We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular way to rejuvinate your soul!”
other traveller has booked this property
Montecastelli Aerial View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montecastelli Aerial View
Dinner is ready Swimming Pooll
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Montecastelli Aerial View
Dinner is ready
Swimming Pooll
Cortyard
Frantoio Room 1
Bathroom Frantoio Suite
Frantoio Kitchen
Suite Frantoio
Moraiolo1 or Frantoio 3
Bathroom Leccino
Kitchen Leccino
Leccino Bedroom
Your Host
Our own organic Primo Olio
Our own Lardo al Rosmarino
Wine Cellar
Lavender
Admiral Butterfly in Montecastelli
Serving meal
Cooking Class
Evening
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Siena, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ljbecker
Verona, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular way to rejuvinate your soul!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were incredibly astounded when we walked into our apartment. It was beautifully decorated and charming. We arrived late in the evening and did not shop for food for the stay. Jen was so kind to share his homemade ravioli and olive oil. What a tasty surprise. The kitchen had all the amenities and appliances needed.
Jen and his family were very gracious and accommodating and we are already planning our next trip. We only stayed for 3 nights but will definitely plan a full week or more next visit. The Villa is in the country and the views are outstanding and within driving distance for day trips anywhere.

Thank you Jen and Barbara for making my 50th so memorable. We will be back soon!

Jeff and Lana

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, beautiful scenery, easy day trips, large and exquisite apartments
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214kathle...
Carmel, New York
1 review
“A dream Tuscany Experience come true”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

I cannot say enough about Villa Montecastello, it's owners and the beautiful experience that is Villa Montecastillo. I arrived at the villa with 10 extended family members after a 4 day stay in Rome. The days in Rome were amazing and exhausting! So the Villa was a welcome respite. Our hosts, Jens and Barbara were so welcoming and warm, it felt like we were visiting old friends. Jens was there if we needed him for some advice or info on local sites, and yet never intrusive. The views from the Villa were breathtaking, overlooking beautiful farmland, vineyards and mountains. Our accomodations were comfortable and inviting. Able to handle our family of 10, or a couple looking for peace and privacy Villa Montecastello could handle either, or anything in between! Our "apartment" consisted of 5 beautifully decorated bedroms, 4 full baths, a very large kitchen that we could all sit around one large table and a comfortable sitting room with a fireplace where we would sit after a day of travel. The Villa was a perfect spot for day trips to Florence, Venice, Assisi or Sienna and just a short drive to see the beautiful little town of San Gimigiano (we had to visit this town several times it was so beautiful!). If you take my advice and choose this breathtaking Tuscany spot you will also become familiar with the most wonderful olive oil, 100% produced at the Villa! I just can't say enough about the best part of our Italy vacation, our stay at the beautiful Villa Montecastello. It will prove to be the highlight of your Tuscany experience!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KMB2727
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quintessential Tuscan Paradise!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the beautiful Villa Montecastello for my birthday this year. Perched atop a tall hill in the heart of Tuscany, it is surrounded by postcard views in every direction. The setting is gorgeous, quaint and very comfortable. Amenities are top-notch, food delicious and hosts extremely helpful. I was very sad to only stay one night and am eagerly anticipating a longer visit when I can fully relish the Villa Montecastello experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles L
New York City, New York
1 review
“The ultimate Tuscany experience”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Villa Montecastello. Located right in the heart of Tuscany, it was so easy to get to Florence, Siena, Montepulciano and numerous local wineries. Jens and his family were fantastic hosts and we had a great time taking his cooking class and learning from his deep knowledge of food and wine. I would highly recommend and can't wait to go back - Thanks so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I stayed at Villa Montecastello with five friends.

The place:
- Classic Tuscan villa on top of a hill with great views, but it has been recently modernized and the furnishings are all tasteful and high quality.
- There are a few "Apartments" within the complex but they are massive and feel like houses.

The people:
- Jens, the owner, and his family live in a separate house on the site and are as amazing as everyone says - we had a fantastic meal with him.
- They make their own Olive Oil, Wine, and cured meats on site.

Location:
-About 45 minutes to Florence, 20 minutes to Siena, and easy drives to wine areas like Chianti and Montalcino.

Overall the other reviews are spot on - we had a great time here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dinner with the owner
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing