We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Tuscan Villa”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
geoffw951
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic Tuscan Villa”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Iris
From the moment we drove in the majestic gates, everything about Villa Iris in Tuscany has been total luxury. The interior of the six-bedroom Villa is amazing – there is absolutely everything we need plus a lot more, all brand new and working, to enjoy what must be one of the most scenic parts of Tuscany. San Gimignano is just up on the hill, our breakfast view each morning from around the beautiful blue pool of the Villa. The quiet garden, with birds and the odd frog, complements the outdoor setting and lounges, and yesterday from the balcony we watched our neighbour harvest his entire paddock of grapes with the pickers in speaking range.
Idyllic? Absolutely. The phrase used by one of our party was “exceeds expectations!”
What else can we say about the Villa? The meals provided (on request) by co-owner Lucia, an accomplished former restaurateur in Firenze, are Tuscan perfection. And the level of maintenance and cleanliness in the Villa during our stay has been perfect (thanks to owner Gabriele’s eye for detail, and Irida’s servicing of the Villa).
It was the unique olive-green beauty of this particular little pocket of Tuscany that attracted us to discover Villa Iris. The medieval towns of San Gimignano (walking distance), Volterra (short drive), Siena and Lucca are all close by. And we are in the heart of Tuscan vineyards and wineries. Heaven on earth? It would be difficult to argue that one.
On Saturday we return to Australia, after watching the AFL grand final here in the Villa. Autumn colours have just started and we will return to Australian spring and summer. But we will definitely plan to be back to this special Villa in our magic patch of Tuscany.
Geoff & Katrina
September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug B
1 review
“A Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent two weeks at Villa Iris constantly reassuring ourselves that we weren't in a dream. It was perfect in every sense. Gabriele and Lucia, the owners, were simply wonderful and that extended down through their entire staff. The property is perfect for a group of 10 or 12 and I don't believe you can find a more beautiful and better maintained villa in all of Tuscany. While fairly close to San Gimignano, it is very quiet and peaceful. It is centrally located making it easy to visit anywhere in Tuscany on a day trip. Be sure to have Lucia cook dinner for you at least once. You won't find a better meal anywhere. Love them and loved the villa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty and relaxing calmness of the surroundings.
Liked least: Had to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron V
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Quintessential Tuscan Oasis”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Villa Iris is an amazing property to explore Tuscany from and an oasis to retreat to after soaking up Tuscany's images, experiences and culinary delights. The photos of the property on the web are what you see is what you get. Every need I had was catered for and went beyond my expectations on every level. The property is wonderfully furnished, has most appliances (needs a toaster) and the pool area is a special place to relax with or without friends. Swinging in a hammock and dozing off in the Tuscan sun under fruit trees was a solitary moment I enjoyed very much. The owners of the property are wonderful people who take great pride in providing quality for their guests. They were helpful and on tap anytime of the day. We were greeted on arrival by Lucia, (owner) a diminutive bundle of positive energy and joy, and presented with an astounding welcome gift of food and wine. Lucia also cooked a feast for 7 of us (including wine) at the property and it was fantastic. I make special mention of Arida, a young lady, who took care of our housekeeping for the week we were there. Her grace and warmth made our experience at Villa Iris the more enjoyable for her presence and contribution.
Villa Iris is Tuscany!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole Villa Iris experience.
Liked least: no toaster
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patricia...
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Property - Fabulous Owners”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Gabriele and Lucia have lovingly brought this amazing property back to life in the most modern and Italian style. Their impeccable taste emanates throughout the interior and exterior of Villa Iris and every inch of the property is meticulously cared for.
Lucia is without a doubt the greatest cook in all of Italy and freely shares her talents with guests upon request. Her dinners were one of the highlights of the entire trip.
Villa Iris is conveniently located in San Gimignano and is convenient to travel to villages all over Tuscany including Florence, Poggibansi and Chianti. Day trips are easy to do from this location and returning to Lucia's meals are truly living well.
We wish Gabriele and Lucia continued success and know that this new property of theirs will be a favorite spot for many travelers for decades to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The family
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing