We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Borgo Grondaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Borgo Grondaie
Ranked #4 of 123 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed in one of the studio apartments for one night and it was perfect. Great wi if reception and a nice breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a good value low key place to stay. I wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    145
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
167
300
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed two nights at the Borgo Grondaie at the end of June, 2012 with our two young kids, aged 3 and 5. We stayed in the Terrazza 2 appartment. Although this was not a cheap stay it was fairly competitive compared to the other places we had stayed at during our Italian vacation.
The pros:
Very relaxing environment, especially around the pool, which was chilly by the way, with a beautiful view of Siena over the hill.
Great hotel staff always willing to help and answer any questions you may have.
As we had our own kitchen, we made ourselves breakfast and we did eat dinner one night on our balcony/terrasse which we just loved. It was very quiet even though other travellers were having a drink on their balcony right next to ours. The view from the terrasse is fantastic and spending hours sipping a drink or relaxing in the two long chairs is very easy to do!
The hotel is a good walk to the historic centre of Sienna and travelling with young kids we did use taxis to get back and forth and it was well worth the 10 or 12 euros each way.
The apartment was impeccable when we arrived. The bathroom was comprised of a nice size bath and a big rain shower with plenty of water pressure.
The bed in the master bedroom is a king size bed with a very decent mattress and comfortable pillows. There were 2 AC units in the apartment and both worked very well. The sofa bed is perfect for children but I would not recommend it for adults as it might be a little too soft.
I could not find anything bad enough to mention it in this review as our stay was just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I enjoyed two weeks in this hotel. All the staff were universally friendly and helpful. The hotel is a beautiful oasis on the edge of town.
It would be nice if the internet was available beyond the reception area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The last leg of our Italian trip was in Siena and we stayed at the Siena Borgo Grondaie. It is a very quaint bed and breakfast with a country feel. The grounds are beautiful. Our room was spacious enough but since the hotel is close to the train station, in the morning you could hear humming and whistles, but was quickly overshadowed by all the birds chirping. A little noisy. We spent a day biking from the hotel to the city of old Siena. We used the Siena Walking Tour suggested by the hotel - in the info binder in the room with a lot of good information. Hint: if you do this, ask the hotel about using the escalator to take you into the city and avoid walking or biking uphill. Biking back to the hotel was a breeze - all downhill. Also suggestion: the front desk closes at 11pm. So, best to take your room key should you go out in the evening in case you are out later than 11pm.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaD41181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire, england
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Although the approach to the hotel is uninspiring, around the rear of a large supermarket, the hotel and grounds are very attractive and we were warmly welcomed. Information is readily offered and the staff are very helpful and attentive. Our accommodation was in the two bedroomed villa which was very well equipped and clean, unfortunately the mixed weather did not allow us to take full advantage of the very pleasant, private terrace. The location is very convenient, however the railway station, whilst not visually intrusive, generates some noise. Siena is a lovely city and an excellent centre from which to explore the region.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rover044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.8 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,254 reviews
1.8 km away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.7 km away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#10 of 40 in Siena
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
662 reviews
0.7 km away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#13 of 40 in Siena
419 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Grondaie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Grondaie

Property: Borgo Grondaie
Address: Strada delle Grondaie 15, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,398 - ₹ 13,438
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Grondaie 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena is a country house with rooms and apartments in the heart of Tuscany just 2 km away from Siena center and 1 km away from the train station. Maintaining it's rural and rustic setting, Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena offers guests the possibility to choose between accomodation in hotel rooms or apartments with self catering solution, both furnished in authentic rustic country Tuscan style and with all modern comforts included free wifi and free parking. Guests of apartment could choose for daily breakfast and cleaning for a small extra. The 4 acres that surround Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena and the outdoor salt water swimming pool will make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to travel in winter time, you can relax in front of the lobby fireplace tasting our selection of Italian wines. The strategic location of Hotel Borgo Grondaie Siena allows you to easily explore some of the most famous places in Tuscany as San Gimignano, Volterra, Cortona, Montalcino and Montepulciano and become fond of Siena, the Palio town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borgo Grondaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Grondaie Siena
Borgo Grondaie Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing