We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

Ristorante San Domenico
Ranked #62 of 584 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 17 - US$ 34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Having read some good reviews we sought out this restaurant. When we got there it was empty but luckily we decided to give it a go.
The waiter was so friendly and welcoming, made excellent recommendations and didn’t laugh at my Italian!
The food was delicious - I had the ribollita and a very dramatic-looking skewer with a lovely bottle of Chianti.
I can’t recommend this place enough! Great view too.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2017

We were here on a Monday night and this place was empty. Which is concerning a bit when you show up to a highly rated restaurant but we decided to stay and are so glad we did! The manager waited on us and we had Pappaderelle with wild boar sauce, ravioli with rabbit sauce and grilled vegetables with a pork entrée. All of the food was excellent causing us to wonder why it was so empty. My husband ordered a grappa and while we were enjoying the night time view of the churches the manager had sat to eat (and no one else was there) so we struck up a conversation (asking him why it was so empty and he said that's normal for Mondays in late October but that in July-September they are packed). What a lovely man! We chatted for quite a while heralding the food and as a thank you he provided a couple other digestivos (which were very good). Sweet guy and great restaurant. Definitely go there if you're in Siena!!!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SheilaH19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Happy to find this place for a late lunch. I ordered pasta with fresh tomato sauce which hit the spot perfectly. My other half enjoyed the Wild Boar Stew. The service was friendly and the view from our outside table was splendid

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We came across this restaurent great views of the old city in a relaxing quaint area. We had a good welcome from Rio and very attentive service very polite great food fantastic calzone pizza. The pasta looked great would of liked to have been in Sienna longer would return. Thank you Rio from three happy guests and thanks for the coffee very kind. All the best.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank henrydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We ate here two nights while in Siena; on both occasions the food was wonderful, the service was great, and the outside tables have great views of Siena. The wine list is good and our waiter was well informed about it and the menu. The food presentations were attractive. The menu also has pizzas so a meal here isn't necessarily expensive. The leading negative review is mostly a complaint that San Domenico is non-smoking--we're not militant nonsmokers but we ordered a Brunello both nights and it was nice to enjoy it without cigarette smoke.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jrb600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante San Domenico also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante San Domenico? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing