We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Scacciapensieri
Nearby Hotels
US$ 211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Minerva(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$ 147
US$ 126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Italia(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
US$ 104
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 295
US$ 264
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 232
US$ 208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo di Valli(Siena)
US$ 150
US$ 142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Athena(Siena)
US$ 196
US$ 177
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Marco(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$ 87
US$ 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Siena(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$ 247
US$ 136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 517
US$ 401
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
268
134
41
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
134
41
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshead waiterthe buspool and tennis courtadjacent buildingold world charmlounge arealocal busesfood and winetuscan countrysidegreat poolhill overlookinga lovely place to staysitting roomspectacular viewssmall balconyminute driveglass of wine
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My wife and I are a mature couple who have traveled widely. We spent 5 nights in a delightful, spacious double room in the Villa itself. As you lay in bed the marvelous decorated ceiling gave your the feeling that you were a guest in a fine Sienese palace. The staff were as gracious and, so to speak, at your beckon call, seemingly in any language. The beautiful hotel grounds are blessed with a small formal garden, and plenty of space to saunter around. As it was late October the spell of Autumn clothed the grounds. Our first breakfast, which never varied during our stay, was commonplace with little variety, the Italian breakfast bread cannot be compared to the French! Our first evening meal was adequate, the menu, uninspired, and if considering good value, too expensive. Service was impeccable both for breakfast and dinner, very professional, the Maitre"d, who spoke at least 5 languages, was obviously sophisticated and knowledgeable: too bad the food did not match the service. We took all are other evening meals in restaurants recommend by Trip Advisor which were spot on. The hotel is located central to many great hill top cities, Montacino, Montepuciano, Volterra, Pienza all about an hour or so away. And then there is Siena..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluefiskermarietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is an excellent establishment which has become a bit dozy, maybe it was the end of a long hot summer-"oh no not another paying guest." It was our second visit and the contrast could not have been more extreme. Indifferent front desk, lack of service staff and a gardner who felt it was necessary to loudly announce his arrival at 5 am. The restaurant is closed Wednesday so watch that. Food though remains excellent. Position and location is wonderful but time to wake up from service slumber.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coastersretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at the Villa Scacciapensieri with may family (incl 3 children) in August. We all loved it. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The plumbing was a littler quirky but it is beautifully clean and it would be crime to "upgrade" such fine old fittings. The pool was well used by the children after sightseeing in Siena although the ambiance of the place is so tranquil that they did not feel that they could be quite as noisy as they wanted. The gardens are really beautiful. The highlight for me was the food. It is expensive but, in my view, worth every cent. The head waiter has a real enthusiasm for the food he serves and gives mouth watering descriptions of each dish. The terrace where guests eat has good views.

The only gripe (and it is a small one) is that guests have to pay for internet usage. This seems rather inhospitable. Also, most of the museums in Tuscany seem to operate booking policies which rely upon access to the internet.

Overall however, we all really loved our time at the hotel and would certainly recommend a stay to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and it was the perfect hotel. Sat on a hill top just outside of Siena, we had a lovely time here. Our room was cosy, with a little living room and set on a duplex floor. The view from the room was beautiful.

Room service was very good, as when we asked for a bottle opener they were at door in just a couple of minutes, although we were expecting one in the room, given its a wine region.

If you choose to stay in this hotel, you will need a car to be accessible to anywhere. It would be a lovely place in the summer as it has a swimming pool and tennis courts.

The hotel restaurant served delicious with fresh herbs from the garden and the waiter was excellent.

Final point is the hotel owner/manager was very informative providing maps and suggestions on where to go.

Please note when in Tuscany if you plan to do wine tasting- pre book as we drove around for hours trying to find a place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheenaS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I booked this hotel because all hotels within short distance of Siena were booked. I agree with some reviewers that the villa is outdated and has seen its better days. However, I found the villa has its charms; has an old country feel. Sure, they could have kept the grounds a little tidier and renovated some of the rooms. But I slept very well during my two days there because it felt peaceful. The restaurant was good. The walls are thin though; you could hear your neighbors talking. Having a free parking in the property is an added bonus.

Room Tip: Some rooms are located on the second floor and the bathroom is in the first floor. If you have a challenge walking up stairs, make sure you book the room that has bathroom at the same floor which I think those rooms are located in the main building.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DruryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews