We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven or Tuscany?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aia Mattonata Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aia Mattonata Relais
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven or Tuscany?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

The most glowing review cannot capture the heavenly experience of staying at Aia Mattonata Relais. From the gracious hosts, to the country hillside location overlooking the town of Siena you must book this perfect destination when touring Tuscany. The 600 year old guest house has been decorated with loving hands and exquisite taste. Just plan on taking a bus or taxi into town if you haven't a car, then look forward to returning home to this most comfortable place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanViii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    21
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
504
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We generally dont write reviews but I loved it here so much that even after two plus weeks since check out I still think of it. After a somewhat stressful situation in Florence we arrived to the perfect destination. They had everything covered and as I sat on the swing at night looking over the lights of Siena i thought 'aah this is the life'. Breakfast the same high standard as everything else. The location and layout creation a pleasant atmosphere for the guests. I hope to return. Thanks Mario and Elisabetta. Dont change a thing.

Room Tip: All great - cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazzle54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. Mario and Elisabetta are so wonderful and friendly, going out of their way to book the 'buxi' (bus/taxi), order us take-away pizza(!), share the secrets of Siena, book us a massage (also recommended!) and give me the most lovely birthday greeting. It honestly feels like a country house rather than a b&b - it could not be more welcoming. There is even a huge selection of food / drink in the kitchen to help youself too. Having stayed in a range of hotels across Europe, I have come to the conclusion that this is my favourite. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank young_happy_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I was so happy that my husband booked this place! It's about 5-10 minutes outside of Siena by car and it is beautiful! The best part is the hospitality. Mario and Elisabetta go out of their way to make sure everything is great! They even drove us into town to get dinner. Internet is free and great. And the breakfast is the best breakfast I've had since being in Italy!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Comstock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Mario & Elizabetta are gracious and accommodating hosts! Nothing is too much trouble, and they go out of the way to make sure you're comfortable and happy.
Aia Mattonata is a house and not a hotel. Comfortable beds, very clean premises, plentiful breakfasts and wonderful scenery awaits you.

For their location outside Siena, it’s probably better to have a GPS and arrive in the day light hours. A M is approximately a ½ hour drive from the main area of Siena, which you can view from their property. (Mario recommends that you drive to and park at the Santa Caterina parking lot). From the parking lot you walk up the hill and over to the 5 sets of escalators that will take you UP to the town and then walk into town). We did this several times. In Siena, once you have discovered the shops and cafés in the campo, walk up the streets running off the campo to discover lovely stores and different areas.

Aia Mattonatta is a good base to visit Montepulciano, Pienza, Cortona, Montalcino, St. Antimo, the Val D’Orcia area and the Chianti area and towns, which we did.
Mario can assist you with many restaurant recommendations in Siena and other towns, and with driving itineraries.

It’s a lovely part of the world and we thoroughly enjoyed our weeks stay at the beautiful spot

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank celticmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
2.4 km away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
3.7 km away
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
6.0 km away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Mattonata Relais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Property: Aia Mattonata Relais
Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,772 - ₹ 17,616
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing