria in Rosia and San Marco de Pilli are highly recommended. There are nice little restaurants in Stigliano and Torri.
Siena is a 15 minute drive. There is a direct train from there to Firenze which is definitely the way to go. Parking at the station costs 2E for the day. That's also a very good place to park to go into Siena as there's an escalator link to near the city centre.
Most of the famous sights of Central and Southern Tuscany are less than an hour's drive. It would make a fabulous base for a cycling trip as the course of the Eroica is a few km away.
The only thing that could be better is the rural Italian electricity supply. There isn't much the owner can do about it. Too many appliances at once would overload the limited supply and trip the circuit breakers. You just have to be careful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
Thank you David! I am happy you enjoy your stay.
Private homes in Italy have assigned 3,3 kw/h. Very few have air conditioning which absorb quite a lot of power. Lets hope the government will soon change the regulations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H Martin...
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice location with Spartan (Zen) furnishings”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay in this cottage at the edge of the Messe Nature Preserve. While outside of towns, the two mountain villages within 3 or so km next to it both house very nice restaurants. The cottage is modern inside, yet architecturally in the regional idiom, with very high tile covered ceilings. Inside accommodations are on two floors: upstairs is essentially empty, except for the bed which is king size, with a mattress that gave us back aches and is very low off the ground. The well equipped bathroom is downstairs, over a staircase that is architecturally pretty, but may not be everybody's cup of tea to maneuver in the middle of the night. The kitchen is well equipped, but the sitting arrangements in the large living room space are a bit spartan again. An IKEA like plastic table clashes and like chairs clash with the Zen philosophy of the house. You definitely need a car, even to get to the adjacent villages, though those villages are on local, regional, and interregional hiking trails.A nightingale was singing through the night when we stayed there in May.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Dear Martin,
thank you for your stay at the cottage. You and your wife have been perfect guests. It will be a great pleasure for me to send you a picture of the new rounded table with a based of black granite column and a crystal top that will replace the Ikea table within August together with 4 lacquer black chairs. It was ordered a few weeks ago from a Roman furniture company.
I was thinking to add a lamp with night motion sensors for the stairs so that it might be less Indian Jones style :)
I wish my future guests of this summer will be like you and your wife.
All the best, Cristina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorand157
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Amazing location”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Cristina was a perfect hostess as she was easily accessible before our stay but left us in peace to enjoy our holuday. A car and a good map is essential but the property is well positioned to enable visits to neighbouring places such as Stagiliano and multiple picturesque and awe inspiring locations such as Sienna, San Gimigiano, Montelcino and Assisi. It was good to have a 'home' to return to at the end of the day and the resident pheasants were a delight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful setting
Liked least: No air con or upstairs toiletfacilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Hello Chris,
I am happy to write you that from June 1st we have air conditioning in the cottage. No worries about hot temperatures!
Have a nice summer.
Cristina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rog-it-Ro...
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable and relaxing too”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Zen Cottage provided a week of slower pace for us as we travelled around northern Italy. With a car it is within easy reach of Siena, Volterra and other smaller centres for sight-seeing. Rosia township very handy for grocery shopping. Torri village is very close and is worth a walk through.
The location is very peaceful and quiet and the facilities modern.
We felt the kitchen was quite good but was not fully supplied with utensils. A kettle for the stove-top would be handy as there is no electric kettle due to issues this would create fuses and with the power supply. Visitors should be aware there is no facility for washing clothes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
A brand new electrical kettle with the allowed Italian voltage is now available at the cottage.
We really would like to offer a washing machine to our guest, however there isn't in the cottage and it is not listed in the house facilities. A cheap automatic laundry shop is located in Rosia at 2 km far away. It is open 7 days a week. I hope this info will come on handy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 121
/
Night
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing