We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outskirts of town - hard to find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sangallo Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2011

This hotel is on the outskirts of Siena, and a car is necessary. It is not the easiest place to find without a GPS - we got lost several times. The room was large, comfortable and clean, and had a wonderful view of the city of Siena. Staff were helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was the best of our trip. It was too early in the season for the pool to be operational, but it looked like a good location for an extended stay in the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2islandhoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANGALLO PARK H... S, Lo Staff at Sangallo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear Guest,
we thank you for choosing our hotel in the past. We are glad to inform you that we have refitted a good part of our rooms, now even more comfortable.
We hope to be able to host you again in the future,
kindest regards,
the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 192 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2010

If you plan on visiting Siena and staying at this hotel, you will need a car. You cannot walk to Siena center from this hotel; it would be a 1hour walk, uphill.

If you do have a car, this is a fantastic choice. It is on a small hill with its own olive grove and has fantastic views of Siena, which is a 5 to 7 minute drive away.

The hotel has free parking, nice clean and functional rooms and an awesome pool.
After days spent sightseeing and before going out to dinner, it was very relaxing to spend the late afternoons relaxing by the pool with its fantastic views. Breakfast was basic but good and there is a computer with internet access for a fee in the lobby. The bath towels were linen; nothing wrong with them, just not used to it.

The staff was polite but aloof, and there is no restaurant on site. There are many fantastic restaurants about a 3 minute drive from the hotel, in the direction opposite Siena.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stinz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANGALLO PARK H... S, Lo Staff at Sangallo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear Sir,
we are glad to inform you that we have refitted a good part of our rooms (mattresses too!) in order to offer the best service to our clients. Following many suggestions we have now fluffy terry cloth towels and free WiFi in the whole property.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards,
the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

During a 2 and half week stay in Italy, this hotel was by far the worst. The people at the front desk were rude and unhelpful. All of them. I almost felt like we were burdening them to do their job.

This is far from Siena city center - NOT WALKABLE. Even if the distance doesn't sound like a lot, the walk is absolutely not pedestrian friendly, there are many points that you have to walk on the very busy road bc there are no sidewalks. That's true to for the train station as well (even though they say it's 10 min walk to the station, it's a solid 25). Public transit is not easy in Siena like the rest of Italy. The bus to the city center stops running at 8pm and the time between buses is longer than desired. Don't even think about staying here if you are only here to see Siena. You'll waste so much time in transportation. Even if you have a car, I can't imagine why you would want to drive into Siena to experience it. If you're using Siena as a jumping off point for the rest of Tuscany, find a place with better views and food and nicer people. Tuscany is SO charming and this place does nothing to capture it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharm08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANGALLO PARK H... S, Lo Staff at Sangallo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Dear Client,
we are sorry that your stay with us was not appreciated. There is no excuse for a rude, unhelpful attitude, so we can only apologie and assure you that no such a behaviour is accepted.
We have just redone a good number of our rooms: we would be glad to welcome you in one of our new Superior rooms, very comfortable, in case you plan a new visit to this area of Tuscany.
Driving to Siena takes only 10 minutes and there are now also night buses, the last one at 11:15pm from town.
Kind regards,
the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Clean, friendly and modern. WiFi in room for minimal charge. Very friendly and helpful staff. Short walk to the bus into town, which I knew we would need to use as I mapped out the route prior to rental. The beds are a bit hard, however, that is the norm in Italy overall. Breakfast was very good. This is the only place I have found that made good scrambled eggs, as it is not a normal breakfast dish for Italians. The towels are different from any other place I've stayed, but usable and not as bad as others have complained. I would remind others that this hotel is not in the United States, so it should be expected that the experience will be different than what they are use to.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JordansGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANGALLO PARK H... S, Lo Staff at Sangallo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear Sir,
we are glad to inform you that we have refitted a good part of our rooms (mattresses too!) in order to offer the best service to our clients. Following many suggestions we have now fluffy terry cloth towels and free WiFi in the whole property.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards,
the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

The hotel sits on top of a hill and overlooks a lot of Siena. It helps to have a car because it is out of the city. There is bus service, but it only runs until probably 8 pm. There is one very good family restaurant -- good pasta and pizza within about a 10 minute walk (closed Monday).

The staff is very nice and helpful. There is free parking and a good continental breakfast that includes cold meat and cheese. A hotel computer with high speed internet is available for a charge. I didn't inquire about wireless.

Wine country is not too far and there are tours available that the front desk can arrange. It was probably less than a half hours drive to Castellina di Chianti and to San Gimignano. Florence is probably a little more than an hour's drive. Because it is out of the city, it is a easier to get in and out of and is a good base for exploring the region. There is a nice pool and an outside patio and it is set in an olive grove.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thumper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANGALLO PARK H... S, Lo Staff at Sangallo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear Sir,
we are pleased to inform you that we have refurbished many of our rooms in order to offer the best comfort to our customers. Following our guests suggestions that we now have fluffy terry towels and free WiFi throughout the property.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards,
the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
3.1 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,340 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
2,147 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
766 reviews
4.4 km away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
680 reviews
1.7 km away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#14 of 40 in Siena
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangallo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangallo Park Hotel

Address: Strada di Vico Alto 2, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Siena
Price Range: ₹ 4,168 - ₹ 7,945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sangallo Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sangallo Park Hotel is one of the most welcoming and modern hotel in Siena. The hotel, surrounded by a large park, is situated on the Vico Alto's hill, on the outskirts of Siena. The hotel offers a comfortable and hospitable environment, allowing you to relax in the garden, have breakfast on the veranda immersed in the green of olive trees, or swim in the refreshing waters of the pool. The hotel offers free private parking and a panoramic swimming pool, surrounded by manicured lawns and flowers. Buses and taxis connect the Sangallo Park Hotel to Siena's old town and to the train station. The hotel is in a strategic position as it is easily accessible from the highway Palio Siena - Florence. The hotel is the ideal starting point to discover the Tuscan countryside and the Province of Siena, which is the richest in UNESCO sites in Italy (the list of recognized World Heritage), with the historical towns of San Gimignano, Pienza, Siena and the beautiful Val d'Orcia. Animals not accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sangallo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangallo Park Siena
Hotel Sangallo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing