We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,778)
Filter reviews
3,778 results
Traveller rating
2,198
1,163
294
67
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,198
1,163
294
67
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace barfree parkinggreat hotelinside the city wallsdeluxe roomeconomy roomtuscan countrysidefront desk staffhotel restaurantpiazza del campowithin the wallsminute walkbeautiful viewold cityloved this hotelbottle of winetop floor
Filter
Updating list...
513 - 518 of 3,778 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Ok so I will give the view from room 802 a 10. it overlooks what we all probably picture a Tuscan hill side to look like (except for what looks like a squatters tent). aside from that. BEAUTIFUL. No balcony but frankly I haven't seen lots of those. However, and a big however, we paid extra for this room and all I've heard is constant BANGING noises, are we above a laundry or something? I don't know, but I wouldn't come back. The mini bar is just water and a couple of juices, the water is nice after walking all day. The staff was super nice, not that helpful when we asked about a restaurant that's closed today (SUnday) you'd think she'd help with another suggestion but she was rather useless and left us walk away confused. So, all in all great view but I wouldn't recommend. Getting breakfast was in a packed room with a thousand senior citizens with the food on one side and impossible to walk around. It just hasn't been relaxing at all. Sorry Athena, I'd have to say keep looking for the money.

Room Tip: Be warned if you pay extra for the view, you may get endless banging noises too
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Dear Nicole,
thank you for your feedback, but your report sounds very odd to us. The room given to you is one of the best: located on the top floor, very spacious (25 sqm) with an amazing bathroom and a magnificient view over the Tuscany hills. An unexceptionable room. It is the first time someone reports banging noises and the laundry is located on the basement. We would like to underline that the minibar is complimentary and that when the hotel is full, as during your stay, there is also another breakfast room open for guests, in order to avoid the crowd.
We wish a good trip back home,
Regards,
Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

While we were in Siena we needed a place to stay - unfortunately as with many places in Italy it was not simple to find a place simply by searching online. As simple Americans, and being typically flummoxed by anything that is not a major chain, this is a huge stumbling block.

This is further complicated because many of the places that do have an online would not respond - so the list is considerably narrowed. One of those that did respond was the Hotel Athena. Luckily, they are also one that seemed to work well. While not terribly convenient to the train station, they are well located to both the Piazza del Campo and the Duomo (Cathedral), which is perfect for many - and a quick, while somewhat harrowing, cab ride through the streets was sufficient to get us back to the train in the morning for a ride to our next destination.

While at the hotel, the staff was very friendly, and a serviceable breakfast in the morning was included. The room we had also had a balcony that could see the Duomo in one direction and the hills in the other, which was pleasant. The internet did not work reliably, but it wasn't a huge issue for us, just keep that in mind if it is for you.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jayseae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Dear jayseae,
thank you for reporting your positive experience at the Athena hotel! We are glad you found us among the other hotels in Siena and that you enjoyed your time with us! Your words are also so valuable because you are an expert reviewer!
We really hope you could come to visit us again!
Regards,
Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We stayed here for 2 night in May 2016.

Pro's
Good location, amazing views from the roof terrace (perhaps the best view in Siena! drinks/cocktails here are also reasonably priced), parking facilities (although underground parking is very tight), modern rooms and reception area, very helpful/friendly staff, clean rooms. Hotels in Tuscany tend to be a little dated in terms of interior decor (Grandma's bedroom etc), this hotel is very modern inside and was a welcome change on our tour of Tuscany. The bed was very comfortable, we had an amazing night's sleep here.

Con's
The room smelt slightly damp, but cleared as soon as you put the air conditioning on, or opened the window, so not a big deal. Breakfast was average, not brilliant. I'm amazed some people are saying it'd the best they have had in Italy? Perfectly, fine, but just some bread, fruit, cheese and ham? These are only minor issues, nothing to stop me staying here again. Wifi was intermittent, more of an issue for business users (if businesses visit Siena?) lots of people mentioning this on here, what is being done to improve the signal?

It's good to see the hotel responding to comments from reviewers - that is the sign of a good hotel.

A minor point - when I paid the bill on checking out the room rate for each night was slightly different (despite staying in the same room). I queried this but wasn't really given a good explanation.

Overall, this hotel is excellent, I would stay here again. Worth paying a bit extra for anything but the economy room. As an aside, Siena is the best place we visited in Tuscany!

Room Tip: Avoid economy room if you can
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angry_Badger_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

Dear Badget_Boy,
thank you very much for your long and detailed review and for enjoying your stay in Siena so much! The guest's feedback is very important to us, that is reason why we took in high consideration the minor problems you experienced.
As regards the wi-fi signal, it is an issue which concerns the whole city of Siena, because of its medieval plan and the lines are very old. However we are currently contracting for an improvement of the line and this will involve also some road-works. Apart this, the wi-fi sufficiently works for a standard web surfing.
We apologize if the colleague at the reception desk was not able to explain you what is the meaning of working with dynamic rates: the rates change accordigly to the general availability and each day are different, when you booked the room you saw only the total amount and not the partials, if the hotel is almost fully booked the rates will be very high for that particular day.
We hope our explanations were sufficient for you and in any case you can freely ask the next time you come at the Hotel Athena!
Regards,
Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We stayed here during a motorcycle tour of Italy. Underground parking was secure and location is good and not difficult to find. An easy walk through the historic town for those able to walk up inclined streets. Some good restaurants are nearby. The hotel is clean, staff are friendly, breakfast was good, and value is excellent. 4.5 star from me if I could choose that ranking.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KenG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

Dear KenG001,
it is a pleasure learning that our location is perfect also for a motorcycle tour stop throughout Italy! Indeed, Siena is a bridging point and intersection in the centre of Italy and an excellent starting point to visit Tuscany and other nearby areas. We thank you for your real ranking of 4.5 and we hope you could ride your motorbike again to the Hotel Athena!
Regards,
Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We spent three nights at the Athena and it was a comfortable, convenient location for us. Located just inside the city walls, we we're able to access the town easily. Our bus was able to pick us up right at the door as well. Rooms are rather small but well-equipped, especially the bathrooms. Service was pleasant and breakfast was satisfactory. Coffee machines did not produce a good product and staff does not make individual coffees for guests. They place a rather threatening sign on each breakfast table letting us know we are not to take food out of the room. It is a shame some people load up bags of breakfast food. I would like to have an apple for later and not feel like a thief for taking one.

Room Tip: Try for a view of the valley
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Dear Jill070,
thank you for appreciating your stay with us and the perfect location of our hotel!
We would like to remark that our waiters are glad to serve a "home-made" coffee or cappuccino at the table, you just need to ask for it and it is free of charge.
We hope you could come back soon and have a chance to book a beautiful deluxe or executive room to enjoy the magnificient view! Moreover there is also a special deal now to book these rooms at a very convienient price!
Regards,
Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews