We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Alma Domus - Magnificent!!”
Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alma Domus
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The room is magnificently simple, modest, clean and the view from the balcony is breath-taking. This could not be more lovely - looking out upon this middle ages city businesses, homes, museums, cathedrals that have endured like caves, and have beauty that is frozen in time (-- colors of earthy golds!). The hotel is lovely, and staff very helpful. Staff is bi-lingual. (They arranged a 5-hour tour through Tuscany for us, including wine tasting & visit to San Gimignano castle community, which I highly recommend!!). Homemade, piping hot, croissants & other pastries are served at breakfast, along with assortment of other foods and coffee. This is located in the heart of Sienna, internal role in it's beauty - all sights are within a short walk (including a step onto your own balcony!!) (Take a taxi from the train station to the hotel.)

Room Tip: Room with a view - although not sure whether or not all have this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 343 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

On first entering our room I was a little disappointed. It was a smallish room basically furnished and there was a slight whiff from the drains in the en-suite. However this is to be balanced with the amazing view from our small balcony. We woke up to the bells from the churches and the view if the town of Siena clinging to a hill topped off with the distinctive dome of the Duomo. We never tired of the view. Breakfast was a limited affair however given the cost of the hotel maybe I should have expected that. The room was very clean and the bed linen spotless.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I very easily made my reservation via email. No credit card number was required for making the reservation. I requested a room with a double bed and a view. I was pleasantly surprised to walk into a large hotel room with one large bed and one twin bed. The best part was the balcony where I could see all of Siena -- the Duomo & City Tower included. Be sure to ask for a room with a view! The hotel has a bit of a dorm feel to it, which was prefectly fine. The breakfast room was perfectly pleasant with offerings of various breads, cereals, bananas, juices, and coffee. The only negative things I can recall were the hotel room bathroom because it was fairly small and smelled of sulfur and being woken by the sound of church bells, which I imagine would be heard no matter where you stay. The city landscape is deceiving in that things look very hilly and farther than they appear; however, everything is very easy to walk to.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a balcony & view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivesForTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This place looks out at the beautiful city of Siena. It's located next door to the home of St. Catherine of Siena, and within easy walking distance of everything you'll want to see there. We also had a delicious meal at one of the restaurants right across the street. The room is small but what a tremendous view we had, and it was clean and comfortable. We had a nice breakfast, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the price is right.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shekkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was the perfect place to stay in Siena. It was close to the station and had the best views from the windows! This beautiful town can not disappoint! It was everything we had hoped for and more!

Room Tip: There is a restaurant just up the stairs from the hotel. It's a pizzaria, so yum!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreannaEwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#8 of 40 in Siena
3,437 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,446 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,180 reviews
0.3 km away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,544 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#12 of 40 in Siena
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Address: Via Camporegio 37, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: ₹ 4,213 - ₹ 6,943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing