We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible city view”
Review of Hotel Alma Domus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alma Domus
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible city view”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I very easily made my reservation via email. No credit card number was required for making the reservation. I requested a room with a double bed and a view. I was pleasantly surprised to walk into a large hotel room with one large bed and one twin bed. The best part was the balcony where I could see all of Siena -- the Duomo & City Tower included. Be sure to ask for a room with a view! The hotel has a bit of a dorm feel to it, which was prefectly fine. The breakfast room was perfectly pleasant with offerings of various breads, cereals, bananas, juices, and coffee. The only negative things I can recall were the hotel room bathroom because it was fairly small and smelled of sulfur and being woken by the sound of church bells, which I imagine would be heard no matter where you stay. The city landscape is deceiving in that things look very hilly and farther than they appear; however, everything is very easy to walk to.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a balcony & view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivesForTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    345
    126
    32
    23
See reviews for
123
391
87
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morrison, CO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This place looks out at the beautiful city of Siena. It's located next door to the home of St. Catherine of Siena, and within easy walking distance of everything you'll want to see there. We also had a delicious meal at one of the restaurants right across the street. The room is small but what a tremendous view we had, and it was clean and comfortable. We had a nice breakfast, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the price is right.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shekkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was the perfect place to stay in Siena. It was close to the station and had the best views from the windows! This beautiful town can not disappoint! It was everything we had hoped for and more!

Room Tip: There is a restaurant just up the stairs from the hotel. It's a pizzaria, so yum!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreannaEwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was a lovely hotel. The multi-lingual staff was so helpful. The room was spartan, but it had everything we needed. My friend and I had a great time. The proximity to St. Catherine's sanctuary, a couple of great restaurants, and San Domenico make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RedShoesProject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Lovely hotel to stay for a short period, basic but very clean with an amazing view over Siena from the balcony. Staff were very friendly. Would definetly stay here again when in Siena.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Giorgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,222 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,044 reviews
0.3 km away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#26 of 40 in Siena
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,261 reviews
0.6 km away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,416 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma Domus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma Domus

Property: Hotel Alma Domus
Address: Via Camporegio 37, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#11 Family Hotel in Siena
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,167 - ₹ 6,994
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Alma Domus 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Siena; the building that is now the Hotel began its life as the drying room of a medieval wool works (hedificum tiratorium), probably dating back to the early 1300s; several rooms have balcony with amazing view; the hotel offers a range of services and facilities including: TV lounge,Breakfast room, Reading room, Music room (with piano), Conference facilities,Internet access, Air conditioning, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alma Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Domus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing