We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a treasure”
other travellers have booked this property
Your Tuscan Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your Tuscan Home
The Monastery of Sant'Andrea The Brick Courtyard with the Baldassarre Peruzzi's Arch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Your Tuscan Home
The Monastery of Sant'Andrea
The Brick Courtyard with the Baldassarre Peruzzi's Arch
The Country style Kitchen
Piazza del Campo in Siena
The Brick Courtyard with the well
The Green Park
The Private Garden
The Ancient main door
View of the courtyard from the Arch
Detail of the Ancient Chapel
The Ancient Chapel
Inside The Cupola of the Ancient Chapel
Wall detail
The Duomo Cathedral is right there
beautiful Tuscan hillsides
Other view of the Country style kitchen
The Master bedroom
Other View of the Master Bedroom
The second Bedroom
The Bathroom
The Private Entrance
Other View of the country style Kitchen
Other View of the Courtyard
Your Tuscan home is in a lovely park
The courtyard of your Tuscan home
Great location! In the countryside but just ten minutes to the centre of Siena
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Siena, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
HenningCT
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a treasure”
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in June 2012
5
people found this review helpful

We travelled for 2 weeks through Italy. From Rome via Siena and Florence to Venice. We stayed in self-catering apartments in each town. The Sant'Andrea apartment was by far the favourite.
Arriving at the imposing front door to this 13th century converted monastery, we quickly discovered the beautiful courtyard and this very nice apartment.
The apartment is extremely well equipped and very spacious. We especially loved the kitchen, which is clearly aimed at people who enjoy cooking. The bedrooms and bathroom are very well appointed. Even though there was no air conditioning, the apartment was wonderfully cool, despite the temperatures soaring up to 38 degrees Celsius, thanks to the ancient thick walls and high ceilings.
The courtyard with its charming well leads to the most amazing grounds with an assortment of fruit trees. We were lucky to visit while the trees were simply laden with ripe fruit, including cherries and plums. Each apartment has its own private bit of garden which serves as a welcome reprieve in the early evening when temperatures cool down and you can enjoy a chilled glass of Pinot Grigio overlooking the beautiful Tuscan landscape. All this accompanied by the peal of church bells in the background.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Y
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice location and Average Accommodations but Read On”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
5
people found this review helpful

Let me begin this review by saying that I am a pretty tough critic of vacation accommodations and restaurants. Oftentimes, I see 4s and 5s on Trip Advisor and wonder whether or not the reviewer and my family stayed or dined in the same location. Hence, this is a PERFECTLY FINE property, just not 4 or 5 stars.

We spent 8 days at Sant Andrea. Alessandra, the owner, was accommodating re: our pre-trip arrangements. She made sure the kitchen was extra clean for our allergic son and found last minutes tickets to the Palio for us.

The kitchen was well-stocked with utensils, a dining table and couch. The bedrooms were fine. However, the shower/tub in the bathroom was a bit aged and moldy-- maybe install a new shower/ tub door? The reason I gave this three stars is because there was nothing special about the quality of the place. It is very basic. We have stayed in 5-star apartments in other cities and this does not fall into that class - with respect to quality of decor and furniture. However, it is a suitable (and I mean this in a positive way) apartment for a family and well worth its value. I would definitely recommend it to another family.

The apartment is in a converted monastery with lots of running space around it for the kids. There are fruit trees on the property and private gardens maintained by various apartment owners. Also, the monastery has its own lovely chapel. Our children played soccer with a neighbor on a couple of occasions. Neighbors couldn't have been any nicer. Because parking is so limited anywhere around Siena, the inclusion of a space/garage in this deal was wonderful.

We were a 15 minute drive to Siena. If you decide to take a car, instead of the conveniently located bus, then I would use the Siena Nord exit to look for parking -- near the soccer stadium. We used both the bus and car. The only disadvantage to the bus is that the last one leaves Siena between 8:00 - 8:30 p.m. -- too early to eat dinner in the city center. Also, note that a Coop supermarket and dining is in a small town (San Rocco) on the main road going away from Siena -- maybe a 10 minute drive. You cannot walk to it.

There are other nice restaurants in the nearby hills. We only ate twice and Siena and were not too impressed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canukgal
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot.”
Reviewed 26 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Lovely spacious apartment was perfect for our family. Nicely appointed with all amenities. We loved having our own parking spot and adored the gardens that smelled of jasmine. The serene atmosphere was welcomed after a day of driving to Florence or Pisa. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: mattress too firm for our taste
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5Barry200...
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“La Dolce Vita”
Reviewed 18 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The other reviews are very complimentary about the Sant’ Andrea apartment but did not prepare us for the wonderful experience we had!

The apartment is finished tastefully and is set in a charming converted monastery rich in character. The beautiful gardens provided a relaxing space both during the day with a book as well as in the evening with a bottle of wine held spellbound by the Tuscan fire flies and moon.

The apartment has excellent parking but Siena itself is easy to access by local bus or taxi with a range of sights, shops and places to eat. Siena also provides a contrast with the relaxed atmosphere of the apartment and gardens.

The region around Siena is sublimely pretty with spectacular scenery and the apartment provided easy access to a number of hill towns that are beyond compare.

La dolce vita.

Barry, Linda and Julie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We arrived very late - Andrea was very accomodating which set the tone for a lovely stay.
Liked least: Not applicable.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L N
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a week under the Tuscan Sun”
Reviewed 21 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We had a wonderful time at Sant Andrea. Being able to buy amazing culinary groceries at the local supermarket for very reasonable prices was a huge benefit. It was close to sienna but far away enough to feel like you were staying in a hidden Tuscon getaway.
Sienna was amazing with many sights, great restaurant and lots of shopping.
We enjoyed driving around Tuscany and getting lost in between hills and vineyards.
I would defiantly return maybe even with my family or another couple as the space was very large, clean and comfortable.
We enjoyed a local bar and cafe that had wifi and the local family run restaurants that had hand made pasta and great pizza.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location/ kitchen
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing