We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel.......”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South of England
Level Contributor
310 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good hotel.......”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Good hotel with a central location. Parking was free as was the wifi with our booking (if this does not come free with your booking it can be quite expensive). Breakfast was disappointing and not what we would expect from a 4 star hotel. The room we had on the 5th floor was clean and adequate although we did have to ask for the electric sockets to be fixed so we could use them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southofenglandfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Guest

A very special thanks for leave your review on Tripadvisor.com from all the Hotel Staff, which is actually very proud for your so beautiful words.

We’re so sorry to read that the breakfast wasn’t as your expectation and, as your opinion is really important for us, we’ve already spoken to the chef to increase the already fresh and rich breakfast buffet.

We are sure that for your next stay at our hotel you will find any kind of service you’ll require, always characterized by the efficiency, beauty and elegance that sets us apart.

The Athena hotel is continually improving the quality of his services and is trying always to increase our customer satisfaction.

Kindest Regards

Ronny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,816
    1,012
    252
    56
    46
See reviews for
565
1,862
72
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Port, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Really enjoyed staying in this hotel during our recent trip to Italy. Location is great, staff is great, rooms were large enough and clean. Breakfast buffet was very nice--great assortment of fresh, local foods. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Let us say thank you personally for leaving your review that it makes us realize something very important:

The most important factor is not the service we offer to customers in our beautiful hotels but the quality of the relationship we create with our guests.

Because first of all they are guests and later customers.
Your contribution helps us to know that choosing Hotel Athena is not only a choice of quality in services, but also efficiency, convenience and professionalism.

Let us say thank you once again to leave your review about your stay and we are waiting for your next trip to Tuscany that for sure it will start from Siena and from Hotel Athena.


Kindest Regards

Ronny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Not a bad place, mind you...

The good: the location (especially if you are driving), nestled right by the wall and yet not so far in that you need to deal with the complications of the ZTL (Zona Traffico Limitado) traffic limited areas. It was also fairly recently renovated, at least the area we stayed... it was spotlessly clean as well. Lastly, the front desk clerk 'Andrea' (a gentleman) was exceptional. His travel advice was superb.

The bad: Breakfast was abominable (do yourself a favor and skip it...no one should put there lower GI tract thru the rigors and horrors of runny, powdered eggs, rubbery bacon and other gooey, unidentified foodstuffs). Also, as far as dinner, the restaurant was terribly overpriced and had the ambiance of a bad hospital. Don't eat there.

The Ugly: I just found the fact that they had no loaner US outlets annoying, we had to find a place in town and buy one. No other hotel in Italy did this. Also, the bartenders and service personnel had a rather annoying habit of forgetting about drink orders.. We were told to wait on the rooftop patio for a drink they were sending up, and they forgot us twice.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of 2 unfortunate things: 1) a brick wall and 2) parking lot. We tried to move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpkinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest…

First of all we want to thank you to spend a part of your time leaving a review on Tripadvisor concerning your experience at hotel Athena.
We are so glad to understand that you enjoyed our hotel for his position inside the city walls and for his furniture which are elegant, warm and recently renovated.
Andrea, the front desk clerk thanks you personally for the appreciations you addressed to him.
At the same time we’re very unhappy to read that you hadn’t grasp the freshness and the quality of our breakfast buffet which is made with fresh home made products every morning. The Chef Roberto prepares personally the cakes and confectionery everyday giving to the guests the possibility to choose also free animal fats products made with Tuscan olive oil.
The buffet is served in two rooms which are typical and cozy as all the common areas of the hotel. Probably the waiting time during the breakfast’s main hours is due to give the time to the Chef to refill the buffet maintaining the fresh quality of our products.
Even about the restaurant we’d like to inform you that all our dishes are typical, fresh and homemade, if your perception had been overpriced we should consider it based on the quality of the food you ate.
About the informative materials we’d like to underline that we don’t have any outlets to give to our guests but we do have a highly professional concierge staff which can give to our guests all the information they need, and more we are really few steps away from the main tourist office.
Let us say you thanks once again to help us to improve our services and for your next stay at the hotel we are absolutely sure you’ll enjoy the attention to the details we have in everything we do.

Best Regards
Ronny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in Hotel Athena in April 2012. The hotel and rooms are very clean. Reception staff were friendly and very helpful.

There is no free wifi although there are 3 computer terminals in the main reception you can use. Also there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the room which we found odd.

Be careful when choosing your room - ours faced the front at street level so bit difficult to open windows and as a result the room was stiffling.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stardie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Sir,

A very special thanks for leave your review on Tripadvisor.com from all the Hotel Staff, which is actually very proud for your so beautiful words.

We thank you once again to underlined that we give to all the guests the possibility to use internet free of charge in the 3 hot spot in the lobby.

I’d like to inform you that we do have coffee and tea making facilities in superior and deluxe rooms at the disposal of all our guests, if you didn’t find it in your room is just because you booked a double standard room, which are, however, clean, comfortable and finely furnished.

Even about the view I need to point up that the standard rooms are located on the lowers floors of the hotel in spite of the superior and deluxe rooms which are located on the upper floors with view or balcony.

We are sure that for your next stay at our hotel you will find any kind of service you’ll require, always characterized by the efficiency, beauty and elegance that sets us apart.

The Athena hotel is continually improving the quality of his services and is trying always to increase our customer satisfaction.


Waiting to host you soon in the future.

Kindest regards
Ronny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel Athena proved to be what I expected. A safe, clean, modern hotel convient to the areas we wanted to visit while in Siena. I found the rooms very clean with their bathrooms the largest most modern of all the hotels we stayed at while in Italy. My wife even liked their hair dryer. We upgraded to a room with a view, well worth the extra 25 Euros, and we slept with the windows wide open overlooking the Tuscany hillsides. The hotel staff were extremely helpful quickly responding to all of our requests. It might be a little sterile for some but for our stay I found it very nice

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. Well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 km away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,401 reviews
1.5 km away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
651 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.7 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,021 reviews
3.1 km away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,989 - ₹ 21,863
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing