We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That typical, lazy and relaxing Tuscan feeling!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Scacciapensieri
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Edam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
309 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“That typical, lazy and relaxing Tuscan feeling!”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

A couple of months ago my sister and I stayed for a couple of nights in Siena in a hotel called Villa Scacciapensieri.
It was late in October but the weather was still fine and we still had lots of sunshine. This villa offers everything that you may expect from a modern hotel in an old Tuscan villa: stylishly furnished rooms with authentic Italian tables, chairs and cots and from the window a beautiful view on the hilly area. Especially from my room I had a wonderful sight at the Torre Del Mangia. Bathrooms were equipped with beautiful old-fashioned sinks and bathtubs.
In front of the villa there is a beautiful garden with comfortable terraces. The swimming pool was already closed, which was understandable, because it was too cold for outdoor swimming. But the weather was warm enough to have a sit at the pool, to read or relax somewhat and to have a drink.
The entire building smelled of old-fashioned polishes. You really believed that you were living in former times!
Parking is free and possible in their classically landscaped garden. Wifi is free and available in the lounge.
The restaurant is rather expensive, but they offer a daily changing 3- or 4-course dinner with a varying wine choice for a payable rate.
Breakfast is a real unexpected surprise. You don’t need to visit the buffet, for the buffet is visiting you! A kind waiter pushes a cart along your table and asks you what you like to have from the cart. This moving buffet offers you a wide choice of cheese, meats, fruit, cereals and different types of bread.
During the breakfast he is coming several times along again to ask you if you like something more!
The only drawback is the distance to the Centre of Siena. The distance between Villa and Piazza del Campo is more than 4 kilometers!
If you don’t want to use your car you can take a bus to the Centre, which leaves every hour. Tickets are for sale with the reception of the Villa.
We have been here only two nights but enjoyed a perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaas-Dekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    120
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
59
221
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My wife and I are a mature couple who have traveled widely. We spent 5 nights in a delightful, spacious double room in the Villa itself. As you lay in bed the marvelous decorated ceiling gave your the feeling that you were a guest in a fine Sienese palace. The staff were as gracious and, so to speak, at your beckon call, seemingly in any language. The beautiful hotel grounds are blessed with a small formal garden, and plenty of space to saunter around. As it was late October the spell of Autumn clothed the grounds. Our first breakfast, which never varied during our stay, was commonplace with little variety, the Italian breakfast bread cannot be compared to the French! Our first evening meal was adequate, the menu, uninspired, and if considering good value, too expensive. Service was impeccable both for breakfast and dinner, very professional, the Maitre"d, who spoke at least 5 languages, was obviously sophisticated and knowledgeable: too bad the food did not match the service. We took all are other evening meals in restaurants recommend by Trip Advisor which were spot on. The hotel is located central to many great hill top cities, Montacino, Montepuciano, Volterra, Pienza all about an hour or so away. And then there is Siena..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluefiskermarietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is an excellent establishment which has become a bit dozy, maybe it was the end of a long hot summer-"oh no not another paying guest." It was our second visit and the contrast could not have been more extreme. Indifferent front desk, lack of service staff and a gardner who felt it was necessary to loudly announce his arrival at 5 am. The restaurant is closed Wednesday so watch that. Food though remains excellent. Position and location is wonderful but time to wake up from service slumber.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastersretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at the Villa Scacciapensieri with may family (incl 3 children) in August. We all loved it. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The plumbing was a littler quirky but it is beautifully clean and it would be crime to "upgrade" such fine old fittings. The pool was well used by the children after sightseeing in Siena although the ambiance of the place is so tranquil that they did not feel that they could be quite as noisy as they wanted. The gardens are really beautiful. The highlight for me was the food. It is expensive but, in my view, worth every cent. The head waiter has a real enthusiasm for the food he serves and gives mouth watering descriptions of each dish. The terrace where guests eat has good views.

The only gripe (and it is a small one) is that guests have to pay for internet usage. This seems rather inhospitable. Also, most of the museums in Tuscany seem to operate booking policies which rely upon access to the internet.

Overall however, we all really loved our time at the hotel and would certainly recommend a stay to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and it was the perfect hotel. Sat on a hill top just outside of Siena, we had a lovely time here. Our room was cosy, with a little living room and set on a duplex floor. The view from the room was beautiful.

Room service was very good, as when we asked for a bottle opener they were at door in just a couple of minutes, although we were expecting one in the room, given its a wine region.

If you choose to stay in this hotel, you will need a car to be accessible to anywhere. It would be a lovely place in the summer as it has a swimming pool and tennis courts.

The hotel restaurant served delicious with fresh herbs from the garden and the waiter was excellent.

Final point is the hotel owner/manager was very informative providing maps and suggestions on where to go.

Please note when in Tuscany if you plan to do wine tasting- pre book as we drove around for hours trying to find a place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheenaS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
2.6 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,181 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
2,050 reviews
3.3 km away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sangallo Park Hotel
2.5 km away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,401 reviews
1.7 km away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Scacciapensieri? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Scacciapensieri

Property: Villa Scacciapensieri
Address: Via di Villaggio Scacciapensieri 10, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,346 - ₹ 25,555
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Scacciapensieri 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star hotel “Villa Scacciapensieri” is ideal for clients looking for a peaceful, warm and cordial atmosphere, an excellent kitchen and attentive service. Location : the hotel is set in its own large park and gardens on top of a little hill only 2.5 km north of the medieval city walls of Siena, 1,5 km from the train station, just on the border of the Chianti wine region ; all the main sights of Tuscany are easily reached. There is a very regular public bus service from the Villa to the historical centre every 15 minutes (on weekends twice an hour, after 8 p.m. once an hour). The main Villa, constructed in the late 1790’s – early 1800’s, has rooms on the two upper floors, while the reception desk (24 h.), the restaurant "Altri Tempi", the cosy bar-lounge with open fire place and library, the private little chapel and the media-room with Internet access are all located on the ground level. There are two annex buildings "Limonaia" and "Villino" both very close to the main Villa. All rooms are air-conditioned. The outdoor swimming pool (open from mid May to October) overlooks the Chianti hills. We also have a tennis court, bicycles and parking for the exclusive use of our guests, there is no charge for these facilities. Garages are available on request (Euro 20,-/night). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Villa Scacciapensieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Scacciapensieri Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing