We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,343)
Filter reviews
2,343 results
Traveller rating
946
924
309
112
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
946
924
309
112
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingplenty of sunbedsthe busswimming poolrestaurant staffhead waiterlovely hotelold citygreat poolminute walkreception staffsiena centrehire carsuperior roomeach eveningquiet locationoverlooking siena
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 2,343 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2017

My mum and I just got back - brilliant time! Rooms are airy and cleaned daily. Complimentary bottles of water available on the first day, thereafter you pay. Room has air con, fridge, safe, kettle, TV, hairdryer, blankets and toiletries. Towels, bedding and toiletries replaced daily. Love the towels - squashy and cosy. Plenty of storage in room. Furnishings a bit dated. Fantastic big shower. Huge terrace with seating and nice pots overlooking Siena and Tuscan hills where you have breakfast, lunch, drinks and supper. Eating outside is such a pleasure, but you can also be indoors where there are plenty of tables, sofas and easy chairs. No outside music, some indoors at breakfast and in the evening.

Plentiful breakfast: cake, croissants, coffee, tea (all kinds), fruit juice, water, fruit tarts, scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, fruit juice, water, fruit salad, slices of ham and cheese. Lovely lunch and dinner menu - incredible pasta and tiramisu. Free bar food in the evening along with great bar service. I used to hate cocktails, now I love them.

Location: tons of parking. Siena is 20-30 mins walk away where there are restaurants and romantic squares abound. Pharmacy is a few mins walk away from the hotel. A useful supermarket, Conad, is 10-15 mins walk away. We bought fresh fruit, cucumber, cheese and bread and had picnics in the hotel garden most days. Buses to Florence and San Gimignano can be caught with ease just down the road from the hotel.

Lovely pool surrounded by olive trees. Sunbeds not the best I’ve ever had (not cushioned) but certainly not uncomfortable. Good overhangy shade awning thing that you can bring over your head when you’re sunbathing which is useful for reading. No piped music. Cold drinks and ice creams available for purchase, and you get a new towel every two days. Most days it felt less like being in a hotel, more like being in someone’s garden; a real pleasure and often quiet and serene, the only sound were bells sounding out from the campaniles.

Our abiding memory will be the incredible staff that make the whole experience of staying an utter delight. Everyone was strikingly courteous, friendly, warm, open, relaxed, ready to help with anything and everything. We felt incredibly welcomed, everyone from the waiting staff to the reception team to the cleaning staff and pool attendees. Service was given with a personal, very human touch but by no means was it intrusive. By the end we felt like one of the family, it was hard to say goodbye and we struck up particular bonds with a few, which was just lovely. Overall the hotel isn't luxurious or glamorous but it’s clean and incredibly restful to stay in.

A note about hiring a car: before we went we researched this option but read nothing but dodgy things about dodgy car hires but we were told an option to consider is to hire not from the airport which can be a nightmare (so we've heard) but to do so once you’re in Siena - cuts out the complicated lengthy hiring process from the airport. Worth noting you can get a transfer to and from the airport that the hotel arranges. Europcar in Siena has been recommended as the better one to go for and they will drop off and collect the car from the hotel for a small extra charge. We didn't do it this time but next time will do.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Imo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneGardenSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Imo25

Thank you very much for the recent stay at the Garden in Siene, I just take a small piece of your review but very significant... hope people will read!!

"Most days it felt less like being in a hotel, more like being in someone’s garden; a real pleasure and often quiet and serene, the only sound were bells sounding out from the campaniles"

my personal and best regards
Gianluigi Rubbioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

We decided to stay outside the city walls this time for a bit of space and less noise.
Hotel Garden was a real find and worth the 25 minutes walk it takes to get to Il Campo. There is a public bus if you don't want to walk. If you want to get to Florence by bus there is bus stop nearby and the train station is only 15 mins walk
Hotel Garden has a beautiful terrace for drinks and meals overlooking Siena. Unusually for Siena there is also a pool and lovely shaded gardens.
Breakfast gets a bit crowded but the staff do well to replenish supplies promptly
I agree with earlier reviewers to stay in one of the outbuildings if you want to get away from the noisy bar and restaurant
The main hotel is beautiful but whilst looking rather plain and hideous from the outside the outbuildings rooms are decorated well and tastefully internally.
We will definitely return

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Aunty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneGardenSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Aunty D,

Thank you very much and do not esitate to come back for a visit in Siena.

All best
Gianluigi Rubbioli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely 2 night stay at the Garden Hotel. The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. Our room was clean and cool in a lovely garden setting. The pools were great especially the smaller one for our 4 year old daughter. We used the restaurant for lunch and dinner and it was very good very great service. The breakfast was lovely and fresh and had a good choice of food and drinks. A beautiful view from the terrace during dinner of the city. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend anyone that this is the place to stay in Siena.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We had 2 rooms in the annexe , about 100mtrs from the main hotel. Both rooms were excellent , comfortable, modern and had excellent facilities. Staff at the hotel were both knowledgeable and friendly. All spoke excellent English. We met Roberto in the restaurant on a few occasions and he is an excellent ambassador for the hotel, his humour and his courtesy really added to our holiday. The hotel itself is about 10 mins by taxi from central Sienna, however both are worthy of. Visit.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skybluejambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We have just returned from a 9 night stay at The Garden Hotel. The hotel is family run & embraces the rustic nature of most Italian hotels.

We stayed in the Junior Suite which faced onto the front courtyard. The room was spotless and the air conditioning a welcome relief from the heat of the day – the facilities within the room cannot be faulted.

Alta, the barman, was an absolute delight and made the best Aperol Spritz ever! He was extremely personable and made you feel welcome. There was no table service, which was fine with us, but it does appear that the hotel is missing a trick by not having another bar member – it would boost sales & also give a better service to customers – just a thought........

Breakfast was more than adequate and was predominantly continental - exactly as described on the website. The service in the restaurant was quite erratic – sometimes coffee was served and other times you were expected to get it yourself – no issue at all but just not consistent!

We walked into Siena most evenings and it’s a bit of a hike but it was a great way to get some exercise and really immerse yourself into the local area. There a vast array of restaurants but our favourite by an absolute longshot was Le Logge & you have to make a reservation.

We had an amazing time in Siena & would go back in a heartbeat – thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main house
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GoatGirlBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews