We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd pick somewhere else If I could Do It Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Chiostro del Carmine
Ranked #26 of 121 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“I'd pick somewhere else If I could Do It Again”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a centrally located hotel in a historic building in Siena. We stayed for one night in March and if I were to return to Siena, I'd look for something more updated. The hotel is in an old convent, and many of the frescoes, etc. remain on the walls. But there was something very musty and unprofessional about the whole operation, and as a traveler that prefers the impersonal feel of a big-box hotel, I found our stay at Il Chiostro Del Carmine to be rather unsatisfying.

There is a very minimal reception operation, and there are some hoops to be jumped through while parking one's car, though the staff does provide you with a very helpful map, so the parking wasn't that much of a problem. I think it cost 15 Euros, may have been 20.

I wasn't a fan of our "deluxe" room. There wasn't very much "superior" about it- the bed was dressed in this old-fashioned style, with a fabric awning type situation (see photos attached to this review). The bed was comfortable enough, but the air / conditioning didn't work and there was very little light in the room, giving it a dated, musty feel. There was a terrace, though ours didn't have a view, like some other people's. I guess I just really didn't feel like this hotel was worth them money that it cost- that was really the long and short of it.

Rather bizarre was the brand-spanking-new disco-décor in the bathroom in contrast with the 18th century look of the room. What? That said the bathroom was brand new and squeaky clean and easily my favorite thing about this hotel room.

Breakfast was adequate, especially the coffee.

For the price, I would look to stay elsewhere the next time I visited Siena.

Room Tip: I suppose if you've got the kind of room with a terrace, you should ask for one that has a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neimanmarxist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    195
    94
    43
    19
See reviews for
86
310
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

What a wonderful place this is. An old monastery that has been converted to a hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and our view was amazing. We could see the Tuscan countryside for miles! The desk clerks Valeria and Dana could not have been more helpful! They booked day trips for us and helped us get advance tickets to Accademia in Florence. The breakfast is lovely each morning and they make you coffee or lattes to order. Beds were comfortable and the location is great. It is just a short walk to the square but far enough away to not have any noise. Wished I could have stayed longer here. A must if you are going to Italy. Oh, and the best thing? A beautiful courtyard with tables and chairs to enjoy a bottle of wine each night. Couldn't be better!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. If they have it, they will give it to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJFergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syracuse ny
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Although we only stayed in Siena for one night, this place was a wonderful choice. The staff are very friendly and accomodating. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast was great and in a well appointed room. Although there was no elevator, our driver called ahead, and the staff was immediately available to assist with our bags.The hotel is a short walk from the Town Center. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falcon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed in Il Chiostro Del Carmine in Siena for Valentine's Day during a week long trip to Italy. I can honestly say our room had the best view of the entire trip - absolutely stunning. Big double windows looking out onto the surrounding country side - could even watch the sunset.

Siena is a charming town with a much more laid back feel than the bigger cities we also visited on our trip. With that in mind this hotel fits the bill perfectly - maybe a little on the shabby chic / studenty side for some, but we thought it was lovely.

I would stress to those less abled that there didn't appear to be a lift, so that might be worth investigating further before booking.

When we checked out it did seem a bit hectic as several people were checking out at once. Apart from that the customer service from the staff we encountered was very good. Our request for a room with a view, as it was a special trip was most defiantly met.

I’d love to return in the summer and appreciate more of Il Chiostro and Siena.

Room Tip: Room 19 a deluxe double has amazing views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here for four nights and it is a wonderful place with very pleasant and accommodating staff. Our twin room was of good size and so was the bathroom. Breakfast is plentiful and again the staff does its job with a smile. The views from the breakfast room are splendid. Hotel is a few minutes walk from everywhere and is close to some very good eating places.
We had a very good stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atmktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,179 reviews
0.1 km away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,401 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,221 reviews
1.9 km away
Borgo Grondaie
Borgo Grondaie
#4 of 121 in Siena
656 reviews
0.8 km away
Bed and Breakfast Pantaneto Palazzo Bulgarini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Chiostro del Carmine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro del Carmine

Property: Il Chiostro del Carmine
Address: Via della Diana 4, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,127 - ₹ 12,469
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Chiostro del Carmine 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Chiostro del Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Del Carmine Residence Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing