We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The ultimate Tuscany experience”
other traveller has booked this property
Montecastelli Aerial View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montecastelli Aerial View
Dinner is ready Swimming Pooll
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Montecastelli Aerial View
Dinner is ready
Swimming Pooll
Cortyard
Frantoio Room 1
Bathroom Frantoio Suite
Frantoio Kitchen
Suite Frantoio
Moraiolo1 or Frantoio 3
Bathroom Leccino
Kitchen Leccino
Leccino Bedroom
Your Host
Our own organic Primo Olio
Our own Lardo al Rosmarino
Wine Cellar
Lavender
Admiral Butterfly in Montecastelli
Serving meal
Cooking Class
Evening
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Siena, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Charles L
New York City, New York
1 review
“The ultimate Tuscany experience”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Villa Montecastello. Located right in the heart of Tuscany, it was so easy to get to Florence, Siena, Montepulciano and numerous local wineries. Jens and his family were fantastic hosts and we had a great time taking his cooking class and learning from his deep knowledge of food and wine. I would highly recommend and can't wait to go back - Thanks so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I stayed at Villa Montecastello with five friends.

The place:
- Classic Tuscan villa on top of a hill with great views, but it has been recently modernized and the furnishings are all tasteful and high quality.
- There are a few "Apartments" within the complex but they are massive and feel like houses.

The people:
- Jens, the owner, and his family live in a separate house on the site and are as amazing as everyone says - we had a fantastic meal with him.
- They make their own Olive Oil, Wine, and cured meats on site.

Location:
-About 45 minutes to Florence, 20 minutes to Siena, and easy drives to wine areas like Chianti and Montalcino.

Overall the other reviews are spot on - we had a great time here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dinner with the owner
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindamer
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A jewel in Tuscany”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Arrived very late on a Thursday for a long weekend. Barbara was there to greet us and showed us around the apartment. She was so kind despite the late hour. Wine, cheese and fruit we waiting for us and we were so thankful she had done our shopping for us. The villa is rather remote, so finding something to eat that late would be difficult. As the villa sits at the very top of a large wooded hill, the next morning we got to see the stunning views from every window. Breakfast was served outside in the courtyard. We had an opportunity to meet the family which included Jens Mom, Elisa, Barbara and their beautiful son, Chelso.

The accommodation was very well laid out with a large kitchen that is fully equipped. The beds are comfortable and decorated to a lovely standard. We were with another couple and since both bedrooms were lovely we didn't have an argument over who got which room.

It is situated in between Siena and San Gimignano. Jens set us up with wine
tours and had many suggestions of places to see and where to get food. We cooked dinner one night and Elsa gave us veg and herbs from their garden.
Be sure to get some olive oil. Theirs is the best!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: How kind and helpful everyone was
Liked least: The shower sprays out onto the floor
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawaiiCra...
Kaneohe
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful villa with wonderful amenities, delicious food and wine and first class hospitality.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Photos cannot do this paradise in Tuscany justice. We used it for a family reunion with 16 of us staying at the Villa Montecastello and felt like we were part of the family there. Jens and Barbara and everyone there were perfect hosts and took care of everything. Incredible dinners outdoors as the sun went down allowed us to linger and talk, enjoy wine and take in the take in the beautiful Tuscan sky. Breakfasts at the same table with croissants and coffee that I can still close my eyes and imagine. So wonderful to be off the beaten path and feeling like we were staying with friends who lived in Tuscany rather than joining all the tourists at a hotel. Day trips with the kids were great and they always enjoyed the pool and exploring the orchards, feeling the horses, and playing hide-and-seek around the extended yard and grounds. Everything was comfortable, clean and the rooms and amenities were well appointed. Hope to save up and go back some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling like we were guests with our friends Jens and Barbara
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPerini
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location, Beautiful Villa and Fantastic Hospitality!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I honestly can't imagine having a better host than Jens. The villa itself met all of our expectations and our expectations are high as we are members of both Exclusive Resorts and Inspirato. The rooms/apartment were very comfortable and tastefully decorated and the property was on top of a hill looking out over the Tuscan countryside - very peaceful and very beautiful.

If Tuscany is on your list, this location is centrally located to just about everything and everywhere you can possibly want to visit. On this trip, we visited Montalcino, Pienza, Montalpulciano, Greve, Panzano, Radda, Casole D'Elsa, Siena, Monteriggioni, Castellina - I mean the location is perfect.

I would be remiss if I didn't mention the fact that Jens made us two incredible meals - we're still talking about them. Our first night, he prepared a wonderful 4-course meal replete with stuffed zucchini blossoms (from his garden), fresh pasta, home baked bread, and a very tasty dessert. We were originally planning on only one meal there but it was so good that we did it again 3 nights later and it was equally fabulous.

We got a great tour of Jens' olive pressing operation as well as his meat curing room - omg his pork cheeks are absolutely killer good - make sure you get those cooked up for you!

Bottom line - you will love Montecastello!! We will be going back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jens was a fabulous host and an incredible chef
Liked least: I thought our overall experience was absolutely perfect!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2013
thanks Bob, I am speechless, looking forward having you back with your family and bike! best from Barbara, Celso and Filo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 1,958
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing