We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 228
US$ 217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 313/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 223
US$ 212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Siena(Siena)
US$ 167
US$ 139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 182
US$ 176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sangallo Park Hotel(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$ 170
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alma Domus(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
US$ 109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 207
US$ 179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Italia(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
US$ 89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Casa di Antonella(Siena)(Great Value!)
US$ 69
US$ 66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
149
67
18
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
67
18
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfabulous roomhead conciergehistoric roomsposter bedroom upgradereal hotelhotel groupviews are lovelystar hoteldi soprastreet noisethe main shopping streetroom looked outyour doorstepfrescoed ceilingwonderful hotelthe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Was difficult to find with GPS but cars were not allowed on street where hotel was. Finally we found it and porter came down the street to take our bags and move our car to parking garage.

Hotel is small and quite beautiful. We were upgraded to a larger more elaborate room and it was quite amazing. Ceilings must have been 30 ft high with frescoes on ceiling.

Front desk staff was lovely and efficient. Concierge recommended great places to eat dinner. I had already booked dinners on trip advisor but must admit we listened to concierge. Location was perfect to walk anywhere in historic center of Siena. Just outside there were musicians playing in the evening. Perfect place to use as base to see all the Tuscan towns you are interested in. Loved this hotel. Truly hated to leave.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded and ask for a room with cathedral ceilings with frescoes. Don't know if we got only one -
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stephcola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBeaugonin, Manager at Grand Hotel Continental Siena - Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Kind guests,
thank you for the time taken to share your most pleasant experience at the Grand Hotel Continental and we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the hotel and it's location to explore the city.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you once again in Siena on a future visit.

With regards,

Nathalie Beaugonin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

The Grand Continental is the only five star hotel within the historic walls of the old city of Siena and it is a fabulous, if old, gem of a hotel.

First of all the location is within 10 minutes (slow) walking of all the main attractions. The old city is actually quite small and you can walk end to end in less than 20 minutes. The hotel is along the main walking and shopping street so the location is unbeatable.

We had a Deluxe Double which had a little terrace with a great view south westwards of the city and out towards the Tuscan country side. I would highly recommend booking room with a view. The room itself was large and well equipped, the toilet was marble. The rooms are dated, the door knobs may come off and there maybe paint chips but this is to be expected with a hotel of this age. Its certainly not polished but it does have its charm. The breakfast room was grand and the selection was adequate.

The hotel does offer parking but at EUR45 it is very steep. There is a garage very close buy that charges around EUR25, ask the concierge and they would be happy to tell you where it is. Staff were helpful as well.

Overall, if you are looking for a place to stay within the walls of the old city, this can be the only option.

Room Tip: Book a room with a terrace
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dyan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The Hotel is accessible by car despite being located in the historic center of Siena: Beautiful Palazzo renovated to perfection, with impeccable service on all levels. Very good breakfast buffet, great food and service in the restaurant. Exquisite wine selection. The contemporary rooms are rather small, but well equipped (some dispose of nice small terraces with two chairs, i.e. # 440). The historic rooms are stunning. The luxury comes at a high price, but it's worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GermanPointerSamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel has a ton of character and makes you feel like you're back in time! It is walking distance to everything. The rooms are very charming and upscale. The breakfast was very elaborate and the food was fresh and delicious!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank lvancora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Wonderful staff who could not do enough for us, Great location. right bang in the center of Siena, beautiful hotel. Only stayed one night but I do wish we had more time to stay longer. Not cheap but well worth every cent.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavia2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews