We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveller rating
286
140
42
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
140
42
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews head waiter the bus pool and tennis court adjacent building old world charm turn down service lounge area birds chirping grounds are beautiful hill top food and wine tuscan countryside great pool hill overlooking stayed here for nights glass of wine small balcony
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 490 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

+ The pool was beautiful and clean with nice views over Sienna's hills.
+ The main villa was amazing, Book a room in the main villa.
+ Our room on the second night (Suite 53) was lovely and as expected from a junior suite, with a balcony watching the green hills and a large hot tub.
+ Short drive to Sienna.

- We stayed here for 2 nights. Booked a junior suite after checking carefully the room options and pictures on booking.com When arrived we were taken to the suite (room 51) and what a disappointment. It was located at the annex and not the main villa, simply furnished with no fancy view (The garden and no rolling Sienna hills) and the room design was less luxurious then any of the simple double rooms in the villa. After communicating our disappointment we were moved the morning after to a different suite, still at the Annex but what a difference. A balcony to a Beautiful green view, Lovely design and a huge hot bathtub (Room 53). My advice is to be very specific with your room request to avoid any surprises. Also if traveling as a couple don't forget to ask for a double bed. We got a twin bed on our first night.
- Breakfast room is beautiful but breakfast is quite plain. Mostly on the sweet pastries side.
- Bar service was slow as it was always with no bartender on site and it was a challenge to catch a member of staff for a drink. No service at the pool neither.

Room tip: Go for the main villa. otherwise room 53 at the Annex is nice.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oritu2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colledoro, Responsabile reception at Villa Scacciapensieri, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Guest,

We are so happy that you and your family were able to relax and be imbued by the peace of Villa Scacciapensieri . As you know our hotel is a historical Villa , so every room is different and a unique one , as you know for sure it's not possible to book a specific room, anyway we try to meet all the requirements of our guests. Thanks a lot for all suggestions , we will do our best to improve the service.
We hope you return again so we can pamper you .Thank you!

Best regards,

Maryna
for family Nardi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We stayed at the Villa Scacciapensieri for 6 nights in September and loved every minute of it. If you want elegance and old world charm this is the place for you. The property is spectacular with beautiful views of the countryside and a gorgeous pool. They also have tennis courts should you want to play. Breakfast is included and is a typical continental breakfast but you can ask the chef for eggs. Go for the scrambled eggs ... they are little clouds of heaven.

We had a family room so no view but we knew that going in. The room was very spacious with a big comfortable bed which had the most amazing linens on it. The bathroom featured lovely huge white fluffy towels and bathrobes. I see some people complaining about the air conditioning. Ours worked fine ... in fact it was too cold!

We rented a car for the week, but if you don't have a car it is an easy bus ride or taxi ride into Siena and the bus picks you up right in front of the hotel.

We enjoyed many an evening either outside watching the sunset with a glass of wine or a cappuccino. We also loved the lobby area which has very comfortable leather chairs and a fireplace which must be lovely in the cooler weather.

The staff is very helpful. A special mention for Silvia at the front desk. She mapped out two destinations for us and gave us information about wineries to visit. She was an absolute delight. Also, Apollonia at the front desk was very helpful with information about Siena and restaurants to go to that the locals prefer. As well, Andrea is the maitre d' in the dining room and is so elegant and charming. In the morning he has a white dinner jacket on and at night he wears black. So sophisticated!

I would highly recommend Villa Scacciapensieri if you are looking to visit the Tuscany area and get away from the hubbub of the cities. This is a very relaxing, charming place!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Morag R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colledoro, Responsabile reception at Villa Scacciapensieri, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Guest,

We are most grateful to you for your appreciative comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you in future

Maryna
for family Nardi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

The place is undoubtedly beautiful, a classic Italian style building surrounded by nature. But, it is not as stunning and breathtaking as one can see in pictures on the internet. It looks and definitely feels like living off of ancient glory, like there’s not much effort put into keeping it at its top. We were given a rather average room, not the one we got the chance to pick on booking.com. We didn’t complain just because we wanted to spend our time visiting the area. Staff was ok...
Buffet at breakfast rather poor.
Located very close to Siena so that’s a plus.
Also a plus, they are very welcoming with dogs.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 950elisabettad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colledoro, Responsabile reception at Villa Scacciapensieri, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know regarding your stay. The room that you had is exactly the one that you booked , the point is, that all rooms are different and we can't put all possible rooms on website . We deeply sorry for that , we will do our best next time.

Best regards,

Maryna
per famiglia Nardi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Solo travel, decided to slow down from sightseeing in four cities (still made my way by cab to the plaza, duomo, museum) and rest. Nice pool, great grounds, responsive staff, and fine food. Only quibble was sketchy internet in the room, but fine connection here in the lobby.

Room tip: the hill view is delightful
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregOnTheTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colledoro, Responsabile reception at Villa Scacciapensieri, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Guest,
Infinite thanks for such good words. It is wonderful for us to know that you liked Villa Scaciapensieri. You should have told the front desk about not having WiFi in your room. We would have immediately reseted the system and have solved your problem at once. We look forward will greet you again!

Best regards,

Maryna
for family Nardi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely views and friendly staff. The decor is to an older generations taste, but it works well for the location. Certain appliances could do with being upgraded eg air conditioning. The dinner service was great, the homemade deserts were particularly great. Overall great, it was like stepping back in time.

Date of stay: September 2018
2  Thank clairetT1937TZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colledoro, Responsabile reception at Villa Scacciapensieri, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Guest,
Many many thanks for your kind words. Above all for the accuracy with which you describe Villa Scacciapensieri : every detail is correct.... it's like stepped back in time indeed ! You understood what we are and seem to have immersed yourself into our peaceful, serene and charming world of old times . We promise that we improve with air conditioning. We do hope you will return soon!

Best regards,

Maryna
for family Nardi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews