We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A jewel in Tuscany”
other traveller has booked this property
Montecastelli Aerial View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montecastelli Aerial View
Dinner is ready Swimming Pooll
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Montecastelli Aerial View
Dinner is ready
Swimming Pooll
Cortyard
Frantoio Room 1
Bathroom Frantoio Suite
Frantoio Kitchen
Suite Frantoio
Moraiolo1 or Frantoio 3
Bathroom Leccino
Kitchen Leccino
Leccino Bedroom
Your Host
Our own organic Primo Olio
Our own Lardo al Rosmarino
Wine Cellar
Lavender
Admiral Butterfly in Montecastelli
Serving meal
Cooking Class
Evening
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Siena, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lindamer
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A jewel in Tuscany”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Arrived very late on a Thursday for a long weekend. Barbara was there to greet us and showed us around the apartment. She was so kind despite the late hour. Wine, cheese and fruit we waiting for us and we were so thankful she had done our shopping for us. The villa is rather remote, so finding something to eat that late would be difficult. As the villa sits at the very top of a large wooded hill, the next morning we got to see the stunning views from every window. Breakfast was served outside in the courtyard. We had an opportunity to meet the family which included Jens Mom, Elisa, Barbara and their beautiful son, Chelso.

The accommodation was very well laid out with a large kitchen that is fully equipped. The beds are comfortable and decorated to a lovely standard. We were with another couple and since both bedrooms were lovely we didn't have an argument over who got which room.

It is situated in between Siena and San Gimignano. Jens set us up with wine
tours and had many suggestions of places to see and where to get food. We cooked dinner one night and Elsa gave us veg and herbs from their garden.
Be sure to get some olive oil. Theirs is the best!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: How kind and helpful everyone was
Liked least: The shower sprays out onto the floor
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawaiiCra...
Kaneohe
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful villa with wonderful amenities, delicious food and wine and first class hospitality.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Photos cannot do this paradise in Tuscany justice. We used it for a family reunion with 16 of us staying at the Villa Montecastello and felt like we were part of the family there. Jens and Barbara and everyone there were perfect hosts and took care of everything. Incredible dinners outdoors as the sun went down allowed us to linger and talk, enjoy wine and take in the take in the beautiful Tuscan sky. Breakfasts at the same table with croissants and coffee that I can still close my eyes and imagine. So wonderful to be off the beaten path and feeling like we were staying with friends who lived in Tuscany rather than joining all the tourists at a hotel. Day trips with the kids were great and they always enjoyed the pool and exploring the orchards, feeling the horses, and playing hide-and-seek around the extended yard and grounds. Everything was comfortable, clean and the rooms and amenities were well appointed. Hope to save up and go back some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling like we were guests with our friends Jens and Barbara
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPerini
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location, Beautiful Villa and Fantastic Hospitality!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I honestly can't imagine having a better host than Jens. The villa itself met all of our expectations and our expectations are high as we are members of both Exclusive Resorts and Inspirato. The rooms/apartment were very comfortable and tastefully decorated and the property was on top of a hill looking out over the Tuscan countryside - very peaceful and very beautiful.

If Tuscany is on your list, this location is centrally located to just about everything and everywhere you can possibly want to visit. On this trip, we visited Montalcino, Pienza, Montalpulciano, Greve, Panzano, Radda, Casole D'Elsa, Siena, Monteriggioni, Castellina - I mean the location is perfect.

I would be remiss if I didn't mention the fact that Jens made us two incredible meals - we're still talking about them. Our first night, he prepared a wonderful 4-course meal replete with stuffed zucchini blossoms (from his garden), fresh pasta, home baked bread, and a very tasty dessert. We were originally planning on only one meal there but it was so good that we did it again 3 nights later and it was equally fabulous.

We got a great tour of Jens' olive pressing operation as well as his meat curing room - omg his pork cheeks are absolutely killer good - make sure you get those cooked up for you!

Bottom line - you will love Montecastello!! We will be going back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jens was a fabulous host and an incredible chef
Liked least: I thought our overall experience was absolutely perfect!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2013
thanks Bob, I am speechless, looking forward having you back with your family and bike! best from Barbara, Celso and Filo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie N
Kaneohe, Hawaii, United States
1 review
“Slice of heaven. Absolutely magical”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I stayed here with my extended clan in early July 2013. We had a total of 16 people with ages ranging from 3 years to the over 60's. If you want a truly magical experience, you NEED to come here. The accommodations are beautiful with nicely appointed rooms and bathrooms...In the Frantoio where my family stayed, we had a beautiful sitting room overlooking the central courtyard, with a kitchen, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms. The outdoor central courtyard is where we had breakfasts with wonderful cappuccino, and dinners at night under the Tuscan sky. Jens and Barbara are excellent hosts. They know everything about the area and have great advice on day trips and restaurants around the area. The food is second to none and the wine....!! Jens is an expert in wine in this area. If you are at all interested in wine, it is imperative that you stay here.
I cannot say enough about this place. If you are looking for a place that lives up to your Tuscan dreams, this is the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food, wine, gorgeous surroundings, attentive and warm host
Liked least: NOTHING....seriously loved everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alespinos...
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
“One of my best family vacations.”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed 4 days at the Villa Montecastello. We were a group of 4 families (8 adults and 8 children). It has been, with no doubt, one of my best vacation experiences I’ve ever had with my family.
Montecastelli does not only have incredible sights, but also, is an excellent place to stay while you are traveling though the Tuscany. Our children had a great time playing at the gardens and looking at the animals they have. The villa is surrounded by beautiful vegetation that includes olive trees for their own olive oil production.
The apartments were charming and well decorated. Every room and bathroom has a special touch that made our stay remarkable.
Jens Schmidt and his wife made us feel as if were at our own country home. They provided us with good advice for traveling to the near cities; they solved all our enquiries while we were at the villa that included regulating the heater, Wi-Fi passwords and fresh eggs for breakfast.
Having dinner at the villa is something I strongly recommend. If you schedule with Jens one day before, you may be able to enjoy high quality Italian pasta, on site-made pizza and the famous local ice creams. And, most important, you don’t need to make a wine tour to taste the best wines of the zone. Jens will not only provide you with the best and wide range of Italian wines, but also, will guide you through the taste experience talking about the origin of each wine.
Bottom line, I would not only recommend Villa Montecastelli for families traveling with children and for adults who wish to have an extraordinary stay experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner´s warm hosting
Liked least: Wi-fi does not work 100% every where.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing