We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Athena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Athena
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible experience!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Very expensive hotel, matresses solid like a rock. We have to pay 120 euros extra for our two kids and it wasn't even for beds, there were old sofas. The room was very smelly, the sink was broken, the air conditioning did not work, food was very very bad... And the worst thing, next room to us were two dogs that were barking everytime someone walked thru the hallway...did not get any rest throught the entire night. They did not do anything for us, and it didn't look like they care at all about customer satisfaction... We do not recommend this hotel AT ALL :(

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dude2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athena55, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Athena, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for leaving a review of Hotel Athena, we are continually trying to improve our services and comments from our guests are always welcome.

I’m so sorry you write that none didn’t give you any assistance as I personally took care of you when you’ve heard the dog’s barking next door to your room.

I ‘ve shown you, first, an alternative room on the ground floor which you refused, secondly I’ve showed you another family room on the upper floors which you refused again. As third option I’ve offered you to be accommodated on 2 double DELUXE rooms at the same price of a family but you refused this solution as well.

Moreover I ‘ve offered you 2 glass of Prosecco meanwhile the owner’s dogs come back in the room to stop the barking and I offer you special discount over the extras you did along your stay to apologize for this inconvenience.

I did all the best to make your stay comfortable!

Hotel Athena accept dogs in the hotel but this is the first time we had such a problem as people never leave alone their animals in the room! Sorry for that we will be more careful in the future with other dog traveler to avoid such inconvenience!

Regarding the problems you list on your review I ‘m glad to give you the follow explanations:

1) Hotel Athena provide in every room a brand new memory foam mattress over each bed which is very soft and very comfortable.
2) You never told me nothing about the sink and the smell. Otherwise our maintenance staff would have been so ready to check and solve the problem.
3) I personally have checked everything in the room and now the sink is working properly and no smell is feeling in the room.
4) The quality of our breakfast foods are well appreciated from our clients anyway I’ve already talked with our chef to improve the buffet breakfast with better choices.
5) The air condition is working properly but this is still cold by the night to turned off the heating.

I’m so sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at Hotel Athena, we always work hardly to satisfy every needs of our customers!

In case you decide to come back again at hotel Athena, I will be so glad to welcome you with all our best assistance,

With all my best regards

Ronny
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,743
    970
    239
    54
    45
See reviews for
541
1,784
69
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a great hotel, especially if you have a car. It's located inside the walls, but was easy to find with a GPS. Parking was free and appeared plentiful. The accomodations were great and the people manning the desk were very helpful. It's well within walking distance to all the sites, but may be too hilly for those who are out-of-shape. There's a restaurant right around the corner, called Osteria Nonna Gina di Lella e Dado, that was so good that we ate there twice. I would stay at the Athena again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farrell1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Chose this hotel only because it had parking, which is difficult in inner cities. The hotel was well managed, front desk efficient, breakfast was served on 2 different floors so it did ease the crowd, and selection offered was better than most places.
The terrace with views was a nice addition to have your morning coffee.
The hotel is just inside the old city walls, so walking to the piazza takes about 5 - 10 minutes.
Before accepting a room, try to see the options, we were shown 2 and chose accordingly.

Room Tip: see rooms before selecting / being assigned to one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We came to this hotel late at night. Parking is limited and a bit tight but this is to be expected in an old city like this. The location of the hotel was great and is a short walk from the main attractions.

Overall the place was very clean. The only disappointment was that the bathroom towels were tablecloths.

Room Tip: Get there early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariawong123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Deceptively plain on the outside and well done on the inside. Location was great. We booked the most economical room which was smallish (typically European) but so well designed you wouldn't know it. Nice veranda with table and two chairs. Comfortable bedding, flat screen. We drove, so free parking was a real plus. Excellent staff and entire hotel was well maintained and squeaky clean. Breakfast was good but a bit pricey (9 Euros). We stayed four nights 12/26-12/30. One front desk manager that spoke terrific English gave us invaluable advice which saved us a lot of time and trouble on our day trips. One of the better restaurants is the first one you see walking up hill into town on corner right: Osteria (Nonna Gina) Di Lella E Dado. Great food/service. Would stay again without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronsrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.5 km away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.2 km away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena

Property: Hotel Athena
Address: P Mascagni 55, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siena
#1 Green Hotel in Siena
#4 Business Hotel in Siena
#6 Family Hotel in Siena
#8 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,567 - ₹ 17,828
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Athena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attractive of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable from San Marco gate by car getting the exit of Siena west from Tangenziale and following every directions for Duomo and San Marco gate. Hotel Athena offer private parking only for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing