We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an OK Hotel - Certainly not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santa Caterina
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is an OK Hotel - Certainly not Great”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My partner and I planned a wonderful trip to Italy - neither of us had ever really been before. We visited Florence, Siena and Rome. Of all our hotels on the trip, this one was the most lackluster. We chose it based on TripAdvisor reviews - our one disappointment.

I would recommend that you stay here to be in Siena and very close to the medieval city - but not for a wonderful hotel stay. If we returned to Siena, we would find another option. There are a a number of good hotels in and around the medieval city - we saw them walking around.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The major issue we had, though, was that we were escorted to our room in the back facing the garden, as requested. When the front desk manager opened the door, I was greeted by an intensely pungent odor, which literally made me gag. And I have a pretty strong stomach and don't react to much. The odor was covered over thinly by a plug-in air freshener. The kind young man who led us to the room clearly could not wait to get out of there as he rushed out as soon as he could see we were settled.

I promptly opened all the windows thinking "Well, we are here in the off-season, maybe we just need to air out the room..."

We headed off to dinner in Siena (a beautiful and easy walk), and when we returned, the odor was as present as ever. It smelled like something died in the room. I knew I would not be able to sleep there, so I went downstairs and asked for a different room. Another front desk manager seemed to know there was an issue because as soon as he saw our room number, he switched us to what I am assuming was their version of a suite (a room with stairs leading up to a bed in a loft), no questions asked.

What is most disturbing is that they seemed to know about the awful, nauseating smell and did nothing and mentioned nothing to us until I asked to be moved.

We moved into the new room and were right next to a very loud family with a toddler. They let their toddler race up and down the halls from about 11pm to 2am screaming, and the walls were thin enough we could hear it like he was in the room. The hotel staff did nothing to quiet the noise, so I just asked the Dad if he could keep it down to a low roar as we were trying to sleep. He nodded and moved the situation into their room, next door to ours, but we could still hear them as the walls are thin and not insulated very well. We just tuned it out best we could.

In the morning we went to breakfast downstairs, which was fine - cold meats and cheeses, cold cereal, and some butter pastries. Being vegan, we couldn't eat much, but we had some cereal mixed with juice, and had coffee and tea, and we were happy. Certainly not the breakfast of the century, though!

Anyway, Sienna was gorgeous and charming and had amazing food, people and shops, so it was worth the lackluster stay for the experience of getting to be in Sienna for two days.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    261
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
162
380
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel was very welcoming and relaxing - and the views out the back were just as amazing as the pictures. We stayed in the back of the hotel and to throw open those shutters on a beautiful spring morning was just divine!! The young man who welcomed us couldn't have been any more charming and helpful! The walk to town wasn't as long as I was expecting from the reviews - it was fine and worth it for the view from the garden area in the back!! Parking was only 10 euros which was also appreciated. It was a small room - but that's Italy - just expect that and you will enjoy your stay here. Breakfast was great too - just a lovely relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view in the back if you book early enough and know that in the triple there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was a lovely place to stay. The staff was extremely helpful couldn't have asked for a more perfect relaxing place to stay. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktandjt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The hotel is outside the walls of town and a solid 10 minute+ walk to the town center depending upon your pace. While not steep, the walk into town is definitely up hill and on the hottest day of our stay, we felt the walk by the time we arrived in town. Our room was in back and very quiet with a great view of the southern hillsides, although a little small. The included breakfast was very well done and service great. The bar is quite small and it took a while to get served what we wanted with language a problem since our Italian was limited (although this was not a problem anywhere else in hotel). They did mess up a dinner reservation they were supposed to make for us and by the time we realized it, we could not get in where we wished.

Room Tip: Stay off the road side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kb72travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

we were very lucky to get this great room as we did not book in advance. the hotel is a leisurely 5-10min walk to the old center. Breakfast in the sun room or courtyard was plenty and very helpful staff. we had no traffic noise issues at all as our room was to the back and away from the intersection.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with small balcony to the back at the top floor. Great view into the rural valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berndoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,221 reviews
1.0 km away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,416 reviews
0.6 km away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,043 reviews
3.8 km away
Sangallo Park Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Caterina

Property: Hotel Santa Caterina
Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 7, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,108 - ₹ 12,141
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Caterina 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Caterina Hotel in Siena offers more than a bed and a breakfast service. Housed in a renovated 18th-century patrician villa, it is a small and cosy hotel lying just a few metres from Porta Romana (Roman Gate), one of the medieval accesses to the town centre of Siena.If you are looking among all the hotels in Tuscany - and specifically among the hotels in Siena - for the one that can serve you both as a base for daily excursions and as a comfortable pied-à-terre within the city limits, our 22-room facility will meet your needs. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, direct telephone, TV Sat, minibar, air conditioning, wireless Internet access, and are furnished, as the lounge is, in the typical old Tuscan style.Providing guests with the cheerfulness and cosiness of a typical Siena’s bed and breakfast, Santa Caterina guarantees much more. The wide and luxuriant garden with its veranda where breakfast is served can offer you what other Siena hotels cannot, that is, a view over the splendid Siena landscapes that will paint before your eyes every morning unexpected, changing colour shades among hilly lines. The refined but homely atmosphere and its privileged location, make this hotel the ideal place for a romantic and pleasant stay in the land locals love to call the old-fashioned way, "Terra di Siena", the land of Siena in Italy's heart. At Santa Caterina, “hotels in Siena” means home. Come and enjoy our home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing