We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
133
173
69
19
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
173
69
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking saw deer hotel's property bedroom window pleasant walk leave the car internet service air conditioner spacious room decent breakfast close to the hotel reception area would definitely stay here again piazza del campo rented a car an easy walk visiting siena
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018

So the view was absolutely wonderful, you can enjoy the evening watching deer and drinking beer on the terrace. They also have a Jacuzzi there, but we were not interested, so I can't tell how it is.
We had a very spacious room, it wasn't a big deal, but it was fair enough. I just loved the Air Conditioner. The toiletries were surprisingly good - for the value.
The breakfast was the only thing that wasn't perfect for me. The place was full of wasps and there was very little food exposed - but this was bearable, only a couple of people was taking breakfast and if something finished they brought more - only one person did the job, and that's why it was kind of awkward to take the last piece of everything.
The location relative to the center is also a good point, it's a light walk to there.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ABreki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Looking through these reviews, I can't understand how people are complaining? Some people must never be happy because for the price - this hotel is absolutely beautiful. It takes max 20 minutes to walk into the centre of town and the walk is beautiful, seeing lots of iconic sights. The Hottub was amazing - and the views were incredible. We toured Florence, Siena and Rome - this was our cheapest hotel and by far the best. The staff are exceptionally friendly and kind and went out of their way o help us. Breakfast was fantastic, all fresh and a very friendly waitress. We would come back 100%. (Especially to see the little Siamese cat who was an absolute darling) thank you! Xx

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emily_Hayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portarom, Direttore at Porta Romana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Emily,
thanks for the very kind words and it has been a great pleasure to have you as guests, especially on your honeymoon.
We all hope to see you again here in Siena, maybe on your wedding anniversary.
A massive thank you from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

The reality didn’t match the website as our impression from the photo’s is of a boutique hotel with attractive bedding but our room was quite tired and shabby. Although the room was fairly spacious and adequate for a short stay, the bathroom arrangement was odd. The shower room was at one end of the room while the wash basin and toilet in a separate room at the other end with very little shelving to hold toiletries. The shower was filthy with black mould in the grouting of the tiles and thick encrusted hard water deposits and grime on the cubicle door both inside and out. On complaining the young man on reception kindly tried to clean it but didn’t have the right sort of cleaning materials to remove the embedded dirt. We were given a slight discount by another apologetic receptionist on leaving but the experience was far from pleasant. We were told that some other rooms are better so it might be worth enquiring before booking.

The internet service wouldn’t connect for us but on the plus side there is air conditioning and the bed was comfortable. The location is just outside the city walls and ideal for walking into the old town. The car parking is on site and safe and the views from there to the countryside are lovely. All the staff we met were very polite and attentive and we enjoyed the good choice of food for breakfast.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

We were in a little building with 2 apartments. Good scenery to the valley but very noisy. I heard the neighbors dog, the conversations and I could not sleep. The curtains of the bathroom windows were little, not enough, as it was the first stage there was not so much intimacy. The bathroom was short space to sit, when you sit you touch the shower with your knees... The worst, we saw antz in our room!
In the breakfast room there was a cat. Not hygienic...

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GlobeTrip78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portarom, Responsabile reception at Porta Romana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear GlobeTrip78,
as you may not be aware, but ants are normally attracted by food crumbs, which you left whilst eating in your room, so we cannot be blamed for some little ants being in your room. The cat was never in the breakfast room, but in the hall and that is a huge difference, keeping in mind that no animals have ever jumped onto the breakfast table or got close to where breakfast i served.
Lets not forget that we allowed you to leave your car in our car park after check-out time without asking you a single cent.
Ciao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

A beautiful pastoral view from the small patio table but just outside the city walls. Our room was tiny but clean (room Q) so you might request a bigger one, but the price was good and breakfast had many nice choices. They do charge for a second cup of coffee and we found the Internet to be inadequate and very slow. If you arrive by train, best to take a taxi to the hotel. We then rented a car and the drive to Montelcino was easy, as the hotel in on on SR2 road. If you plan to have a car, don't even think about parking or driving inside the walls,
. Hotel Porta Romano is an easy walk to El Campo and they have one parking spot for each room. We would stay there again.They recommended a fine restaurant a few blocks away called the Fori Porta which we greatly enjoyed.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NHwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews