We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic”

La Taverna di San Giuseppe
Ranked #1 of 574 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 58 - US$ 104
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 19 July 2018

We arrived without booking and were so glad to be given the only remaining table. We were told we could only have the table for 1 1/2 hours until a reservation but we were never made to feel rushed!

The staff are incredibly attentive. We ordered a shared meat and cheese platter to start and enjoyed being talked through each one and what order to eat them in etc. The gnocchi with cheese fondue was absolutely delicious, as was the chocolate pasta. We wanted to try everything on the menu if being honest.

Lovely wine cellar too! Would recommend this place to anyone visiting Siena. We spent 2 weeks in Italy and this was our favourite meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _emigarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marconeri, Responsabile reception at La Taverna di San Giuseppe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018
Google Translation

Grazie Emigarr, essere i vostri preferiti è molto importante per noi. Complimenti fantastici che ci hanno reso felici. A presto, in caro saluto da tutti noi. Lorella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 80 of 6,420 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Well table booked for 7pm and wow it was full to the rafters, cue to get in!
Food was tasty and service was amazing. Plenty of people called in for tables and were turned away, never seen anywhere like it for being so popular! So def book a table. We had 3 courses (stuffed) but prices we thought were reasonable. The age of the place and cave is quite amazing.

Thank mossfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marconeri, Responsabile reception at La Taverna di San Giuseppe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018
Google Translation

Grazie Mossfarm, oggi splende il sole alla Taverna. Ci hai regalato complimenti bellissimi che ci fanno felici. Vi aspettiamo presto e vi abbracciamo. Lorella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

For many years now Lorella has been quietly providing fantastic food, made with passion and served with love to some people that she will never see again, but she does not judge and everybody gets the same fantastic service , caring and loving welcome, she is amazing, and so is the restaurant.
Lorella thank you, so much for allowing us again into Taverna San Giuseppe, we feel your dedication every time we come , and thank you on behalf of all the people who do not understand just how hard it is to keep this standard night after night after night.
It was so good to see you, and Luca of course, sorry Renato wasn't there but he has found love in Perugia and we are so happy for him.
The food never needs explaining , it is always always fantastic.
I say to anybody please please arrive on time, for which ever service you have booked, this food is prepared to be at it's very best for these times, and it is superb the best in Siena, .
Lorella, we love you, che bello vederti, grazie mille, ci vediamo presto,
Ciao ,
Chris and Daryl xxx

    • Value
    • Service
Thank LakesChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marconeri, Responsabile reception at La Taverna di San Giuseppe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018
Google Translation

Grazie Chris e Daryl, io vi amo, perché voi siete fantastici e ci emozionate. Il nostro lavoro è bello perché ci da modo di conoscere tante persone, persone meravigliose come voi che sono la forza del nostro impegno. Riuscire a stabilire un contatto, scambiare opinioni, sentimenti, cultura è il motivo principale che ci fa continuare con passione e dedizione per migliorarci, rivedervi di anno in anno, essere amici in un mondo frenetico dove quello che conta davvero sono i sentimenti delle persone che ci fanno sentire vicini. Grazie di cuore e a presto. Lorella e tutti i ragazzi di San Giuseppe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

We showed up on a whim at peak dinner hours, and the wonderful hostess there went above and beyond and squeezed us in in-between reservations! We are so luck and thankful that she did because the food was absolutely delicious, the service was great (ask for Luca!!! - though, we will say, every member of the staff was warm, friendly, and full of humor!), and the atmosphere of this intimate little tavern was cozy and felt like home! If you are ever in Siena, you simply must visit this establishment! P.s. make sure you take a little stroll around their wine cellar that is casually from 300 BC! Thank you San Giuseppe for a great first night in Siena!

-Syd and Alex, NY

Thank Sydney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marconeri, Responsabile reception at La Taverna di San Giuseppe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018
Google Translation

Grazie Syd e Alex, siete fantastici. How, leggervi è gioia pura. Oggi con le vostre belle parole il sole splende forte alla Taverna. Il piacere del nostro lavoro è incontrare persone come voi che ci regalano momenti unici. A presto, un caldo abbraccio. Lorella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Truffles! I had no idea that I would like them so much, but I do. I had the ricotta gnocchi with shaved truffles and thought it was one of the tastiest things I ate in Italy. My friend had the pici - local pasta - with wild boar ragu and it was to die for also. The super fun, unexpected treat was the friendly world traveler at the table next to ours. We had a beautiful, delicious meal and made a new friend too. Great experience, not to be missed.

Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marconeri, Responsabile reception at La Taverna di San Giuseppe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018
Google Translation

Grazie Kathy, andare al ristorante non è solo mangiare e bere bene, ma è conoscere nuovi piatti, tradizioni e cultura di un paese, conoscere nuove persone e sopratutto passare dei momenti sereni in allegria. Le tue belle parole, la tua gentilezza ci sono rimasti dentro e ci hanno reso felici. Grazie e a presto, un forte braccio. Lorella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverna di San Giuseppe also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Taverna di San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing