We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Athena
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Claudia(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,621)
Filter reviews
3,621 results
Traveller rating
2,088
1,124
288
66
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,088
1,124
288
66
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace barfree parkinginside the city wallsdeluxe roomeconomy roomtuscan countrysidefront desk staffhotel restaurantpiazza del campowithin the wallsminute walkbeautiful viewthe hotel staffold citylovely hotelloved this hotelbottle of wine
Filter
Updating list...
1,444 - 1,449 of 3,621 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Really enjoyed staying in this hotel during our recent trip to Italy. Location is great, staff is great, rooms were large enough and clean. Breakfast buffet was very nice--great assortment of fresh, local foods. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Let us say thank you personally for leaving your review that it makes us realize something very important:

The most important factor is not the service we offer to customers in our beautiful hotels but the quality of the relationship we create with our guests.

Because first of all they are guests and later customers.
Your contribution helps us to know that choosing Hotel Athena is not only a choice of quality in services, but also efficiency, convenience and professionalism.

Let us say thank you once again to leave your review about your stay and we are waiting for your next trip to Tuscany that for sure it will start from Siena and from Hotel Athena.


Kindest Regards

Ronny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Not a bad place, mind you...

The good: the location (especially if you are driving), nestled right by the wall and yet not so far in that you need to deal with the complications of the ZTL (Zona Traffico Limitado) traffic limited areas. It was also fairly recently renovated, at least the area we stayed... it was spotlessly clean as well. Lastly, the front desk clerk 'Andrea' (a gentleman) was exceptional. His travel advice was superb.

The bad: Breakfast was abominable (do yourself a favor and skip it...no one should put there lower GI tract thru the rigors and horrors of runny, powdered eggs, rubbery bacon and other gooey, unidentified foodstuffs). Also, as far as dinner, the restaurant was terribly overpriced and had the ambiance of a bad hospital. Don't eat there.

The Ugly: I just found the fact that they had no loaner US outlets annoying, we had to find a place in town and buy one. No other hotel in Italy did this. Also, the bartenders and service personnel had a rather annoying habit of forgetting about drink orders.. We were told to wait on the rooftop patio for a drink they were sending up, and they forgot us twice.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of 2 unfortunate things: 1) a brick wall and 2) parking lot. We tried to move, but no other rooms were avail that would accommodate our foursome. Choose wisely.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpkinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Guest…

First of all we want to thank you to spend a part of your time leaving a review on Tripadvisor concerning your experience at hotel Athena.
We are so glad to understand that you enjoyed our hotel for his position inside the city walls and for his furniture which are elegant, warm and recently renovated.
Andrea, the front desk clerk thanks you personally for the appreciations you addressed to him.
At the same time we’re very unhappy to read that you hadn’t grasp the freshness and the quality of our breakfast buffet which is made with fresh home made products every morning. The Chef Roberto prepares personally the cakes and confectionery everyday giving to the guests the possibility to choose also free animal fats products made with Tuscan olive oil.
The buffet is served in two rooms which are typical and cozy as all the common areas of the hotel. Probably the waiting time during the breakfast’s main hours is due to give the time to the Chef to refill the buffet maintaining the fresh quality of our products.
Even about the restaurant we’d like to inform you that all our dishes are typical, fresh and homemade, if your perception had been overpriced we should consider it based on the quality of the food you ate.
About the informative materials we’d like to underline that we don’t have any outlets to give to our guests but we do have a highly professional concierge staff which can give to our guests all the information they need, and more we are really few steps away from the main tourist office.
Let us say you thanks once again to help us to improve our services and for your next stay at the hotel we are absolutely sure you’ll enjoy the attention to the details we have in everything we do.

Best Regards
Ronny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in Hotel Athena in April 2012. The hotel and rooms are very clean. Reception staff were friendly and very helpful.

There is no free wifi although there are 3 computer terminals in the main reception you can use. Also there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the room which we found odd.

Be careful when choosing your room - ours faced the front at street level so bit difficult to open windows and as a result the room was stiffling.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Stardie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Sir,

A very special thanks for leave your review on Tripadvisor.com from all the Hotel Staff, which is actually very proud for your so beautiful words.

We thank you once again to underlined that we give to all the guests the possibility to use internet free of charge in the 3 hot spot in the lobby.

I’d like to inform you that we do have coffee and tea making facilities in superior and deluxe rooms at the disposal of all our guests, if you didn’t find it in your room is just because you booked a double standard room, which are, however, clean, comfortable and finely furnished.

Even about the view I need to point up that the standard rooms are located on the lowers floors of the hotel in spite of the superior and deluxe rooms which are located on the upper floors with view or balcony.

We are sure that for your next stay at our hotel you will find any kind of service you’ll require, always characterized by the efficiency, beauty and elegance that sets us apart.

The Athena hotel is continually improving the quality of his services and is trying always to increase our customer satisfaction.


Waiting to host you soon in the future.

Kindest regards
Ronny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel Athena proved to be what I expected. A safe, clean, modern hotel convient to the areas we wanted to visit while in Siena. I found the rooms very clean with their bathrooms the largest most modern of all the hotels we stayed at while in Italy. My wife even liked their hair dryer. We upgraded to a room with a view, well worth the extra 25 Euros, and we slept with the windows wide open overlooking the Tuscany hillsides. The hotel staff were extremely helpful quickly responding to all of our requests. It might be a little sterile for some but for our stay I found it very nice

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. Well worth the cost.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at the Athena with 2 small children over Easter and were generally very happy with our choice. The hotel is 15 minutes walk from the main square, with several restaurants within 10 minutes walk. The room was large, clean and comfortable and the free parking is a big plus.

Breakfast was ok - bread, cheese, salami, cereals, etc. The usual buffet. The fruit juice tasted rather synthetic though.

The room wasn't cheap, and there was an additional charge if you wanted to use Wi-Fi, which I thought was a bit of a cheek. Having said that, I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramses2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for leaving a review of Hotel Athena, we are continually trying to improve our services and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Regarding the rooms, We are delighted to read words like yours because the hotel is always trying to make the rooms more comfortable, for that reason every year on February we proceed to renovate the rooms and the common areas.

We thank you to leave your comment also regarding the breakfast which is rich, delicious ad full of fresh products. We’ve already spoken to the Chef Roberto and We’ve already provided to improve the buffet with a fresher and more savory fruit juice.

For your next stay at hotel Athena we are sure you’ll find a definitely better rate just because you stayed with us for Easter, during which days the rate is a bit higher than other periods

We’re so happy to read words like yours and We’d like to point up about the internet connection that We give to all our guests the possibility to use 3 internet hot spot in the lobby free of charge and, as you underlined, the WiFi is surcharge but you pay just the net time of use.

Let us say thank you once again to leave your review about your stay and we are waiting for your next trip to Tuscany that for sure it will start from Siena and from Hotel Athena.


Kindest Regards

Ronny
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews