We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Stay in Siena”
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Stay in Siena”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel Athena proved to be what I expected. A safe, clean, modern hotel convient to the areas we wanted to visit while in Siena. I found the rooms very clean with their bathrooms the largest most modern of all the hotels we stayed at while in Italy. My wife even liked their hair dryer. We upgraded to a room with a view, well worth the extra 25 Euros, and we slept with the windows wide open overlooking the Tuscany hillsides. The hotel staff were extremely helpful quickly responding to all of our requests. It might be a little sterile for some but for our stay I found it very nice

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. Well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,837
    1,025
    254
    57
    47
See reviews for
571
1,885
72
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at the Athena with 2 small children over Easter and were generally very happy with our choice. The hotel is 15 minutes walk from the main square, with several restaurants within 10 minutes walk. The room was large, clean and comfortable and the free parking is a big plus.

Breakfast was ok - bread, cheese, salami, cereals, etc. The usual buffet. The fruit juice tasted rather synthetic though.

The room wasn't cheap, and there was an additional charge if you wanted to use Wi-Fi, which I thought was a bit of a cheek. Having said that, I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramses2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for leaving a review of Hotel Athena, we are continually trying to improve our services and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Regarding the rooms, We are delighted to read words like yours because the hotel is always trying to make the rooms more comfortable, for that reason every year on February we proceed to renovate the rooms and the common areas.

We thank you to leave your comment also regarding the breakfast which is rich, delicious ad full of fresh products. We’ve already spoken to the Chef Roberto and We’ve already provided to improve the buffet with a fresher and more savory fruit juice.

For your next stay at hotel Athena we are sure you’ll find a definitely better rate just because you stayed with us for Easter, during which days the rate is a bit higher than other periods

We’re so happy to read words like yours and We’d like to point up about the internet connection that We give to all our guests the possibility to use 3 internet hot spot in the lobby free of charge and, as you underlined, the WiFi is surcharge but you pay just the net time of use.

Let us say thank you once again to leave your review about your stay and we are waiting for your next trip to Tuscany that for sure it will start from Siena and from Hotel Athena.


Kindest Regards

Ronny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Because we were only here one night, we chose this hotel primarily for its proximity to the sights combined with easy car access and hotel parking.

The public areas of the hotel appear to have been recently refurbished and our room was clean and tidy. The staff were also friendly with above average efficiency.

The only criticism I had was the breakfast, which was passable at best. Otherwise, the stay was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theoxenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Very expensive hotel, matresses solid like a rock. We have to pay 120 euros extra for our two kids and it wasn't even for beds, there were old sofas. The room was very smelly, the sink was broken, the air conditioning did not work, food was very very bad... And the worst thing, next room to us were two dogs that were barking everytime someone walked thru the hallway...did not get any rest throught the entire night. They did not do anything for us, and it didn't look like they care at all about customer satisfaction... We do not recommend this hotel AT ALL :(

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dude2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for leaving a review of Hotel Athena, we are continually trying to improve our services and comments from our guests are always welcome.

I’m so sorry you write that none didn’t give you any assistance as I personally took care of you when you’ve heard the dog’s barking next door to your room.

I ‘ve shown you, first, an alternative room on the ground floor which you refused, secondly I’ve showed you another family room on the upper floors which you refused again. As third option I’ve offered you to be accommodated on 2 double DELUXE rooms at the same price of a family but you refused this solution as well.

Moreover I ‘ve offered you 2 glass of Prosecco meanwhile the owner’s dogs come back in the room to stop the barking and I offer you special discount over the extras you did along your stay to apologize for this inconvenience.

I did all the best to make your stay comfortable!

Hotel Athena accept dogs in the hotel but this is the first time we had such a problem as people never leave alone their animals in the room! Sorry for that we will be more careful in the future with other dog traveler to avoid such inconvenience!

Regarding the problems you list on your review I ‘m glad to give you the follow explanations:

1) Hotel Athena provide in every room a brand new memory foam mattress over each bed which is very soft and very comfortable.
2) You never told me nothing about the sink and the smell. Otherwise our maintenance staff would have been so ready to check and solve the problem.
3) I personally have checked everything in the room and now the sink is working properly and no smell is feeling in the room.
4) The quality of our breakfast foods are well appreciated from our clients anyway I’ve already talked with our chef to improve the buffet breakfast with better choices.
5) The air condition is working properly but this is still cold by the night to turned off the heating.

I’m so sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at Hotel Athena, we always work hardly to satisfy every needs of our customers!

In case you decide to come back again at hotel Athena, I will be so glad to welcome you with all our best assistance,

With all my best regards

Ronny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a great hotel, especially if you have a car. It's located inside the walls, but was easy to find with a GPS. Parking was free and appeared plentiful. The accomodations were great and the people manning the desk were very helpful. It's well within walking distance to all the sites, but may be too hilly for those who are out-of-shape. There's a restaurant right around the corner, called Osteria Nonna Gina di Lella e Dado, that was so good that we ate there twice. I would stay at the Athena again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farrell1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 km away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,416 reviews
1.5 km away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
655 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,043 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Continental
3.1 km away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,480 - ₹ 19,217
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing